We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon

20A Leigh Road, Leigh WN7 1QR, England
+44 1942 685640
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (8 reviews)
“curry” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
DETAILS
20A Leigh Road, Leigh WN7 1QR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I'm sorry but never again visited this pub for many years, always championed it, good value food at affordable prices, I don't have five star expectations it's a budget restaurant what I would expect is their to be a table clean available to sit down...More

Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

called in for dinner my partner had all day brunch i had half peri peri chicken. very small chicken more like a budgie very dry and very few chips the brunch was the same overcooked sausages and few chips must have a potato shortage in...More

Thank stuartsutton77
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I often meet up with friends for lunch here and to be fair the food is usually OK at reasonable prices - never really had cause for complaint. However, I went in last week, again to meet with friends in their lunch hour - unfortunately...More

Thank I9343YIianc
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Apologies that we let you down on your last visit and left without getting served, I hope we can make it up to you on your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stereotypical wetherspoons pub, good value grub and often have some good guest beers at a good price

Thank Ian N
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

If your expectations arn't too high, you won't be disappointed. Smelliest toilets I've visited for a long time. A bit short of bar staff.More

Thank Isgoodereinit
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, sorry you didn't enjoy your visit we were a little busy over the weekend! We do check our toilets every hour to ensure they are in good condition, apologies if you caught them at a bad...More

Reviewed March 22, 2017

We eat here regularly, both snacks and larger meals. Food quality is good and always quickly served. Queries always dealt with politely and efficiently . The atmosphere is friendly and the main food area is away from the bar. Disabled access is provided inside but...More

Thank AnnMattWigan
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Ann Thank you for taking your time to give us such a lovely review, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed March 14, 2017

conversion that has been well done and without wetherspoons doing these transformations there would be a lot more derelict buildings on our streets-ale as always with spoons was well priced and spot on

Thank jeffhutchy
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Jeff Thank you for the review, when converting the buildings we do try and maintain some of the original character of the building, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

This pub has gone down hill the food is mediocre at best the food was either Burnt or cold I really wouldn't recommend this to anybody if you're going for something to eat avoid this pubMore

Thank sueandjohn1234
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi Sue & John Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, all feedback is important to us as it helps us improve our customers experience. We do checkbacks on food orders to try and ensure all our customers enjoy their meals, I can only...More

Reviewed February 13, 2017

You can't fault Wetherspoons for cheerfulness, good standards of food and great value. This is a nice tasteful restoration of a cinema and is well worth a visit.

Thank Paul L
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Paul, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Thomas Burke hope to welcome you again soon. kind regards Liam Mcintosh Duty Manager

Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

Three good quality meals with drinks for £30. This is a wheatherspoons pub so don't expect fancy or fine dining. It is however great value for money and a decent meal. Always very busy and a good pint on tap.

Thank John M
Thomas B, Manager at The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi John Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! Hope to see you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Perola Do Mar
184 reviews
.29 miles away
Sweet Little Things
141 reviews
.32 miles away
Koi Japanese Cuisine
134 reviews
.06 miles away
Smiths Bistro
56 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pennington Flash Country Park
226 reviews
1.09 miles away
Ena Mill
24 reviews
2.16 miles away
Cineworld, Leigh
102 reviews
.83 miles away
Atherton Escape Rooms
16 reviews
2.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Thomas Burke JD Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20A Leigh Road, Leigh WN7 1QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Leigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 685640