We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surfside West

Certificate of Excellence
$
American, Diner
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5308 New Jersey Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-1429
+1 609-522-3392
Website
Today
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:30 am - 1:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

A true diner experience! Extensive menu with some creative surprises. Cute, retro atmosphere with some original features. Service was no frills but definitely conscientious and wonderfully attentive, with the hostess having menus ready for us before we even crossed the threshold and the cook/manager coming over twice to check on us. We recommend the potato cake with horseradish sauce (so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Desiree C
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Everything we ordered was excellent from their "hangover" breakfast plate to the sausage sliders and french toast

Helpful?
Thank James9900
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thank you for your support and review. Mike More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

No doubt about it Surf Side West is the best restaurant in Wildwood! The owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and they have such a variety of food and great, unique specials. Also if you have food allergies they are more then willing to make the meal to satisfy you! We love Surf... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fehr3
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad we were able to accommodate your needs. Thanks Mike More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Surfside West is hands down the best diner in Wildwood. I'm not saying the other diners are bad, and they may be a little more visually interesting -- but the quality of ingredients and the attention to detail and service at Surfside has all the others beat!

Helpful?
Thank jindel718
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thanks for your support. We are glad we met your expectations. Mike More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016

I love coming to Surfside for a big weekend breakfast. It's an awesome family-owned restaurant with delicious food, creative specials, and friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank wylierose22
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Always nice to see you and john. Thanks for the review and support and I'll keep the pancakes coming. Mike More 

1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2016

The food was great, the atmosphere was good and the restaurant was clean. The waitress were very nice and sociable. We had our Grandkids with us and they were very helpful with the high chairs, extra napkins and hand wipes. The owner/cook even came out to talk to us. It was an enjoyable experience. We went there for three days... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie P
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thanks for your support. Glad to be able to help. Having four grandkids I know how hard it sometimes is to take them out. I appreciate your efforts and review. Mike More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Dear horrible, My question to you is, if the food was so terrible why in god's name would you have continued to eat something that was warm and not hot. Second if the bacon was rubbery, why wouldn't you send it back. I have had the pleasure of frequently going to this restaurant and the waitress has always come by... More 

Helpful?
Thank agitator1
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support. You have always been there for us for many years thanks Mike More 

The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
313 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Our simple breakfasts came out lukewarm, and continued to lose warmth as we ate. My 3 strips of bacon were wimpy and tasteless. Our English muffins came to the table loaded with a huge amount of whit melted butter, which we had to scrape off. I had asked for extra crispy hash browns, but, of course, they came out mostly... More 

Helpful?
Thank AttitudeofGratitude
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Dear horrible, sorry to hear that you were not happy with your meal. I always tell customers to please tell someone,waitress hostess,owner,while you are eating so we can try to fix this or remake your meal. If we are not aware of your dissatisfaction there's nothing for us to do. To give us a horrible review when we had no... More 

1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Good food, nice atmosphere & friendly staff! 🖒👍perfect time of year to visit the Jersey Shore. Couldn't ask for more!

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thank you for your support. Mike More 

1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Best French toast and pancakes I've had in a while. I came in with my pregnant wife and the owner let us try the pumpkin pancakes probably one of the best things I've put in my mouth. I highly recommend the challa French toast.

Helpful?
Thank Corby H
Michael J, Owner at Surfside West, responded to this review

Thank you for your support. Good luck with the baby. Always looking for new customers. Thanks Mike More 

Travelers who viewed Surfside West also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Surfside West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $12
Cuisine
American, Diner
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 1:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5308 New Jersey Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-1429
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Jersey Shore  >  Cape May County  >  Wildwood
  • Phone Number: +1 609-522-3392

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surfside West staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?