We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
Indulge in the area's finest cuisine in a unique and lovely setting. An elegant display and collection of antiques, country English design furniture mixed with the rustic beauty of early Americans create an atmosphere of warmth and beauty that befits the lifestyles of the rich and famous. Our eclectic menu is sure to please the most discriminating of tastes and is perfectly complimented by our extensive wine list. Also available are our newly redecorated banquet facilities for parties of 10 to 80 guests.
$15 - $100
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
American, Bar, Pub
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Buffet, Live Music
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger crab cakes pot pie salad soups fries calamari great lunch dining experience fireplace nj dressing
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed July 5, 2020 via mobile

It was a terrible idea that we picked this restaurant that night of July 2, 2020. Instead of going to PUB 199. Service and food was terrible over cooked.More

Date of visit: July 2020
40northmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize the service and food you received was not to our usual standards. This issue will be addressed immediately. In the interim, would you be willing to provide your contact information by sending it to wecare@villarestaurantgroup.com. I will contact...More

Reviewed March 10, 2020

Service is still top notch, but the food has been on the downturn for at least two years. The owners changed the menu from strictly pub food and tried to upscale it. Complete disaster...it used to be that the place was always filled..now that is...barely an occurrence. They totally benefit from being one of the only games for miles. SMARTEN UPMore

Date of visit: March 2020
pmdigiacomo, General Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2020

We’re sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. We appreciate the feedback, which we always take into consideration. If you have any additional comments and want to reach out to us directly, please write us at wecare@villarestaurantgroup.com. Thank you.

Reviewed March 10, 2020

We recently took our son and daughter in law to dinner at the Black Horse Pub (not the expensive white cloth restaurant but the PUB) and I couldn’t believe the price gouging! For the 4 of us, it was over $350 – and glasses of...wine were priced at $16-17! This is outrageous – the restaurant is in Mendham NJ not NYC! Its sad to see a nice neighborhood establishment take advantage of the locals to this extent – not to mention the food is only one step ahead of “bar food” at best, certainly not worthy of the $25-35 per dinner price tag. This will be the LAST time we visit the PUB – they are doing a total disservice to their customers! I’d rather drive 15-20 minutes to a good meal worthy of the price than go back!More

Date of visit: March 2020
pmdigiacomo, General Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2020

We are sorry you did not enjoy your evening with us. We would like to be able to discuss this with you further. If you can send your information to us at wecare@villarestaurantgroup.com, we will contact you directly. Thank you.

Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Had a nice time sat by the fireplace the server was attentive, the French onion soup was delicious as was the special corn chowder. A nice menu and beer and drink specials. A fun atmosphere a converted barn! Had the salad with salmon pretty good...not too keen on the dressing. A tad expensive, but good quality. Would return.More

Date of visit: March 2020
pmdigiacomo, General Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Thank you for your great feedback!! We’re happy we were able to provide you with an enjoyable all-around experience. Come back soon!!

Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

Recent went to see Dean Shot and his band, he was great the food was average. I know there are many variables in a dining experience and having the live music definitely enhances the experience. Why such small portions of fries? Is it a corona...virus thing are you sending excess fries to China? Would definitely go back but only with live music, how long can you sit and eat in a horse barn? The ambiance can only go so far.More

Date of visit: February 2020
pmdigiacomo, General Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your meal. If you have any additional feedback for us please send it to wecare@villarestaurantgroup.com. Thank you

Reviewed January 22, 2020

Family of 4 adults were here for lunch. Varied menu-something for everyone. We were in no rush which was good because service was super slow and not good. We ordered drinks and could see that the bartender immediately filled the order. Our drinks sat on...the bar for a good 5 minutes. Out waitress then went to the bar & ordered more drinks for a table of 6 near us. The waitress saw our 4 drinks sitting there and proceeded get a tray and immediately take care of the 6 drinks, deliver them to the table, then take their order as we sat and watched all of this. Then the waitress disappeared to the rear of the restaurant. I then went over to the bartender and politely told her we have been waiting for the 4 drinks sitting on the bar asked if she could please hand them to me so we could at least enjoy our drinks. She told me, "No, the waitress will bring them to you. We are busy right now." Yeah, I know you are busy right now and that's why are drinks have been sitting there for 15 minutes. The snooty answer from this kid bartender really ticked me off. I was ok with the slow service during a busy lunch hour but a bartender can't hand me our drinks that have been sitting there now for 15 minutes? Real turn off. The waitress comes 5 minutes later with our drinks and gives the obligatory "Sorry for the wait." We ordered lunch. The food was good and delivered as requested. Chances are very good we won't be back for a few reasons. This is an expensive place which is fine but when 4 people spend $150 for lunch with drinks & appetizers, I expect better service and attitudes. Also, the music was blasting so loud, I had to ask could they please lower the music a bit because we couldn't hear each other and had to yell across the table. I enjoy concerts and loud music when it is appropriate but not at lunch when we are trying to have simple conversation. I would probably visit again if someone I was with insisted on going here but there are many other good restaurants in NJ to choose from. This isn't at the top of my list.More

Date of visit: January 2020
pmdigiacomo, General Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2020

We strive to have every visit by every guest be exceptional. While we hit that mark most of the time, we clearly fell very short here in several ways. This is not the way we want our guests to experience our restaurants and we would...More

Reviewed January 6, 2020

There is just something about the bar atmosphere that I cannot get enough of when I am in the area. I would have loved it even better if it had been snowing and cold enough to enjoy this place, even more. However, it was a...busy afternoon and service was not as quick as it should have been. We waited a long time for our drinks and they were nothing special when they arrived, even though I ordered a specialty drink. Appetizers were served in a more timely manner and, well, just appetizers. I hope the next time I am in town (I live in CA) my fave place will be just a tad bit better in the area of drinks at the bar.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Reviewed January 2, 2020

This has become the best tradition for me on NEW YEAR’s EVE! Being with family and friends is a lot of fun at this very busy, locally popular restaurant! Katie, our server, was sooo sweet & efficient! The burgers royale were a smash hit!

Date of visit: December 2019
pmdigiacomo, Owner at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

We appreciate the 5 star rating Linda!! Thank you for your business. We’re happy to deliver a great experience for you!

Reviewed November 21, 2019

The Black Horse Pub is a fixture in Mendham, and I presume it’s because there’s almost literally nothing else there except the more expensive Black Horse Tavern. My family went last Saturday night for dinner. The beers are an average price $6 and the mixed...drinks are $10. The waiter was terrible. When my wife pointed out a wine and asked if it was sweet, he said “I don’t think so, it’s not too sweet.” When she replied she liked something a little sweet he said “It’s a little sweet, yes, it’s sweet.” Well sir, it is or it isn’t. Not knowing what you’re talking about is forgivable. Just ask someone who knows or—I don’t know—get her a little taste as other restaurants do. He decided to outright lie instead. After rushing us through ordering, he wasn’t heard from again until the bill, which he got wrong. The half-pound burger was good, though not close to a half pound. Maybe they meant uncooked. On a broken scale. But it was tasty. The manager was very nice. This is the first time I can recall tipping poorly for poor service. Morristown is down the road—a much better choice of restaurants there, I would say, or next door in Randolph there are a slew of better places.More

Date of visit: November 2019
pmdigiacomo, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2019

Our passion is to provide a five star visit to every Guest and we apologize that we did not meet this standard. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, as it will help us improve. We hope to have the...More

Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

We met for drinks and a few appetizers! The waitress said the margaritas were scratch made, they were okay, lots of ice...much better with the extra shot I ordered. The guacamole and chips were good but came with only 1/2 avocado filled with guacamole...yet prices...above average...calamari okay so in summary everything seemed just ....okay!More

Date of visit: September 2019
pmdigiacomo, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

We’re glad you had a good experience. If there is anything we can do to improve your next visit please let us know by sending us an e-mail to WeCare@villarestaurantgroup.com

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bernards Inn
120 reviews
4.33 miles away
The Olde Mill Inn
367 reviews
4.48 miles away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
1,318 reviews
6.53 miles away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
477 reviews
6.92 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Simple Coffee
17 reviews
.08 miles away
65 reviews
.88 miles away
Piattino: A Neighborhood Bistro
70 reviews
.85 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Ralston General Store Museum
6 reviews
1.26 miles away
Cross Estate Gardens
15 reviews
2.98 miles away
Scherman Hoffman Wildlife Sanctuary
17 reviews
3.40 miles away
Bluebird Farm Alpacas
6 reviews
4.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert L
June 17, 2017|
Response from Deemer5 | Reviewed this property |
Everything you can imagine. There are all different types of salads, fruits, egg station, meats, fish, shrimp....made all different ways, lots of everything....including different desserts. Not sure if it is the same for... More
September 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TonyK300 | Reviewed this property |
Casual. casual. Their fine dining area across the entrance way might be different so if dining there you should call and ask
January 19, 2016|
Response from SandCrawler | Reviewed this property |
On the weekends there is a brunch buffet or you can sit in a booth and get a regular menu
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing