We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Franschhoek

Haute Cabriere Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options

Location and contact

Improve this listing
About
Haute Cabrière will reopen on the 1st of October 2019, after a five month renovation project. Guests can look forward to an extended terrace area and new interior, along with new menus for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $12
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
European, Contemporary
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
410
183
63
53
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
410
183
63
53
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu venison prawns pasta bread filet haute cabriere pinot noir wine cellar food and wine cellar tour franschhoek valley stunning views main course great wine sunday lunch set menu
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 744 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Excellent meal with great service. Natasha was great with wine tasting then Holly was great for meal service. Food for all 4 of us was superb. All this plus incredible sunset . Thank you

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank bjwatt2017
Reviewed 3 days ago

We always go to this Restaurant when we are in Franschoek- this was our 5th visit. On this occasion we discovered that they had built a completely new enclosed restaurant. I admit it was a wet and windy evening but the building was dark, cold...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank LindaMac8
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Linda, Thank you for the feedback. The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I’d just like to stay a very big big thank you to Natasha and Monise who looked after us today. We were booked into Grand Provence but due to only being able to have a 3 course option we opted for your property. Gee, I...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank mitchellp22
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Mitchell, Thank for this lovely feedback, and for mentioning names. Both ladies will be very proud. We hope to see you again soon. The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 4 days ago

We have been here before and were looking forward to ur meal. However, first we were made to feel rushed as we were told the kitchen closes at 8pm every night. Then we were seated next to a table of 10 Germans - who must...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank MAK506215
Reviewed 6 days ago

Prawn tagliatelle and line fish were absolutely delicious in combination with the amazing Haute Cabriere Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Dishes and wine deserve 10 out of 10. We felt a bit of a let down with a desert: an almond cake was rather average and...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Zana M
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Zana, Thank you for the great feedback. We will pass onto to the kitchen and front of house teams. We are very happy to hear you had a good time. The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ran out of time to go and eat. We visited on the wine Tram and saw their wonderful new dining room which is all glass, which makes wonderful use of the gorgeous views across the valley. Next year we will be there for longer

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sara D
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Sara, Thank you for sharing your visit and we look forward to seeing you next year! The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing. Just had an off oyster. Sent back. Terrible . Hope i won't be sick from this . Kitchen please check asap

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Onreip
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the feedback. We have passed this onto the kitchen. The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the the best lunch with the best waitress! Amazing tuna for starter and then chicken salad, their white wine Chardonnay Pinot Noir was excellent as well. A must visit if you’re in the area!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank sofiaj198
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Sofia, Thank you for the great feedback. We are happy to hear you had a great visit. The Haute Cabrière team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a waste of an evening. We went to this beautifully located restaurant with high hopes given previous reviews. The whole experience was best described as ragged but the worst of it was the inconsistency with the food. We had oysters to start which were...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank markhY1180JF
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Mark, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your whole meal. We will address the procedural items, like being told a 15 min wait time was too long. We do insist that main course orders are in by 8pm,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took overseas clients to the restaurant as a goodbye end to a great trip in Cape Town. Let me start by saying the food was amazing, not a fault could be found and it really was a cut above the rest. That's where it...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank PeterCochran
HauteManager, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Peter, Thank you for the feedback. I did a search on our booking system, and do not see your name, if you were a walk-in, it is very likely that the enclosed terrace was fully booked. The behaviour of your server is unacceptable, if...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
La Petite Ferme
649 reviews
.26 miles away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
1,452 reviews
.68 miles away
Chapter House Boutique Hotel
83 reviews
.80 miles away
Leeu House
307 reviews
.82 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 96 nearby restaurants
Orangerie at Le Lude
382 reviews
.42 miles away
La Petite Colombe
630 reviews
.85 miles away
Le Coin Francais
406 reviews
.85 miles away
Protege Restaurant
191 reviews
.85 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
First South African Perfume Museum
238 reviews
.70 miles away
Franschhoek Pass
1,046 reviews
.98 miles away
Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve
146 reviews
.39 miles away
Haute Cabriere
362 reviews
.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maps45099290657
December 3, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HauteManager | Property representative |
Hello, we find it is hard to accommodate pets as we are open to the public and find some people feel uncomfortable when faced with a pet while they are dining.
0
Votes
HauteManager
December 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 341johanv | Reviewed this property |
For sure we will return for Wesley's great food and the excellent bubbly.
0
Votes
moliv09
July 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from HauteManager | Property representative |
Hello, apologies for the huge delay! We have a menu for kids, we ask that they are well-behaved! Lunches are better suited, but we also cater in the evening food-wise.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing