We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Millhouse Kitchen

Lourensford Road | Lourensford Wine Estate, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27 21 847 0030
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“pork belly” (45 reviews)
“pizza” (80 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lourensford Road | Lourensford Wine Estate, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had the best dinner experience in a long time. The staff was friendly. We sat outside and had a beautiful view over the garden with the mountain on the background. The pork belly is the best I ever had and the chocolate torte also...More

1  Thank Nico O
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the restaurant yesterday evening with overseas guests and were so disappointed with the food, three at our table had springbok loin and I had the prawn risotto. The waiter asked how long we wanted to wait between the starter and receiving the mains...More

Thank PamelaCapeTown
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We strive to give our guests great service and food and we are truly disappointed that your experience fell short of this. We would be most grateful if you sent us your contact details to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had invited two friends for lunch. Whilst the waiters were friendly and helpful, the standard of our meals left a lot to be desired. The Crumbed Veal my wife had ordered was half-cold and underdone. An underdone steak may be acceptable,...More

Thank Klaus E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our corporate year-end function last Saturday (18/11/2017) and what an absolute WONDERFUL experience!! Anja was always in communication with us and always bubbly. On the evening of the function (92 adults attending) we were in the very good, capable hands of Adrian and...More

Thank Funnyface4444
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We are thrilled that you had a great time. Your positive comments keep us inspired to keep up the good work. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The MILLHOUSE Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Even though our intent was to have fish, our waitress decribed the pork belly in a way that left 6 out of 8 of our guests drooling for it. When our food arrived, we dug in and my oh my what explosive flavours. We'll definitely...More

Thank LisaG1983
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We are thrilled that you had a great time. Your positive comments keep us inspired to keep up the good work. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The MILLHOUSE Team

Reviewed November 6, 2017

This was my second visit and again I had to send back a smelly seafood rissotto. A few basic ingredients eg, avocado pear and cream were out of stock therefore reducing the meal choices on an already limited menu. Not good enough!More

1  Thank Lindsay E
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We strive to give our guests great service and food and we are truly disappointed that your experience fell short of this. We as management have taken your constructive comment and have implemented an immediate...More

Reviewed November 2, 2017

The Millhouse Kitchen thought it fine to serve my pizza on a plate with two broken edges. I only noticed after eating half the pizza. Shame on you The Millhouse Kitchen! A nice smooth over plate is not just for aesthetics - it protects us...More

Thank L L
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We strive to give our guests great service and food and we are truly disappointed that your experience fell short of this. We as management have taken your constructive comment and have implemented an immediate...More

Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me, thrice....?. Today was the third time we have been shown away and it was not possible for the renowned Lourensford restaurant to deliver on a simple breakfast for two at 10:30...More

Thank Ryno B
Bjorn G, Owner at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Good day please see our opening time avalable on all social media and on our website. The Millhouse closes for breakfast 10:30 am . As lunches are fully booked and we need to reset and prep for lunch. I'm sorry that all 3 time you...More

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

The food looked pleasing and tasted absolutely amazing. The staff are very friendly and the service is fast. The surrounding atmosphere and garden is also relaxing and beautiful

Thank savanna h
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We are thrilled that you had a great time. Your positive comments keep us inspired to keep up the good work. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The MILLHOUSE Team

Reviewed October 21, 2017

we stopped for lunch after a wine tasting and a wander around the grounds. pleasant lunch slightly overcooked but not worth complaining about and I would go back.

1  Thank JGraham12
TheMILLHOUSEkitchen, Manager at The Millhouse Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review MILLHOUSE kitchen. We are thrilled that you had a great time. Your positive comments keep us inspired to keep up the good work. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The MILLHOUSE Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Camphors at Vergelegen
305 reviews
.37 miles away
The Stables Restaurant at Vergelegen
522 reviews
.43 miles away
95 at Morgenster
117 reviews
.55 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Helderberg Nature Reserve
251 reviews
.85 miles away
Lourensford Wine Estate
221 reviews
.33 miles away
Morgenster Wine Farm
101 reviews
.94 miles away
Lourensford Market
47 reviews
.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Millhouse Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$3 - $18
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lourensford Road | Lourensford Wine Estate, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Somerset West
  • Phone Number: +27 21 847 0030
  • E-mail
Description
Founded in 1700, Lourensford Estate has married its historic heritage with a vision to be at the forefront of modern wine technology and a leader amongst South African Wine producers. Owner & Executive Chef, Bjorn Guido's cooking career started at The Greenhouse at Cellars-Hohenort under chef Peter Templehoff. He then moved abroad and joined Babington House, part of the SOHO HOUSE group under the renowned Ronnie Bonetti of River Cafe London. After gaining experience abroad, he returned home and took up the role of Head Chef at The Franschhoek Kitchen on the Holden Manz Wine Estate. Food provenance and sustainability are core to Millhouse's philosophy. The eatery's contemporary barn-conversion interior puts a modern twist on classic elements, featuring a mix of leather banquette seating and reclaimed timber walls. Bjorn's aim was to create a neighbourhood feel where guests can relax and enjoy each other's company. Watch as food is prepared in the expansive open kitchen and Italian style pizza's are delivered fresh from the wood fired oven.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing