We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $25
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
134
86
40
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
134
86
40
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger oysters exeter inn breakfast and dinner dining room entrees
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 30, 2020

Although near by, I've stayed at the Inn a few times during power outages. Lovely and well maintained "historic" building. Epoch Restaurant serves delicious food with a lovely presentation. Menu changes periodically so there's always something new. Portions are large (especially the burger!). Worth every...penny we spent there every time. We frequent this restaurant routinely. The bar has some nice specials on food.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 1, 2019 via mobile

Everything is great,food is very tasty and the personal is one of a kind. Enjoy the menu Even the desert is great

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such kind feedback! I will be sure to share your review with our entire team! I hope you have a wonderful holiday season and please come back and dine with us again soon!

Reviewed November 29, 2019 via mobile

We made reservations for their thanksgiving buffet based on past dinner experience with this Inn’s restaurant. It was close to the end of the event and with a sparsely populated dining room the hostess proceeded to walk us the the back of the dining area...to seat us at a table near the kitchen entrance. When I said we prefer one of the booths we past on our walk through the dining room, she said of course we could change. Now in our preferred seats, we waited a long time without any acknowledgement from any staff, so we flagged a manager and she started to take care of us until our waitress showed up and her attitude, professionalism, service and attention was exceptional. Unfortunately most of the food was cold or luke warm at best, the turkey was dry and the beef had way too much grizzle and it would have been nice to have a bit of horseradish to compliment the beef. The smoked salmon was nice, but there was no sour cream or and such condiment to go with it. The shrimp was ok, but the cocktail sauce was empty and we had to wait for it to be replenished. As for the oysters, they were piled on top of each other and I did not want a room temp oyster, so I had to dig for the cold ones sitting on the ice. Even so, I was only brave enough to try three and one of them was off. When it was time for our dessert we ordered coffee and cappuccino and I went over to the desert buffet to find all the desserts put away, save for a few brownies. The women was very apologetics and did bring back out some of the deserts. The coffee was not very hot but the cappuccino was nice. Obviously, they have a lot of work to do if they care to get back to the quality experience we once enjoyed at the Exeter Inn and we hope they are successful in getting back what they have lost.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

I am certainly disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your experience here with us on Thanksgiving. Our entire team worked tirelessly to ensure every guest had a truly memorable experience but we clearly did not live up to either yours or our own expectations...More

Reviewed November 16, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had breakfast and dinner at Epoch. We thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The breakfast was amazing. I wish we had eaten breakfast there before our last morning.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

It was a pleasure to have you stay and dine with us! I am obviously pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Epoch. Next time we will be happy to serve you breakfast both mornings! Happy holidays!

Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

We ate here for dinner and breakfast. Fairly fast and definitely friendly service. Fairly priced as well. Good food.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

I truly appreciate your kind words! I will be sure to share them with our entire staff as this type of positive feedback is invaluable. Happy holidays and please come back and dine with us again soon!

Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

You never know about the service not quality of food. Stick to the basics. Decor is dated. Could be a fantastic venue.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?1  
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us with important feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience so feedback such as yours in invaluable. I hope to see you back at the restaurant soon!

Reviewed July 29, 2019

With a group of eight people, we were seated in the back room of the restaurant where we waited to be served. Drinks came slowly. I found the menu to be very limited... only a few choices of healthy lighter entrees. The clam chowder soup...tasted good but its richness and salt did not sit well with me.I wound up having a burger which was just okay. We all waited for a long time for food to come and we had to ask for bread and butter to be served. I think our waitress was very young and not trained very well. We had brought cupcakes to be served as part of a birthday celebration. The server brought the cupcakes without any plates to serve them on AND she or bus people had not even cleared the table from entrees when the cupcakes were brought.It was embarrassing for our host and hostess. I think that when a group spends so much money at an establishment no matter where they are seated, service should be excellent. It was like our waitress had no training. Sorry to write such a negative review. I might go to have a drink at the bar which is very cozy but never again for dinner.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with important feedback. Our entire team strives to provide each guest with an exceptional experience and I am certainly disappointed we fell short of that goal with you. We work tirelessly to ensure our team...More

Reviewed June 26, 2019

We were a little concerned about some of that poor reviews Epoch had recieved in 2018, but last week we made reservations with good friends to eat dinner there. It is obvious changes have been made (for the better). Our service was prompt and friendly....All of our appetizers and meals were plate cleaning excellent. The environment was pleasent and not noisey. kudos to the manangement and staff for making necessary adjustments over the past few months. We had a wonderful night and great dining experience.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guests! I am certainly pleased to read you enjoyed your experience with us! Our entire team works tirelessly to ensure each guest has a memorable dining experience and I'm glad we were able to provide that...More

Reviewed June 18, 2019

After a long, difficult drive we ordered one of each starter and a few cocktails. Everything was excellent and it really turned our day around. The service was a little slow, perhaps because our waitress was training someone. But the staff was very friendly and...the food was delicious. And their take on a traditional rice krispie treat was a great way to end a really tasty meal. (Think creme anglaise and chocolate granache.)More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to provide us with such kind feedback! I am thrilled to read we were able to help you relax after a long drive! Please come back and enjoy the Rice Crispy Treat again soon!

Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

The Epoch has the nicest breakfast at an affordable price. When in Exeter we always make this restaurant one of our breakfast stops.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Derek H, General Manager at Epoch Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. As always, it is a pleasure to have you dine with us. Please come back and visit with us again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Exeter Inn
317 reviews
.01 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
830 reviews
.95 miles away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
242 reviews
1.42 miles away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Hampton Portsmouth
35 reviews
5.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Moon Evolution
338 reviews
.50 miles away
Green Bean On Water
223 reviews
.54 miles away
Me and Ollie's Cafe
114 reviews
.50 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Swasey Parkway
58 reviews
.52 miles away
American Independence Museum
50 reviews
.39 miles away
Phillips Exeter Academy
38 reviews
.32 miles away
Phillips Exeter Trail
31 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TK1954
May 30, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from kgraves28 | Reviewed this property |
Good but avoid the bartender who looks and acts like an off duty witch minus the witch hat
0
Votes
carolynmm1
December 2, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jo Ann M | Reviewed this property |
Do a Google search for the Exeter Inn. Scroll to the bottom of their home page, and you'll see "MENU."
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing