We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rendezvous Bistro - CLOSED

Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 74 124 5705
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“lunch” (14 reviews)
“bitterballen” (3 reviews)
“terrine” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Ate hear today after a tiring cycle. We had Ducks Liver Parfait, Fishcakes and Meatballs. All excellent and thoroughly recommended. Wash down with some of the Chardonnay

Thank Malcolm P
AlastairWood, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review of lunch at Rendezvous Bistro on Glenwood. We were delighted that you enjoyed the snacks and Chardonnay after your cycle and trust that you were completely revived! Best regards.

Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We visited Rendezvous on Glenwood Wine Farm as a party of 8 and was again blown away by the excellent service, wine and ambiance at the Franschhoek treasure. The chef has changed the menu to include new dishes of which the Bitter Ballen, Fish cakes...More

Thank Philipwes06
AlastairWood, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thanks, Philip, for your complimentary review of Rendezvous and Glenwood. I was delighted that your party enjoyed the visit, and our new menu and wines in particular. Kind regards.

Reviewed May 30, 2016

'Rendezvous' offers exceptional food, from a limited menu that entices one to try multiple options, enhanced by great portion control.

Thank Jandreart
AlastairWood, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thanks Jandreart for your positive review of our Rendezvous restaurant. Kind regards.

Reviewed March 8, 2016

The view alone is worth a visit and the excellent food was a terrific bonus. My wife and I shared a smoked trout terrine, stuffed squid and smoked duck breast and without doubt this is some of the best food I have tasted in South...More

Thank dougelli
agw00d, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thanks, Dougelli, for your enthusiastic review of Glenwood Vineyards/Rendezvous Bistro. We are indeed fortunate to have such a beautiful location and have done our best to complement it with the best possible food and wine offerings - we were delighted that you enjoyed them all....More

Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

Amazing food, amazing staff, amazing chef, amazing wine and finally amazing view!!!! What more could you ask for. Definitely worth the visit

1  Thank Jessica J
agw00d, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Thanks, Jessica, for your wonderful review of your combined Glenwood Vineyards/Rendezvous experience. You have complimented each aspect of what we have tried to create in this incredible location - what more can I say? We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed February 9, 2016

We used to come here for years and always thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the great view and fantastic food. It used to be a piece of heaven. Unbelievable how things can change !!! The view and the cool breeze are still there, but the...More

Thank Jaap D
agw00d, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2016

Dear Jaap, I was very surprised and disappointed to read your review "From Fantastic to Terrible" regarding Rendezvous primarily because your comments contrasted so much with all the positive feedback we have received to date. I have now followed up with the Head Chef and...More

Reviewed February 5, 2016

Visited Glenwood for a tasting on our trip to Franschhoek and stayed on for lunch. We sat at a lovely shady outside table with views of the mountains and vineyard and decided that rather than order mains we would share a selection of their small...More

Thank Ben_Susan
agw00d, Owner at Rendezvous Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Many thanks for your superb review. I am sorry I did not meet you personally during your visit but look forward to doing so on your next trip. Kind regards.

Reviewed November 23, 2015

A completely new team have just taken over the restaurant at Glenwood and are offering lunches. This venue cannot be beaten for position. They have a selection of "Entrees" which are perfect if you just want (as so many do) a light lunch, they encouraged...More

Thank SAtraveller61
Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

An excellent location, great atmosphere and good wine tasting but disappointing food. Steak was overdone and did not live up to expectations. The restaurant was separate from the wine tasting. Still worth a try though.

Thank Frank F
Reviewed November 2, 2015

This winery is set back off the road in rolling hills. They offer horseback riding if you are in the mood for that too. The wine tasting was very casual and very enjoyable. Our server knew the ins and outs about each wine that she...More

Thank Karen K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ryan's Kitchen
993 reviews
2.01 miles away
The French Connection
1,445 reviews
2.18 miles away
Allora
813 reviews
2.17 miles away
Village Grill and Butcher
181 reviews
1.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Provence Estate
338 reviews
1.45 miles away
Rickety Bridge Winery
210 reviews
1.31 miles away
Glenwood Vineyards
100 reviews
.01 miles away
Mont Rochelle
108 reviews
1.43 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly Okamai Japanese Restaurant)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 74 124 5705
  • E-mail
Description
GlenWood's lunchtime bistro invites guests to enjoy light, original, imaginitive cuisine whilst taking pleasure in the unparalleled views of GlenWood's secluded valley and the surrounding mountains. Located next to the winery, Rendezvous offers seating for 40 people in an intimate setting, tables either inside or outside.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing