We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Wellington Room

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
67 Bow St, 2nd Floor, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3858
+1 603-431-2989
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Wed - Sun 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
323 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great evening with friends. The service was good, Joshua was very sweet and efficient. The Statler Chicken was delicious. The Chocolate Mousse was incredible, I left wanting more. The special drink of the evening, Maple Bourbon Expresso Martini was excellent. The restaurant is on the second floor overlooking the river. There are only about 8 or 9 tables,... More 

Thank Kay S
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Wellington Room has new owners and unfortunately they also have new chefs. The beef Wellington, which was the focus of menu, is no longer a point of interest. What should be a puff pastry surrounding the filet, is now a flat, heavy, piece of dough. It seemed like it wasn't cooked it was so doughy. I knew as soon... More 

1 Thank MaryE6477
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

You will want a reservation. This is an extremely small establishment. My husband and I thought the food was extraordinary. He had gnocchi. I had salmon. Remarkable. Another guest with us, however, also had the gnocchi and thought it was dreadful. Different tastebuds. For dessert, we both had creme brulee - for the first time. A shame our first was... More 

Thank Mrs Andrew C
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This had been one of our favorite restaurants whenever we visited Portsmouth. Unfortunately, the restaurant is now under new management and the quality of the meals has declined considerably. My first entree had to be returned because it was tough and tasteless. They replaced it with another entry that was undercooked and had to be sent back only to be... More 

4 Thank travelreviews67
WELLINGTON-ROOM, Owner at Wellington Room, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Robinson, let me take this opportunity to express how deeply concerned I am about your experience. However I would also like to take this opportunity in reminding you about the unacceptable manner in which you behaved. Firstly you told my New Manager to "wait wait wait" three times after he offered to take your coat. You emphatically asked... More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016

This wonderful, small restaurant has been one of our favorites for years. Ownership just changed, but it's still wonderful. Food is well prepared and portions fair. Quiet atmosphere, amazing view of the river. Stadler Chicken is my favorite.

Thank Tim L
Tenants Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016

The Wellington Room offers a true dining experience. This is evident from the moment you walk into the small upstairs space overlooking the river. You are made welcome by the owner who sees to your wine choice forthwith and is only too happy to explain the specials. We opted to split the crab cake appetizer which was delicious and a... More 

1 Thank John R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was just lovely from start to end. The owner and her brother both work at the restaurant, are very personable and wonderful to chat with. The ambiance is small, classy, private, intimate. Dinner was delicious from the first bite to the last. We went there for an anniversary dinner, and they made it caring, friendly and special.

Thank pearlbensur
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Went for our anniversary dinner. Even though we called that morning they were able to fit us in and we still had an excellent table with a great view of the Piscatauqua river. Started with heirloom salad with English pea pesto. It was outstanding. I had the seared scallops and my husband had the flat iron steak. Both were cooked... More 

1 Thank DollysDaughter_27
Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I came here after my TA research. We came on a Friday night and made reservations. After reviewing this place I reserved the beef wellington which is only served on Friday night on a first come first reserved basis. We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated immediately as there were only 4 or so tables seated... More 

Thank Str8frwd
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2016

All six of us tried different entries and loved every bite. Sit at the bar if you like to chat with locals. The wait staff were professional, knowledgeable and super friendly. We will return!

1 Thank Jane C

Travelers who viewed Wellington Room also viewed


Been to Wellington Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$25 - $45
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout
Good for
Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 Bow St, 2nd Floor, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3858
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 603-431-2989
World Cuisine served in a small romantic setting with Stunning River Views.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wellington Room and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Chichester, United Kingdom
Boston, Massachusetts
7 months ago
Maricopa, Arizona
Windham, New Hampshire
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wellington Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?