We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Houlihan's

$$ - $$$
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
645 US Highway 46, Fairfield, NJ 07004-1556
+1 973-808-1300
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrive for dinner shortly after 7:45pm so it wasn't to packed, it was starting to thin out. We got our table right away, the staff was very friendly, we were 6 including a 4 and 6 year old's. Received our drinks right away and that was it, after that we waited for ever for our food, with a 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernd S
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just happened to be passing by & stopped in for an early dinner. Just the two of us, my sister and I (senior citizens). She had been there once before & had the meatloaf again. I chose the chicken (I can't eat fish & don't eat beef so that limits my choices). We were both happy with our meals and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne Z
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We will be passing your comments along to the team, and look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
420 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was surprised to see so few folks in the bar area on a Thursday nite. The drinks are good and the discounted apps are even better. The price is right. Really good wings and other tasty bites!

Helpful?
Thank XSki007
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing More 

nj
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service,food,and ambiance are very bad. My fish tacos and flatbread meals are worse than my sons high school cafeteria. The service is better at the local motor vehicle center. The place needs a corporate intervention and a corrective action plan. Other patrons needed to speak to the manager and the complaints kept coming.

Helpful?
Thank captnkid
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us, and will be alerting the Area Director. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and would like to be able to make it right. Kindly email me directly at alexhoulihans@gmail.com and I can forward your contact information to the Area Director. Thank you for your time and if there is... More 

Fairfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2016

There's nothing bad about Houlihans, but nothing great either. It's your typical chain restaurant food and since it's local, we'll stop in on occasion. It just seems not much has changed here lately, including most of the menu options.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do test out seasonal offerings, so we do hope you get to check out the specials menu. If you have any feedback, we always welcome specific suggestions. Thank you. – Alex, Houlihan’s Marketing More 

Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016

Went here with a group for a business dinner. It took a long time to get served and only took ONE HOUR to get the check when we were done. I ordered a pasta dish, asked the server if it was a good sized portion, it was very small, didn't even fill me up - terribly overpriced for what I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather T
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us, and will be alerting the Area Director. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and would like to be able to make it right. Kindly email me directly at alexhoulihans@gmail.com and I can forward your contact information to the Area Director. Thank you for your time and if there is... More 

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Went Friday evening place was quite seated rite away waiter came to the table quick drink order went in ordered our meals wife can not have any nuts or seeds she ordered chicken stir fry requested several times no seeds dinner came her meal was loaded with seeds also more mushrooms then chicken not happy sent it back waited at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph706
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry about the seeds, but glad management was able to rectify that for you. We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

Great for drinks and appetizers along with a diversified dinner menu. Great wait staff and management that's puts customers first.

Helpful?
Thank samz1948
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so glad you enjoy our made-from-scratch menu items & our service! We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing More 

Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

We'd seen the ads, and passed by several branches but this was our first visit to any of these restaurants. We were saying "good bye" to a long term friend who was returning to the UK. A very pleasant ambience and the food is good value. My only problem is the operation was huge and I decided to eat it... More 

Helpful?
Thank RepUSA
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing More 

West Caldwell, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2016

Menu needs an overhaul, standard fare, meal presentation was not that great. Ambiance of the restaurant was upper scale steakhouse dark, does not work for a casual chain. Wait staff when we were there was not particularly attentive and seemed to be fairly new. Much better to be had at chains that are focused on keeping their menu updated with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheikh A
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us, and will be alerting the Area Director. (We recently added some new exciting menu items that perhaps you didn't get to see yet.) We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and would like to be able to make it right. Kindly email me directly at alexhoulihans@gmail.com and I can forward... More 

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$30
Cuisine
American, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 645 US Highway 46, Fairfield, NJ 07004-1556
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Fairfield
  • Phone Number: +1 973-808-1300
Description
In 1972, Houlihan's first opened its doors in Kansas City with an eclectic menu and energetic bar scene. Ferns hung throughout, artifacts cluttered the walls, tapestries made by San Francisco hippies formed the ceiling. It was hot.Fast forward a few decades. New inspiration. New menus. New soundtrack. And a modern, warm restaurant design with a prominent bar. Today, our company is built entirely around what the progressive consumer seeks in a restaurant + bar experience.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Houlihan's and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Houlihan's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?