We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hare and Hounds

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Golborne Road | Lowton, Leigh WA32DP, England
01942 728 387
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017

We went here today for dinner, food was lovely and piping hot, service was good, a great little pub for all ages, it's under new management and they are a lovely couple, very friendly made you feel very welcome, will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank carolstokes97
Lowton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2017

This establishment may be doing well on the food, but I was disappointed to be told when I called in for a beer that in spite of the six hand pumps, there was no real ale on draught.

Helpful?
Thank John26lowton
General Manager A, Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Hi John26lowton, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Hare & Hounds, Lowton take our reviews very seriously. This has been the first time this has happened due to a break down in equipment and I can only apologise you were disappointed . We do stock 6 varieties of bottled cask . kind regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

amazing food, great atmosphere & very welcoming staff, new managers done good would definitely be visiting more often.

Helpful?
Thank jackjameswilliam
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you, Jackjameswilliam, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We always love to receive great feedback. Hope to see you again soon . Team hare and hounds . More 

1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2016

After hearing about the new menu we decided to give this little pub another go and I can honestly say the new managers are doing wonders for the place. Ordered some bbq wings which I would highly recommend they were amazing! We also got the all American plate and half a roast chicken both came hot and full of flavour.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Hi Sarah M , Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such great feedback !! We are glad you enjoyed your visit , and we do hope to see you again soon . Kind Regards Team Hare & Hounds More 

1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Went Friday night with friends Amazing friendly staff and food was gorgeous!! Deffo go back well done laura and your brilliant team xx

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Lisa C, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Hare & Hounds, Lowton. We always love to receive great feedback. We hope to see you again soon . More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Went last night for a late last minute tea around 8pm. Ordered 3 steak dishes and 3 drinks for less than £35. The food was great and cooked perfectly and the staff were brilliant. There was a great atmosphere in the pub, would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Linzcos
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Linzcos, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We always love to receive great feedback. Hope to see you again very soon. More 

Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

We were invited for the pre launch night , and I have to say it was brilliant . The food is so much more better now , it was really tasty ! There was 8 of us who all dined and we all cleaned our plates . New manager has made such a massive difference already and it's so nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank susmith19
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Susmith19, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Hare & Hounds, Lowton. We always love to receive great feedback. We hope to see you again soon . More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

We came here after hearing nothing but greats things locally . We were definitely not disappointed , the new menu is absolutely fantastic . The place smells nice , it's clean and the car park especially clean . Used to come here but the previous management lost a lot of custom letting it go down the pan . So nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathrobbo23
General Manager A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Cathrobbo23. We always love to receive great feedback. We hope to see you again soon . More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

called in here a few times recently and the food has been great everytime definitely will be recomending to everyone

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Emma M. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2016

we went there recently for a meal and the service from the staff and laura and becki was second to none.Nothing was too much trouble and the food was cooked to perfection, a new menu is apparently about to be brought in so we will be going back to see how they can improve on what we think is already... More 

Helpful?
Thank pete b
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Pete B. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Hare & Hounds, Lowton. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Leigh, Greater Manchester
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Golborne Road | Lowton, Leigh WA32DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Leigh
  • Phone Number: 01942 728 387

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?