We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The French Connection

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 4056
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 960: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had high hopes after reading other reviews but were disappointed with the quality of the food. We had the duck and pork belly - nothing special about either of them. Compared to some of the other amazing restaurants we visited during our visit in Franschhoek it was average at best.

Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
Jason R, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review

Dear NickyB We are disappointed to get your feedback about the food at our Bistro. We pride ourselves on our simple French bistro food and friendly service and are sorry really you didn’t enjoy it. We hope if you find your way back to Franschhoek, you will give us another try. Regards Matthew Gordon Owner More 

Durban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our tour party arrived late at the restaurant, so late that we thought the kitchen might be closed ! However the host, showed us in, charged our glasses and proceeded to "feed and water" us late into the evening. The starter mussel special was outstanding, and the venison and steak mains were all very good. Well worth a visit, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJP110576
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The manager was disgusting! Fully booked and I asked politely to use the restroom- he always rude and horrible. Will never eat at your restaurant! We are respectable customers who politely asked to use your bathroom. I frequent this area monthly and I will be never come dine with you based on you attitude

Helpful?
Thank MCapeTown
Jason R, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review

Dear MCapeTown I feel I need to respond to this ‘review’ in person. Your comments are misleading and I feel we need to put your complaint into context. The incident that you refer to was on Bastille weekend in Franschhoek, which is one of the busiest weekends of the year in our little village. Most of the event takes place... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always a winner with great staff and a good menu. Lovely french bistro in Franschoek main street which I would recommend to all.

Helpful?
Thank jua83
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not really enjoy my meal here - It might have been just bad luck on the night - It was not to my taste - I ate very little of my meal and they did not even ask why so much remained on the plate - Flavour not great and the dish was quite cool when it arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trishy27
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had not eaten at the French Connection for a while and decided to try it for lunch - we were not disappointed! The waitress was attentive and gave us excellent service while having a lovely sense of humor The food was outstanding! We shared a mussel stater in a delicious creamy sauce and the best roast duck we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moose-JHB
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A rare winters summery day lent the opportunity to see life on the bustling Franschoek main street whilst sipping on good craft beer or one of the Rupert familes wines. The menu has a lovely choice of foods from light to seriously hungry. Everything was fresh and delicious and served timeously with grace and friendliness.

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the setting is absolutely epic. Food was average but the service was really good. I was a little disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Mikeoost
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Restaurant was buzzing on a Saturday evening always a good sign. Basic good food, tasty and nice atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Gautenger65
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated my husbands birthday at this restaurant were so pleased that we had made this choice; it was a cold winters night and we sat in front of a roaring fire, had a delicious meal and were served by such friendly and helpful staff. Duck is a speciality dish of theirs and worth a return visit. This is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

Travelers who viewed The French Connection also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$15 - $18
Cuisine
French, European
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 21 876 4056
Description
Matthew Gordon’s popular bistro in the heart of the Franschhoek village offers a relaxed culinary experience with top-quality French classics like slow-roasted crispy duck with raspberry vinegar jus; superb steaks (try the fillet mignon with three-mushroom sauce), plus the freshest fish and local produce. Friendly, informative staff ensure that French Connection remains one of the most popular stops in the ‘Gourmet Capital of the Cape’. American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2006–2012; Diners Club International Wine List Award 2011–2013; Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2013.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The French Connection staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?