We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merry Harriers

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hambledon $$ - $$$ , British,
Hambledon Road, Hambledon, Godalming GU8 4DR, England
+44 1428 682883
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“mash” (6 reviews)
“onion rings” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hambledon Road, Hambledon, Godalming GU8 4DR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came here for lunch with my husband and our dog after a long walk. Absolutely delicious food and the staff were wonderful. The garden is very attractive and the llamas are a great addition! We will be back.

Thank teddowes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My parents kindly bought me lunch today in this lovely country pub. The service was excellent and the food delicious. All three of us throughly enjoyed our lunch. I can highly recommend the Haloumi salad. Plus anything which includes the chefs "homemade bread". Really yum....More

Thank juhale19
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. The bread is particularly well liked by all especially the staff! Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Passing and decided to pop in for food, completely changed from the last time I was in there over 15 years ago... Gone are the pub like features and pots hanging from the ceiling.... Anyway sat at a table that was covered in dust and...More

Thank PROSN1P3R
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I am very sorry to hear about your experience here. We do strive to keep standards high especially with us being under new ownership. I have passed your comments onto the Head Chef regarding the fish and obviously your table should have been cleaned...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff never fail to make you feel welcome and are always very friendly and on the ball! I have been coming here for years and it is great for familys and friends. Food is also brilliant!

1  Thank rzcat
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Great to hear you are still enjoying the pub and hope to see you for many more years. Thank you

Reviewed June 5, 2017

We popped in for lunch on a quiet weekday before going to the National Trust Oakhurst cottage (which is charming).down the road. The pub has a nice village feel to it inside. The garden is a decent size ( but a bit scruffy) with an...More

Thank dodge440
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your lunch. The cod is one of our popular specials so hopefully it was a one off. I have passed it onto the Head Chef. We have just had the garden redone with new tables, chairs...More

Reviewed June 4, 2017

We have been coming here for years on and off and heard it was under new management so decided to investigate. Definitely glad we did! We were shown to a table in the garden by a very friendly waitress. Our drinks and order were taken...More

Thank Jjones8485
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. The Halloumni Salad gets very good feedback! Hope to see you again soon. Thank You

Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

I highly recommended against table service and eating at this place!! Terrible customer service, long waits on food, dirty crockery and cutlery!! Staff with bad attitudes

1  Thank buzz23
danielle m, Manager at Merry Harriers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI I am sorry to hear about your experience, however we are now under new ownership from June so hopefully you will come and visit us again. Many Thanks

Reviewed May 17, 2017

We were in the area checking out the local western riding centre and wanted to find somewhere for lunch, so we picked a country lane and hoped for the best, and "as if by magic" we came across the Merry Harriers. We were greeted with...More

Thank Lorne T
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Went for a lovely bank holiday meal out, unfortunately we went here. Food - pizzas, someone in the kitchen must have accidentally tipped ALL the Italian seasoning on them, Brie and bacon sandwich this was okay, chicken breast with dauphinoise potatoes, needs some work. Also,...More

2  Thank Simon H
Reviewed March 27, 2017

On the recommendation of Alistair Sawday’s Inns and Pubs Guide 2016 (usually a reliable source of good food/hospitality), we lunched yesterday at the Merry Harriers. However, we were sorely disappointed as the food was poor, especially given the price. We ordered 4 Sunday roasts (beef...More

Thank oliviag51
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hambledon Village Shop & Post Office
21 reviews
.69 miles away
The White Hart
364 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Swan Inn
267 reviews
2.40 miles away
Eliza's Tea Rooms
59 reviews
2.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Busbridge Lakes
19 reviews
1.76 miles away
St Peter's Church
5 reviews
2.17 miles away
Winkworth Arboretum
370 reviews
2.18 miles away
Secretts Farm
78 reviews
2.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Merry Harriers staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hambledon Road, Hambledon, Godalming GU8 4DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Godalming  >  Hambledon
  • Phone Number: +44 1428 682883
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Country Pub with large beer garden, three B&B rooms and a Llama trekking centre! We serve pub classics with a la carte dishes all prepared on site using local suppliers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing