We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
87
45
26
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
87
45
26
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad scallops garlic butter great italian food red sauce up charge huge portions checks syracuse
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 27, 2020

We went there for Thanksgiving because we couldn't get together with our elderly relatives for obvious reasons this year. Boy, what a difference from the home made turkey dinner that we usually enjoy. I had flashbacks of the 1980's when we used to order a...turkey dinner at the "Little Gem Diner" at 2:00 a.m. after a long night out. It was like bad "cold cut" turkey from the grocery store. Not even good enough to be from Sysco out of a package. Browned on top of the thinly sliced pile of meat from sitting under the heat lamp too long in the kitchen. So salty that I couldn't get my shoes on this morning. The deserts were like something you would get from Costco or Walmart at best. The wait staff was somewhat friendly but they were far from seasoned veterans. We would ask for refills whenever she walked by because we learned after the first order of drinks that it takes about 20 minutes for them to be delivered to your table. On a lighter note, one person at our table ordered the broiled haddock and it looked great and she said it tasted great also. We live in Syracuse and we used to take a ride out there a few years back for some Italian food and it was always "decent" - Maybe it still is. When the bill was put on the table the waitress informed us that the tip was already added in "because its Thanksgiving" - whatever that means. We go out to dinner at least once a week and we have been known to tip at least 25-30% when warranted. I can actually understand when restaurants do that for large parties - that has always been the unwritten rule but, for a party of 2 or even four to have a 20% tip added for bad food and inexperienced service, is pretty bold. They should have to earn their tip- that way, you, the staff and the owner all win. Stick to chicken parm and spaghetti and meatballs.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
S3057SWjohnt, Owner at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2020

Hey there, I am disappointed to hear this feedback. Please know that this is not the norm for our restaurant, and is not the standard we hold ourselves to. We want all of our guests to have a great and positive all around experience with...More

Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Good but not great Italian food and huge portions. Service was excellent. Prices are high for the quality. Plenty of available seats on a Saturday evening with no wait.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
S3057SWjohnt, Owner at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2020

Hi, we appreciate the feedback, We will take this into consideration as we are always want to make sure every customer has a positive dining experience with us!

Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Was a little disappointed in our visit there. Two out of the four of us had to send dinners back Because the sauce and meat were cold. Asked for appetizer to come out with salad, that didn’t happen. Had to ask where it was and...then it was brought out. Other two dinners were good.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback, Kelly. We are happy to see your visit was mostly positive however we see there is some room for improvement. Please feel free to reach out to us at info@tassoneswinegarden.com with the time,...More

Reviewed August 7, 2019

Wally was our exceptional waiter on a recent Friday night visit to Tassone's. He kept our checks separated exactly right and responded to all requests with a smile. He made us laugh a few times as well and we might've done the same for him....Red sauced dishes were generally great but the eggplant parm disappointed my husband. I liked the side of fettuccine (homemade?) with the red sauce and my dish of maple-bacon scallops was good, though a bit over-buttered. The maple and bacon flavors were quite distinctive, unlike a friend's dish of scallops O'Grady which had very little bacon and even less bacon or garlic flavor. She was disappointed. Just a side note: I am always puzzled when restaurants up charge for a Caesar salad. Portions were very generous and most of us brought home leftovers. That may have been partly because we had 4 baskets of bread - all because of the FABULOUS garlic butter. Couldn't get enough of that. I have to also say that my pina colada was so BIG and tasty as well. It lasted from the beginning of the meal until we packed up to leave. The new hoppy IPA (don't recall the name) was a hit with a few of the guys. All-in-all a good evening out with friends.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

We are so very happy to hear we could deliver a 5-star worthy experience to you! We aim for nothing but the very best, with our service and food - so we are glad we could accomplish that for you. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed June 17, 2019

We sat at the bar, i ordered the chicken marsala. it looks heavy, but it isn't. its sooo good. our waitress was really nice (she is shorter, blond hair in a ponytail) and she seemed to be the most 'business' of them all. She went...to restock wines, was working all ends of the bar, handling customers etc.. the other to bartenders were super too, but she seemed to really have her head in the game. we will definitely be back, the atmosphere is great, food was awesome tonight.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Hi there, this is great to hear! Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us. We can't wait to have you back!

Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

We took my Dad to Tassone’s last night to head off the Fathers Day crowds around town. Our meals were not up to par, two of us had chicken parmigiana which was rubbery and old tasting. Two of us had Chicken Capri with fettuccini, Chicken,...broccoli and Alfredo sauce. The chicken was supposed to be grilled but it was clearly boiled because it lacked color and flavor and was very rubbery too. The Alfredo sauce was not very good either. One of us had lasagne and it was dry and old tasting, that was taken off the bill. Our waitress was wonderful but could not save these poorly executed dishes. When Tassone’s is on, it’s great, but we have also had bad meals like last night. We have now had enough bad experiences where we most likely won’t go there again. It’s too bad..... it could be good but we can’t really trust the quality anymore.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, Zoey. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience on your visit. Our customers are a top priority and we would appreciate it if you could reach out to us at...More

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Very good Italian. Generous portions. Steak and seafood plater is very good. Service is excellent. Staff is very friendly..

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Jim - we're honored to receive your review! So glad to hear about your experience with us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed May 22, 2019

We had reservations for after our daughters college graduation. This just topped off a perfect day! The place is always so clean and welcoming anyways, even if the food wasn't great, the experience would be worth, BUT the food was fantastic! There were 6 of...us and we never did without, serve was fast and our waitress was very personable and knowledgeable, which is appreciated! From the unbelievable of the roast pork special of the day (which 3 got) to my seafood platter (couldn't eat it all and it was cooked to perfection) to lasagna, nothing disappointed. Another thing they do that others do not, they ask if you want to take the leftovers (and there will be many!), but they just don't throw a takeout container at you, they box it, ask if you want more gravy or sauce, and then place it in a bag. That's just 100% customer service. Leftovers were enough for dinner the next day. You cannot go wrong here, no matter what you get. Family atmosphere in the dinner area, but the bar is great for adults too! Absolutely love this place!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
John T, Owner at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

It's so wonderful to see you and your party enjoyed your time and celebrations here with us! We aim for the very best for all of our guests, so it is great to hear you received such. Congratulations to your daughter, and we look forward...More

Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We had dinner there following my daughters graduation. My wife ordered the shrimp and crab Alfredo and it came with imitation crab meat in it and no real crab. She didn’t mention it to me until we were home. I didn’t believe her and said...it must have been mentioned on the menu. I looked at her leftovers and sure enough fake crab meat. I then went online and looked at the menu. No mention that the crab wasn’t real. I won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
John T, Owner at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Walter, I apologize for the waiter/waitress not specifying that it is imitation crab. They are trained to do so. We choose to serve our dish that way so we are not pricing into a $30 plus dish. We try to keep the dishes in a...More

Reviewed January 16, 2019

Going to Tassones for drinks or dinner is like walking into your house with family. The owners are so friendly and work hard to please everyone. The food is tasty and large in portions. The dining room has lots of space for large groups or...just for an intimate dinner for two. One of the best restaurants in Baldwinsville, NY!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
John T, Manager at Tassone's Wine Garden INC, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

WOW!! Thank you so much for your kind words :) We hope that you will join us again real soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
559 reviews
.91 miles away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
138 reviews
4.93 miles away
Quality Inn & Suites - Fairgrounds
259 reviews
5.11 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
345 reviews
5.50 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
B'ville Diner
267 reviews
.91 miles away
Canal Walk Cafe
53 reviews
1.00 miles away
Angry Garlic
37 reviews
.81 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Beaver Lake Nature Center
116 reviews
3.05 miles away
WT Brews
15 reviews
.82 miles away
Baldwinsville Farmer's Market
10 reviews
.91 miles away
Timber Banks Country Club
7 reviews
4.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CarrieT194
June 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from V4523OHbillb | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a marina right there.
0
Votes
Rita C
December 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sherrie V | Reviewed this property |
Not sure
0
Votes
Cyndi677
August 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Tanner1029 | Reviewed this property |
Monday night is all you can eat crab legs. Reservations are not required but are suggested due to the large turn out. I would make reservations.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing