We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melting Pot

450 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2101
+1 816-931-6358
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“cheese fondue” (38 reviews)
“salad” (46 reviews)
Closed Now
Swiss, American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
450 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2101
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

21 - 30 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

It took over 2 hours to be served lunch. Our waiter was inattentive and only had one other table. The food is expensive for small portions. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Thank corpokathryn
Management response:Responded September 5, 2017

Hello! We are terribly sorry that your last experience wasn't a satisfying one. Is there a chance that you could reach out to valerie.mp@tds.net? We would love to dive further into what went on and find a way to correct any occurrences. Thank you!

Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

I wanted to give 5 stars but there were a few things that deserved lower rating. Lots of open tables but a 20 minute wait, slow service, and the rip off $45 4 course meal. The rip off occurs when you have to "agree" on...More

Thank Geepsmom
Management response:Responded August 7, 2017

Hello, thank you for your review of our establishment. We pride ourselves in providing a real family style fondue experience mirroring the original Swiss Fondue. Our establishment definitely entails a very different shared experience that we hope you enjoyed enough to try again. Thank you...More

Reviewed July 29, 2017

We love the Melting Pot, but our most recent visit has us worried this place is headed in the wrong direction. First, they sat us at a table that hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. We were moved to a "clean" table, but there were sticky spots...More

Thank Midwestroadtrip
Management response:Responded August 1, 2017

Hello, thank you for your honest review of your last experience. It sounds like there are a few things our team could take from this and we will be sure to pay closer attention to the small details. We apologize that this was not the...More

Reviewed July 26, 2017

I seldom rate a restaurant excellent - but this is certainly one of them. Yes, it is pricey, if you are not careful, but the choices are excellent - a wide array of cheese fondues (or make your own), salad, a wide array of entrees...More

Thank Moodman
Management response:Responded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review! Our team is extremely pleased to know you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to make a lasting impression on our guests and hope to continue to do this in the near future.

Reviewed July 25, 2017

My husband and I ate at the Melting Pot for our anniversary. We both ordered the 4-course option. The issues I had were mostly because I'm a picky eater. I don't like the taste of beer and a decent amount of the cheese options included...More

Thank Ann E
Management response:Responded July 29, 2017

Thank you Ann for letting us know how your experience went! In the future, if you ever want a cheese made without beer, we would be happy to make that accommodation for you as well. We want you to have full availability to taste anything...More

Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Been going to various MP's for over 20 years, even worked at one for 11 years as server, bartender and manager. Food quality wise, all was fine, and the restaurant itself was beautiful... but the server (Travis) was probably the worst I've ever had at...More

Thank 417conessoiur
Management response:Responded July 24, 2017

Mike, thank you for giving us your honest opinion of the experience you had in our establishment the other night. We apologize that we did not meet the correct standards of service and will be diving into what occurred during your visit so we may...More

Reviewed June 19, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday and we both really enjoyed it. We split one meal and had more than enough to eat. I honestly don't know how anyone could eat all of that by themselves. We both ate too much off of...More

Thank Adam H
Management response:Responded June 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you had such a great experience and we hope to see you all visit again soon.

Reviewed June 14, 2017

We've been to several Melting Pots and enjoy the food each time. The Kansas City location probably had the least engaged service of any we've been to. I had made reservations two weeks in advance, and when we arrived they weren't ready for us. We...More

Thank Sarah F
Management response:Responded June 15, 2017

Sarah, thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize that the service did not meet your standards during your visit. We would love the chance to try again to show you that our team can give you the experience you deserve.

Reviewed June 12, 2017

We enjoyed the brie and bacon cheese fondue during Reverse Happy Hour (9 p.m.+). Although the chocolate fondues are discounted during this time, the cheese fondues aren't. The fondue was prepared at our table and served with apple wedges, veggies and pretzel and French bread....More

Thank jtanda17
Management response:Responded June 14, 2017

John, we are happy you could join us for reverse Happy Hour! Our team would be pleased if you could join us for our normal Happy Hour where your cheese course may be discounted as well. We serve Happy Hour everyday from open to 6...More

Reviewed May 29, 2017

We stopped in during happy hour without a reservation and bar seating was offered as an option. We had a very enjoyable meal. Our server/bar tender couldn't have been more helpful. She explained all the menu options and offered wonderful suggestions. We had a great...More

Thank Europelover2014
Management response:Responded May 30, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our location! We are pleased you had such a pleasant visit. Hopefully you will be able to dine with us soon!

Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Kansas City
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1,650 reviews
.07 miles away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
912 reviews
.10 miles away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
771 reviews
.22 miles away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
262 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Gram & Dun
827 reviews
.06 miles away
The Capital Grille
643 reviews
.12 miles away
Seasons 52
534 reviews
.09 miles away
BRIO Tuscan Grille
403 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
2,661 reviews
.72 miles away
The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden
225 reviews
.76 miles away
The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures
211 reviews
.86 miles away
J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain
147 reviews
.48 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
January 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MeltingPotTeam | Property representative |
Hello, the roof top of the parking garage unfortunately does not have an elevator, only stairs. Our restaurant does have our own personal elevator at ground level though. Hope this helps!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$40 - $60
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Open Hours
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 450 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2101
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Kansas City
  • Phone Number: +1 816-931-6358
  • E-mail
The Melting Pot is the original fondue restaurant where guests can enjoy several fondue cooking styles and a variety of unique entrees, salads, and unforgettable desserts. But we’re more than just a restaurant; we’re a unique destination offering a dining experience unlike any other. Our fondue restaurant is perfect for the everyday occasion, from a night out with friends or a romantic dinner with your special someone to a promotion celebration with colleagues. Enjoy a wide range of seasonal and fixed menu items, and you choose the way you want it all. Of course what’s delicious food without a selection of wines and craft beers to really make it great? No matter what the occasion or how many courses you choose to partake in, The Melting Pot provides an unforgettable, interactive dining experience that turns moments into memories. From the time the first piece of bread is dipped to when the last nibble of dessert is savored, you'll have the time to discover new things about people you thought you knew, and those you're getting to know.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing