We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $25
CUISINES
American, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
347
245
94
22
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
347
245
94
22
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salad fries mussels wings chicken goat cheese sriracha apps hostess valley
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 23, 2024

This restaurant is great! My daughter and I stopped in for lunch on a 'girls shopping spree' and we delighted with our meals. I had the beef and barley soup that was excellent. My daughter loved the clam chowder so much she wouldn't even give...me a spoonful to try! We shared a beet and bleu cheese salad with a maple vinaigrette dressing that was one of the best salads I've ever had. The waitstaff is delightful, too. Prices are not bad at all. We will go back next time we're in town.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

We love reading reviews like this. Black Cap is where family and friends come together to enjoy tasty food served by friendly servers. Please come again!

Reviewed January 15, 2024 via mobile

Stays the excellent course, never disappointed with the food, drink and service here. The pistachio encrusted salmon was perfect as usual. Can’t wait to try the new melted goat cheese appetizer, next time when we come for drinks and apps. Seared scallops were sweet and...perfectly cooked. Portions are ample and we had leftovers.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Guests love our seafood including the pistachio encrusted salmon and our scallop entree. Appreciate your kind words and five star review. Please come again.

Reviewed December 5, 2023 via mobile

The staff was Very courteous and friendly. We did take out and ate in also. We ordered Mussels which were delicious and a beer. Later we did take out and it was as advertised a great choice. Would recommend this place. It is located right...near the shopping plaza and tons of of outlets, great location near many places to stay.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Our location at Settlers Green makes it convenient to shop and dine. Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed November 14, 2023

Both the service and food were great! It was quit busy and our waiter, Steven, provided exceptional service, even though he was extremely busy. The food was delicious. I had the bet salad with crisp seared salmon and it was a delight...I polished off every...morsel. My husband had duck and thoroughly enjoyed his as well. We have previously eaten here are are always happy to return. We think it's the best restaurant in North Conway!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2023

It's an honor to be considered the best restaurant in North Conway by you. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful dining experience.

Reviewed October 8, 2023

Were looking for a spot to eat as online reviews and descriptions left us unsure. Past by the door when shopping in a nearby store and said lets try this place. So made a reservation and ended up having one of the best steaks in...a long time. Service was prompt and friendly. General environment was pleasant without excessive noise and would certainly return when next in North Conway.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

Thank you for giving us a chance when you were searching for a place to eat in North Conway. Chef Peter surely knows how to source only the best steaks for Black Cap guests, and how to prepare them perfectly.

Reviewed October 5, 2023 via mobile

friendly hostess cute restaurant sat down ordered drinks and apps when to spread out plates and one plate was never washed. crud spilled out onto table and napkins that were put on top. asked for another and hinted at crud on table. got new plates...husband spread them out bone was not cleaned again!!!!!!! had to tell waiter to clean table. no apologies no manager poor service after food was average at best sad first meal here in NCMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

Thank you for your feedback, and we appreciate your positive mention of our friendly hostess and the ambiance of our restaurant. However, we're truly sorry to hear about the issue you encountered during your visit. We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness...More

Reviewed October 4, 2023

I found this restaurant while I was researching places my husband and I could go for dinner during our anniversary trip to NH. The menu looked great, and so we chose BCG. Overall, quite disappointing, but I’ll separate it into pros/cons: Pros: cozy atmosphere, polite...waitstaff, prompt service. Cons: food quality is mediocre, price point is way too high for what is served. We both ordered the sirloin and asked for it cooked rare. A photo is attached of what we were given. The steak was extremely tough to cut, not tender whatsoever, and very over cooked. The waitress did offer to have it sent back and recooked, but we just opted to finish it and not wait the extra time, since we had somewhere to be after dinner. I have most definitely had better steak at Applebees for a fraction of the price (the steak entree is $33). We also ordered a “goat cheese” appetizer which was essentially a crock of melted Brie. I love Brie so I found that it was actually pretty good, but my husband didn’t like it and we felt that it was misleading. In all, we spent $120, which included one drink for each of us, an app, and two entrees. While I would have no problem paying that amount if the food actually was good quality, it wasn’t, and we left feeling like there was a lot to be desired. I really just wouldn’t recommend this place, all things considered.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

Thank you for sharing your anniversary dinner experience at Black Cap Grille. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that your meal didn't meet your expectations. Your comments about the food quality and price point have been noted, and we will use them...More

Reviewed September 15, 2023 via mobile

Worst burger I have ever had. Medium came out raw. Bun was GF and up charged 2.50 yet was literally dripping. No exaggeration. This was A birthday dinner where I called ahead and our service was horrible. Had to ask for water refills twice and...no offer to replace drinks ordered…for a 21st birthday??? Huge miss - will never return. Also Salmon - and 12 Green beans: 29.00More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing dining experience. The issues with the burger, bun, and service are not at all reflective of the standards we aim to provide. We apologize for falling short on a special occasion like a 21st birthday. Your feedback...More

Reviewed August 14, 2023 via mobile

All 5 of us agreed this was a delicious meal. I had the steak which was cooked to perfection and tender and loaded with flavor. The burgers were also delicious. The beet and goat salad was a hit as well. Very good server. Highly recommend...this restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

Thank you for your five star review!

Reviewed August 10, 2023

Great food, atmosphere and service. We loved our drinks and food. American but elevated. Our server was very friendly. Recommend eating here.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2023

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you loved our food, atmosphere, and service. It's fantastic that you enjoyed our elevated American cuisine and found our server to be very friendly. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you...More

Reviewed June 12, 2023

This restaurant is very good for burgers and fries. When we went it was only open between 5-9 pm and you had to wait outside after you gave your name and telephone number and they would then call you.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2023

We do not offer reservations. We are open noon to nine daily. We do offer a text alert if you want to go walk around while you wait for your table if there is a wait.

Reviewed June 11, 2023 via mobile

We stop in a few times a year and always good. Had an Apple + Goat salad with salmon and the 2569’ which is a Reuben style sandwich this trip. Service always friendly, our waitress was on double duty as bartender and still nailed it....Pretty interior and pleasant outdoor space despite being in a small strip style mall. Hostess was busy on this Saturday afternoon but acknowledged everyone promptly..3 TVs in bar area..Just right..More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2023

So glad your servers were on top of it all during your stay. They are the best.

Reviewed April 13, 2023 via mobile

Long time customer and last time customer. My wife and I have been coming here to eat for years with our dog. We decided to come here again today for lunch. Things started great. The server was great and we ordered a Margarita and Maple...Ade, both great. That is where the visit took a turn. We got our food, the wife got a burger and I got the Black Sea Bass. We are not typically ones to complain much as my wife is also in the restaurant industry, but this time set me off. My fish had bones in every bite, I did eat a good deal of it hoping to not get any more bones but I lined them up on the plate (about 8). The server took the plate back and returned embarrassed to deliver the Chef's response...."It's fish, we do our best. He ate most of it, the piece he didn't eat won't have any bones." They offered us a desert which I respectfully declined, we paid for our bill, and went across to the road so I could get a burger myself. With that response I thought we were being pranked or something. I have been eating fish for over 40 years and yes you make get an occasional missed bone but not one in every bite. If that is your best, then just take fish off your menu before you send someone to the hospital and at least have some tact and professionalism. The waitress did ask if we would like to talk to the Chef, but given that response, we knew it would not be a fruitful conversation so we politely declined that offer as well.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2023

I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We always encourage guests to bring up any concerns with their server. Despite doing this you did not get a satisfactory response. I will discuss this situation with the manager. Thank you for sharing your input.

Reviewed February 5, 2023 via mobile

After catching up with old friends on the slopes for a day, my party and I had dinner plans together. Wow what a poor decision to pick this dump. The worst service I had ever received in my life. Food is pretty terrible also. They...try to present this place as upscale and a nicer place to dine but I have had better meals at the common man rest stop on the way up to the mountains. Food and service stink!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 25, 2023

solid for drinks and appetizers at the bar. Wings are superb. good beer selection. bar was clean and menu looked good

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Willliams, Owner at Black Cap Grille, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2023

Thanks for your five dot review! So glad you enjoyed drinks and apps at the bar - it's one of the best ways to enjoy Black Cap Grille!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Home2 Suites by Hilton North Conway
73 reviews
.11 miles away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
838 reviews
.18 miles away
Quality Inn
284 reviews
.26 miles away
North Conway Grand Hotel
2,098 reviews
.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Big Dave's Bagels & Deli
237 reviews
.34 miles away
Fire by Wicked Fresh
197 reviews
.60 miles away
Barley and Salt
320 reviews
.47 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Settlers Green
453 reviews
.31 miles away
M&D at Eastern Slope Inn Playhouse
30 reviews
.85 miles away
Mystery NH
40 reviews
.21 miles away
The SoakingPot
15 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
carissaandpenny
October 16, 2019|
Answer
Response from 468davec | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if the patio is open today. It has been very windy the last two days.
0
Votes
scriby
September 30, 2016|
Answer
Response from L9393NIrobertm | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea.
0
Votes
Monica S
August 25, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from mdeveau1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BLACK CAP GRILLE, North Conway - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Black Cap Grille

Black Cap Grille is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4