We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melting Pot

831 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1154
+1 973-428-5400
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good11%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible20%
Travelers talk about
“fondue” (17 reviews)
“salad” (7 reviews)
“shrimp” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
831 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1154
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We visited as a party of ten for my nephew's birthday. We also preordered online as a courtesy. Our experience could.not have been more positive. The restaurant is spotless. Alex & Maggie were amazing servers. The food was fresh and delicious. We highly recommend the...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kathy G, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself at Johnathan's birthday party and hope that he had a wonderful time. Alex and Maggie will be delighted to know that they helped ensure a great evening for you all.

Reviewed January 24, 2017

I was sharing an anniversary dinner with my girlfriend, who was new to the "fondue" experience and was looking forward to the different style of eating. We chose the Asian Fusion and the Classic mixed entree which included several meat and seafood pieces. Everything was...More

Thank Albert F Z
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant early and it was empty and we still had to wait to be seated for over 25 minutes, couldn't believe it. The food was shocking and extremely over priced considering you have to cook it yourself. I found the whole...More

Thank Joy K
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We spend most of our family celebrations here. We usually only have the cheese, salad and chocolate. The entrees are excellent, you must need to bring a serious appetite with you. The staff is great and very accommodating....More

Thank Scott L
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

I used to love the Melting Pot and fondue for a change of pace...but it is simply too expensive anymore. Even the children's menu (10 and under) at $27.95 is too overpriced. My visit included myself and two children (ages 7&11). The bill with tax...More

Thank Kristina O
Kathy G, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Kristina: I am not sure how your bill could have come to $180 for yourself and 2 children. Even if you ordered the whole experience for both children ($27.95 each), instead of the children's entree ($10.95 each). That would imply that your meal cost $120....More

Reviewed August 8, 2016

I rarely rate a restaurant this poorly - as a Catering Manager I understand about certain hiccups and such with service and food. Friday, August 5th we visited this location. Although the food was overpriced, we had a nice server and the food was good....More

Thank Jackie S
Kathy G, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Jackie- I am sorry you were disappointed. The problem wasn't that we wouldn't honor the Groupon. We do it all the time for folks who forget to tell us when they make the reservation. The problem was that you didn't order the Groupon meal. You...More

Reviewed August 1, 2016

Come hungry with money! Fun dining activity--cook your own meal fondue style. Not a quick eat and run dinner. We had the four course--cheese fondue appetizer, salad, main meal and dessert fondue. Excellent staff. We weren't seated until our entire party was present. Bar service...More

Thank MTurner818
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

I love fondue, and anything with melted cheese, which this place specializes in and does extraordinarily. And then leave stuffed, bloated and feeling guilty. No doubt all of its offerings are unhealthy but scrumptious. The challenge is to control yourself.

Thank Richard C
Reviewed June 16, 2016

The service, management and price are enough reasons to avoid this location entirely. Note upfront: we've been to Melting Pots before (in Somerville, NJ and Baltimore) and had good experiences, so the problems are specific to this location. A second disclosure: this was a celebration...More

1  Thank EdMuldoon
Reviewed June 9, 2016

We had gone to a Melting Pot in Florida while traveling and my son wanted to go back so we finally did. Even he agreed though that it wasn't good and we left before having dessert fondue which we had planned on having. One wants...More

Thank AnAnthropologist
Kathy G, Owner at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience. I am not sure what happened with your cheese dippers. The vegetables are cut fresh daily and the bread is baked daily on premises. I appreciate your letting us know that the portioning of the dippers...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Capriccio - NJ
102 reviews
.46 miles away
Brookside Diner & Restaurant
88 reviews
.32 miles away
Billy & Madeline's Red Room Tavern
98 reviews
.42 miles away
Nikko Japanese Restaurant
86 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Whippany Railway Museum
39 reviews
.67 miles away
The Funplex
101 reviews
2.74 miles away
Jockey Hollow
252 reviews
2.87 miles away
Anchor Golf Center
11 reviews
1.79 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Melting Pot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 831 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981-1154
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Morris County  >  Whippany
  • Phone Number: +1 973-428-5400
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing