We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
+1 816-746-4848
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time try on Valentines Day for a special dinner.Atmosphere was very nice and quaint. Large menu with unique selections as well as "Tex Mex" regular items. High quality home made food! Well worth the visit, I will return!

Helpful?
Thank Buttoneater
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Happy we could make Valentine's Day special for you - always a treat to hear from a new customer and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious, authentic, Mexican cuisine. We have been there several times and tried something different each time. Each time we have been impressed!

Helpful?
Thank jprohaska
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

So glad you come in to see us and that we continue to delight your taste buds! Yo know we love to make recommendations. See you again soon! More 

Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in for lunch, it is a small restaurant but nice and clean. Seating was not an issue even though there were several patrons. The service was the reason I did not go 5 stars. One guy trying to work the entire area and he struggled. My order was not correct but I ate it anyway. The food tasted great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wade R
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in and for the feedback - being short staffed is a struggle. We apologize for that inconvenience (and for you receiving the wrong order!) but are so glad you enjoyed your food. We are authentic and are glad that that part was a pleasure to you. Please join us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Really good food. This is not a "Tex Mex" restaurant. So many great choices. I lot of vegetation and meat options.

Helpful?
Thank Libbyyo
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Glad that you came in and enjoyed! We love it when our customers mention the fact that we aren't a typical Tex-Mex place - we are authentic (although we will do a tex-mex option of course). Our menu is very diverse and we are glad people notice and can find what they want here. Please come back soon. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Only my 2nd time here. Brought out of town friends and really enjoyed the food and company. Small restaurant, so come early or plan ahead. Very authentic Mexican Food.

Helpful?
Thank Mdaddy46
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we do fill up fast so your tip about coming early is appreciated! Come back soon and be sure to check out our social media pages to keep up with promotions, etc. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2016

If you're looking for tex-mex this is the wrong place. Since our family enjoys actual Mexican food, we are big fans. We've never had a bad meal.

Helpful?
Thank DJRKC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2016

Four adult and a ten-year old enjoyed this restaurant. Service was good. Food was tasty and piping hot!

Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in and for the feedback - always a pleasure! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

Is ok, i dont know if things have changed but it used to be a lot better. The service is good, i just believe the food used to be a lot better.

Helpful?
Thank JorgeKC
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you just thought it was ok - we would like to know more information as we are here to improve where needed! Let us know! More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

Given the reviews, we expected more from this place...and perhaps that is what led to a certain disappointment. The chips were cold...the salsa bland...the guacamole a tad tired. There was nothing wrong with any of it...just not the excellence that can lift a meal into something special. We love Mexican food, and in the end, best to stick to basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Osito61
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't think we measured up - although you didn't mention what entrees you ordered. As far as the items you did mention, those are basic tex-mex items - we are known for our more authentic dishes and would love to recommend one of those to you if you decide to try us again. Thank you... More 

Holden, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

The temp. Outside was hot , the temp inside was nearly the same. When I complained, 10 minutes later someone adjusted the thermostat. about the time it cooled down, they readjusted the thermostat.I checked, they adjusted it to 86 degrees. one waitress was working the entire floor, when the food arrived, it was cold and the order was wrong. what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Occasionally we have a staff member that can't come in and we do get short staffed. Your order was immediately corrected and I hope that you told the manager about the thermostat issue. We apologize for that inconvenience - we try to keep everyone happy and it doesn't always work out that way. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $15
Cuisine
Mexican
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Kansas City
  • Phone Number: +1 816-746-4848

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?