We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ebbitt Room

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25 Jackson St, Virginia Hotel, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417 (Carpenter's & Beach Drive)
+1 609-884-5700
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 461: English reviews
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We decided at the last minute to try this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is located in the Virginia hotel which is a quaint little hotel on Jackson Street. There was a pianist playing in the restaurant and bar area . I enjoyed the jazz choose that she was playing and added to the ambience of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank L
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outstanding, from start to finish. The deviled eggs and the NY strip are delicious. Leo, the bartender, is a true mixologist and role model for his profession.

Helpful?
Thank PRSdoctorHahn
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dr. Hahn, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay, and I'm thrilled to see that the food and your experience were so well received. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Leo as well. I certainly hope we'll see you in Cape May... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spend our anniversary in Cape May this year. Based on the recommendation of our hosts at the Queen Victory Inn we chose the nearby Ebbitt Room for dinner, the perfect choice. The staff was wonderful, friendly and professional. The food was excellent. The dining atmosphere was pleasant and not rushed. We felt the cost was fair.

Helpful?
Thank Curt60
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We very much enjoyed our dinner at The Ebbitt Room. Service was excellent, thanks to our waiter, Jordan- our cocktails were amazing (pear and cranberry Bellini and chocolate martinis were incredible), thanks to the bartender, Helen- and the food (Filet Mignon & crab cake for me; salmon for my husband)was outstanding. There was also a very talented piano player offering... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MBHull
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here on Father's Day and the meal was excellent. Service was excellent. The ambiance was wonderful. The restaurant is located inside the historic Virginia Hotel on Jackson Street in Cape May. If you have a special occasion, this si a great place to celebrate it.

Helpful?
Thank Marie G
new york city
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstanding retaurant in cape may, upscale, beautiful dining room, service was impeccable, food was fresh and well prepared, cocktails were well made. I would say it is one of the best restaurants in cape may, and that's saying allot, the restaurant scene in cape may is outstanding. Seared tuna was amazing, scallop appetizer equally good.

Helpful?
Thank jsrco
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dear jsrco, Thank you so much for the positive review! It is so rewarding to see that the food and cocktails hit the spot, and I'm especially pleased to see that the service was memorable. I'll be sure to pass along your thoughts and comments to our culinary team--they work hard every day, and I know that they'll appreciate the... More 

Lumberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been to the Ebbit Room many times and always enjoyed our meals. This time we were very disappointed. I started with the lobster caesar salad. The lettuce was warm and wilted and the dressing tasteless. Next came the Strip steak which was served cold and also lacked flavor. My partner had the soup of the day which was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank IluvSIC
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dear IluvSIC, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept my apologies for your poor dining experience. Cold entrees are never acceptable, and I'm sorry if we were not quick to offer replacements. I was surprised to see that the lettuce was wilted--our lettuce comes from our very own farm and is typically picked the day... More 

Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there on Saturday evening, July 2nd. It was an awful experience. Arrived 1/2 hour before our reservation for a drink on the porch. Waited 25 mins. for drinks. 1 person working the porch on a Saturday nite during the busiest weekend of the year? Courses came out on top of each other-our appetizer plates had not been cleared because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dear Karen T, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept my apologies for the poor experience you endured this past holiday weekend. It is always our intention to provide delicious food in a comfortable environment with attentive service, and it seems we missed the mark on all three accounts. I completely understand your frustration and disappointment--I can... More 

Falls Church
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a pre-theatre menu (3 courses). I have nothing to say but avoid the entire experience. The food was beyond average to below. We had a salad followed by salmon followed by dessert (I did ice cream...he did brûlée). A complete waste of calories. Only upside was the garden eating area; however, the canapé needed a serious good cleaning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ovenia1971
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dear Ovenia1971, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here at the Ebbitt Room. We are always eager to correct our mistakes and remake items if they are not cooked to satisfaction, but I'm sorry if that was not the case when you dined with us. The salad you mention features fresh ingredients from... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So we have gone to this restaurant before and the food was very good but on this visit I must say that I was extremely disappointed with the portion size of the flounder that I had. If there was more than 2oz of fish I would be shocked. If I didn't have some of my wife's chicken (which was delicious)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ira S
JordanRowan, General Manager at Ebbitt Room, responded to this review

Dear Ira S, Please accept our apologies for the portion size of the flounder. Our chef has assured me that we are careful to measure out a 6 oz. portion for each entree, but we clearly made a mistake during your dinner and failed to live up to our standards. I'm very glad to hear that the chicken entree was... More 

Travelers who viewed Ebbitt Room also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Ebbitt Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$31 - $50
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Vegetarian, American, Seafood
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Valet Parking, Private Dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Jackson St, Virginia Hotel, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
    (Carpenter's & Beach Drive)
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Jersey Shore  >  Cape May County  >  Cape May
  • Phone Number: +1 609-884-5700
Description
Dine at Cape May’s Favorite Seaside Restaurant - Rediscover the newly renovated and re-imagined the Ebbitt Room restaurant located in the heart of the historic district in Cape May. Executive Chef Anthony Micari hones a Farm-to-Table, Farm-to-Glass philosophy featuring the freshest ingredients from our very own Beach Plum Farm. Be delighted by a dining experience where artisanal cocktails, farm-fresh classic American cuisine and a sophisticated, yet casual vibe create the perfect setting for a new Cape May tradition.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ebbitt Room and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Bahama
2 months ago
Avalon, New Jersey
Red Bank, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ebbitt Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?