We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
+1 816-746-4848
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four adult and a ten-year old enjoyed this restaurant. Service was good. Food was tasty and piping hot!

Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in and for the feedback - always a pleasure! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2016

Is ok, i dont know if things have changed but it used to be a lot better. The service is good, i just believe the food used to be a lot better.

Helpful?
Thank JorgeKC
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you just thought it was ok - we would like to know more information as we are here to improve where needed! Let us know! More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

Given the reviews, we expected more from this place...and perhaps that is what led to a certain disappointment. The chips were cold...the salsa bland...the guacamole a tad tired. There was nothing wrong with any of it...just not the excellence that can lift a meal into something special. We love Mexican food, and in the end, best to stick to basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Osito61
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't think we measured up - although you didn't mention what entrees you ordered. As far as the items you did mention, those are basic tex-mex items - we are known for our more authentic dishes and would love to recommend one of those to you if you decide to try us again. Thank you... More 

Holden, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

The temp. Outside was hot , the temp inside was nearly the same. When I complained, 10 minutes later someone adjusted the thermostat. about the time it cooled down, they readjusted the thermostat.I checked, they adjusted it to 86 degrees. one waitress was working the entire floor, when the food arrived, it was cold and the order was wrong. what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Occasionally we have a staff member that can't come in and we do get short staffed. Your order was immediately corrected and I hope that you told the manager about the thermostat issue. We apologize for that inconvenience - we try to keep everyone happy and it doesn't always work out that way. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Good food, OK salsa and chips. Nothing amazing or eye rolling but good mexican. Service a little slow, but the waitress took care of us.

Helpful?
Thank RVoilers
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback but now hope you will come in and ask for a personal recommendation so that we can attempt to amaze you! Let us know! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

I had been hearing good things about this restaurant. We have already tried to eat here once for dinner and it was too long of a wait- it is a very small restaurant. Today, we were very happy when we were only the 2nd table seated for lunch. The chips and salsa were amazing. All was well until we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

I apologize for the waiter not returning and will discuss this at our next staff meeting. If you do decide to come back, please allow me to offer a personal recommendation to you for some more authentic cuisine - that's our real specialty and I would love to show you. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2016

We love everything about Ixtapa! The food, Margaritas are amazing, the family that owns it is always over the top friendly and helpful and your supporting a small business all in one.

Helpful?
Thank mmeier82
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to see you! See you soon! More 

Midwest
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2016

We have dined at this restaurant often over the years. Location is good as it is located across the street from the entrance to Zona Rosa on Barry Road. I have had excellent meals at times, while other times the food is just average. Service is good. Restaurant is clean and inviting.

Helpful?
Thank ATravelerMidwest
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

We appreciate your continued patronage and only strive to get better each time you come in! Please let us know what we can do for you when you are here. More 

Inverness, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2016

This is not a Mexican-American restaurant. From what I understand this is typical West Mexico cuisine. We live near Chicago and have Frontera Grill as kind of a standard for authentic Mexican food, and Ixtapa is truly comparable. When your salsa and chips arrive, ask for hotter sauce if you want it. Luis was our server and he is so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri M
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us and for the feedback! We love serving our Authentic Cuisine and we love sharing our passion for our menu. So glad to have a customer like you who will continue to come in during visits - we look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
184 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Food was ample and good. Service was good. Salsa was rather bland. Some dishes had heat, but others were blandish. I'll pick somewhere else next time.

Helpful?
Thank David H
Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

So glad that you came in and enjoyed at least some of your selections. If you decide to come back, please let us give you a personal recommendation so that you can get the bland out of your thoughts about us! Hope to see you again. Thank you! More 

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $15
Cuisine
Mexican
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Kansas City
  • Phone Number: +1 816-746-4848

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?