We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Avontuur Estate Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27 21 855 4296
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tue - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Started the day in lovely surroundings,watching the horses trying to keep cool with the water spray,and then enjoying coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The entire experience was disappointing. From the bread to the mains. The view is the only upside. Go to Cavalli down the road! Much better !!

Helpful?
1 Thank hntraveller
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hn Traveller Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are however surprised that you did not address your dissatisfaction with management immediately instead of on a platform like this where after the fact we are unable to make amends. Both management and owners are always on hand to rectify problems, queries or a chat and... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

-Repeatedly had to ask for water--3 times!. -Despite repeating that my duck had to be " crispy, crispy, crispy" it was not and had to be returned to the Kitchen-- with my wife's fish so that we could dine together.Hardly satisfactoyr---and the waiter blames the kitchen!! -When the bill arrives my R400 deposit had not been deducted--so back to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayne1839
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Wayne Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We apologise for your disappointing experience. You have highlighted two issues that need addressing; service as well as food. We cook on average 6000 ducks a year and in so doing we have come to understand what makes a delicious duck, one that makes our guests return... More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a very hot afternoon ,so the trout and avocado starter went down a treat.Having eaten here many times during our visits to Franschhoek over the years we know that the duck is to die for! Tender,well cooked,plenty of flavour with a tasty sauce,good seasonal veg and chips if you must ! The views are good and it is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank isla001
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited The Western Cape at least once a year for the last 16 years but have never been to Avontuur Estate Restaurant. We went last week and were very pleasantly surprised. We had an excellent light lunch outside, under the vine covered seating area. It was busy and the staff were rather rushed, but we will definitely go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghailiz
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to enjoy a lunch with friends. The food is OK but not as nice as expected after reading the reviews. The service is good but could have a bit more smiles.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan61
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful views, great service and wonderful food. Best place to go for a relaxed lunch were you still get good service👏

Helpful?
1 Thank ianandcoco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been going to Avontuur for over 10 years and I can honestly say that the experience is always extraordinarily satisfying! But last night was even more spectacular. It was our first time for an evening meal and I got to say it was superb: the setting, the food and the service were absolutely delightful, our guests were truly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cocohiba
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Had a marvelous lunch here. Staff are friendly, setting is incredible and the food was outstanding. Not a very big menu, but some unique and tasty dishes on offer that you're bound to find appealing. I recommend the place and will be heading back here when in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph d
NSW
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017

The food was outstanding well presented and delicious. Our party had varied dishes and nobody had any food they did not enjoy. Beautiful views, smiling and helpful staff. Went there twice once for lunch and then for dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank dorisvan

Travelers who viewed The Avontuur Estate Restaurant also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Avontuur Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $25
Cuisine
International, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Somerset West
  • Phone Number: +27 21 855 4296
Description
Put us on your G.P.S.... Avontuur Estate, nestled on the Helderberg mountain, with horses, vines and Table Mountain in the distance is a calm haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. A mere 45 minute drive from the airport with ample parking, Avontuur is a destination you should have on your GPS. Award winning wines and knowledgeable tasting room staff will pique your taste buds regarding our wines and our restaurant with inside as well as outside seating, has panoramic views to take your breath away. Hearty portions, aromatic flavours and delectable food is the order of the day at the Restaurant, with attention to detail and service excellence being the norm. Call us to book your table, your guests won't be dissapointed. 021 855 4296

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Avontuur Estate Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Avontuur Estate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?