We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Holloway House

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
29 State St, Bloomfield, NY 14469-9226
+1 585-657-7120
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:00 am
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 7:30 pm
Tue - Sun 11:30 am - 9:00 am
Tue - Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Tue - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to dine at the Holloway House routinely but, for reasons totally unassociated with the restaurant, I had not been back for several years. When my friend mentioned an advertisement and related coupon for the Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet on Saturday evenings, we decided to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! The facility itself has not... More 

Helpful?
Thank chinajack88
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place can be cramped, it often is of a more mature aged clientele, food is good, their pickled sides are also good. Staff dresses to fit the part of historical times in the area. We have a buisness meeting here every year and have a wonderful time. The owners are very accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family visited Holloway House twice the previous week for dinner. The first visit was satisfactory ... decent food, good service, yet somewhat overpriced. The very next evening, our server informed us that we were undercharged for the previous evening meal by another server! He summoned Fred to our table to explain. To begin with, Fred has almost zero social... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack A
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

This certainly was a very unfortunate situation and our apologies go out to you and your family. I am totally baffled as to why the server on Wed. night mentioned the under charge on Tues. night. It was not his place to do so at all! It was something that management was going to handle and he was way out... More 

Lima, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

As a special treat for Father's Day, my brothers and I took our parents to the HH with the rest of our family. What a mistake! We were there for close to three hours, we waited over 45 minutes between the salad and our entrees! Awful! My mother's potatoes were raw, my brother's rice was crunchy and my nephew's steak... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joe7639
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

We have already apologized for the delay in receiving your meals and are very sorry you felt your experience was so "horrible". As I mentioned in your post on our facebook page, that is certainly not our goal. We did make a very large deduction on your bill since you were so unhappy. More 

Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Were taken (there were 4 of us) to the Holloway house for dinner to celebrate a birthday and mother's day late. Hadn't been for dinner in a long time. Food was good. Several items tasted rather salty to us, but most everything was tasty. Host and hostess both engaged with all of us and were pleasant.Enjoyed the evening. A bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank tgift2016
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

My sister and I stopped in for lunch today. I was very surprised at the prices, especially for lunch. I opted for "soup and salad" for $10.95. I received a cup of watery clam chowder and a very small side salad. I was still hungry when lunch was over. VERY DISAPPOINTING. I will not be returning in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016

It's definitely cool in that it was built in 1808 but it needs some tlc. History is nice but the owner/bartender Steve is unfriendly and arrogant, I would not give him my money again. His wife Dawn is a lovely woman.

Helpful?
Thank linda_benzer
PACIFIC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

This was a nightmare from the beginning. We had reservations for noon and were seated promptly, but waited over 20 minutes for menus, and even longer to order drinks. This with a two year old and a three year old trying their best to be good. When the food finally came one and one half hour later, it was awful.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hobbes63069
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

From the minute you step into this House, you know you are in for a dining adventure. This is a a BIG house with many rooms and each room has its own charm. There is even a good-sized bar with dining tables for the sports fans.The servers wear garb harkening back to the early 1900's. Our server, Taylor, had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillette
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

Thank you Lillette, your experience is what we hope everyone will have at the Holloway House! More 

East Bloomfield, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Be wary, HH has no reservation system. Oh they take names, but beyond that they have no idea. We were 10min early and we're not seated for another 45min. Our server offered bread to all he tables around use TWICE and still never took our order. We left out of understandable frustration.

Helpful?
Thank Chip H
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

You are absolutely right , Chip, and we are so sorry about your experience. I t was a very difficult day due to the fact that 4 staff members never showed up for work. We could not get the tables turned as quickly as usual because the servers all had to take extra tables and we got backed up. I... More 

Travelers who viewed The Holloway House also viewed

Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
 
Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
 
Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Holloway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 7:30 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 am
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 am
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 am
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 am
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
11:30 am - 9:00 am
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:00 am
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 State St, Bloomfield, NY 14469-9226
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Finger Lakes  >  Bloomfield
  • Phone Number: +1 585-657-7120
Description
The Holloway House since 1808, featuring traditional American fare at affordable prices. The main dining rooms feature Roast Turkey, Steaks, and Seafood in a historic setting. Also a Sunday Buffet Brunch is a great way to enjoy your family and friends after church The new Peter Holloway Tavern offers a quick and casual dinner and a great chance to try a Finger Lakes wine by the glass. Friday night Fish Fry followed by a slice of one of our in house baked pies or creme brulee is a great way to start your weekend or trip to one of the lakes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Holloway House and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Holloway House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?