We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Diner, American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
24
34
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
24
34
15
5
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 1, 2020

all the food that came to the table was so dry it looked like it was on the counter for hours and thrown in the microwave to heat it up. The burgers, my bottom of my shoe looked better. What happen coach house? You were...my favorite. That ended my time in the coach house. We used to throw baby showers, bridal showers and just go there for shizza and giggles because the food was that good. Last nite I tipped the waiter 5 dollers on a 50 dollar check. That was so poor. We could not underrstand one word he said the best i could do was nod my head. I'm a foreign'er also but the language was the first to learn. That waiter was AWFUL. I hate the term slingin hash, but thats what he was. My father when he was alive was manager of many a diner in NJ and New York. Heritage diner was one for many years . He always taught me to take good care of the waitress or waiter, this is my first time I didn't. I'm sorry but last nite broke my heart, I feel 50 dollars went to the garbage. I was always a fan of Coach house and always defended you when people made fun of me for it cuz they called you roach house. At least when you hire waiters make sure they speak and fully understand english, believe me it is the hardest language to learn but we in my party all came from Norway and learned the english language. I'm so sorry Coach House I was loyal for many many years but I'm moving on. 50 dollars I have to earn is not to be waisted. And this is my very first complaint I have ever done...LizMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
241vivienp, Owner at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Hi, thank you for taking a minute to provide us with your feedback. We always want to see that our guests enjoyed great food and service during their visit, and hearing that you experienced anything less is disheartening. We encourage you to try us again...More

Reviewed January 10, 2020

Both times we were there very late, after 11 PM. At that time in many diners (forget restaurants!) you get warmed-over food and lousy service. Not so here - food was uniformly very good and the service quite good. There weren't many people but it...seems that being so centrally located, this place has enough customers to give it a reason to do a good job at that hour. And the prices are reasonable, so this is another plus. Again, I am not rating the place against very good restaurants, but against itself and the concept, so a 4 is warranted. "Nuff said!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
241vivienp, Owner at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Hey, thanks for the great rating! It is always great to see that another guest had a fantastic experience here at Coach House Diner Hackensack. Hope to see you in again soon!

Reviewed December 29, 2019

Been going here since I was a kid and my best friends mom was the hostess. This place is always great. The food and service is wonderful. I especially love the omelettes in the morning. Great coffee and deserts too!

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
241vivienp, Owner at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hi there! Thanks for continuing to be such a loyal customer to The Coach House Diner Hackensack! We can't wait for your next visit!

Reviewed December 29, 2019

The Coach House Diner is a more up tone experience than most diners. The decor is more elaborate and plush than the usual situation Service was fast and very friendly Our food ranged from good to OK. All in all a good choice for something...fast to eat.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
241vivienp, Owner at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Hi there, thank you so much for dining with us! We hope that you enjoyed your visit. If anything wasn't to your liking, please let our staff know on your next visit so we can make sure you get the 5-star experience you deserve!

Reviewed November 26, 2019 via mobile

We went last night. My son ordered mini burgers and my daughter French toast sticks . Both off the kids menu. Food comes - server brings chicken fingers and a whole burger. We are confused and tell her that it must be the wrong table....She is insisting that this is what we ordered. Then she said they don't even make sliders/mini burgers. She is refusing to take it back. I go to the hostess and request to see a manager - she said they don't have a manager - what????? I insist on them take it back - they do and 10 minutes sliders and French toast come. Sliders are hard as a rock and the French toast sticks are one mushy piece French toast cut into pieces. Honestly - how do u have a restaurant like this??? Hopefully place will close and a decent food will open !More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Vivien P, Manager at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

Hi there, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. All our dishes are prepared with nothing but fresh and high-quality ingredients, as we want to only serve plates that we are proud of and would like to further...More

Reviewed September 19, 2019

If you are looking for a large amount of food for breakfast go here for one of their 3 egg omelettes. The omelettes are served pancake style and was very tasty. The service was odd to say the leastMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Vivien P, Manager at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2019

Hi there, while we are glad you enjoyed our omelettes and our large portions, we wish you enjoyed our service just as much. If possible, would you please be able to reach out to us at info@coachhousedinerhackensack.com so that we can further discuss any concerns...More

Reviewed August 11, 2019

Dinner with buffet. Have eaten here before. Food was average. Soup was cold and overcooked, Bathrooms need a remake and cleaning.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Vivien P, Owner at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Anthony, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience and hope that you give us another chance in the future!

Reviewed July 30, 2019

New Jersey is the land of diners and the Coach House is a very good one. My wife and I were heading to the Shops of Riverside Mall in Hackensack and decided to stop for breakfast at the Coach House. The Coach House is open...24 hours a day serving breakfast all day as well as lunch and dinner. The menu has a huge variety of salads, soups, sandwiches, burgers, breakfast items and steaks, pasta, seafood and chicken entrees. It also has a full bar serving cocktails, wine and beer on tap. We chose the pecan pancakes and taylor ham and blueberry pancakes and bacon. Both meals had three large pancakes and were loaded with pecans and blueberries. The diner is clean and bright and the staff is friendly and efficient. The Coach House is a great place for a meal, 24 hours a day.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Went on a Tuesday early lunch and food was terrific. Salad bar well stocked including stuffed grape leaves, five varieties of carrots, many lettuces, tomato and on-and-on. Chicken cheddar panini was delicious. Also, flounder and tuna salad had great reports. Waiter very attentive. Would highly...recommend.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Vivien P, Manager at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Hi Johnny, thanks for the review! We strive to always provide excellent food and service at all times. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and hope that you’ll be in again soon!

Reviewed May 7, 2019

Had a group here on a Monday night (a slow night) and they were able to give us a table in a quiet corner. They were very accomodating in letting us babble away without pestering us to order. Enormous menu, my chicken gyro was very...tasty. Only downside is that the bar service was very slow. Would go again.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Vivien P, Manager at Coach House Diner, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Hey there! Thank you so much for such positive feedback. I'm glad you had a great experience. I hope to see you back soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Paramus, an IHG Hotel
219 reviews
2.41 miles away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
1,050 reviews
2.70 miles away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Teaneck Glenpointe
388 reviews
2.74 miles away
Hilton Hasbrouck Heights Meadowlands
1,240 reviews
2.76 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Houston's
293 reviews
.07 miles away
Maggiano's Little Italy
240 reviews
.22 miles away
The Cheesecake Factory
224 reviews
.09 miles away
The Oceanaire Seafood Room
134 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Shops at Riverside
99 reviews
.14 miles away
Historic New Bridge Landing
16 reviews
.64 miles away
Teaneck Cinemas
52 reviews
1.12 miles away
Maywood Station Museum
10 reviews
1.81 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lynn Ann P
November 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jersey_Gourmet | Reviewed this property |
Parking is easy and there is a ramp, however you do need to be able to pull open the door (not electric). Seating is mostly on the primary levewl however they do have a platform seating section to the left of the entrance
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coach House Diner

Yes, Coach House Diner offers takeout services.

Coach House Diner is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4