We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whistling Wren

$$ - $$$, British,
The Whistling Wren Turner Way | Leigh , Lancashire, Leigh WN7 4GX, England
+44 1942 601832
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“scampi” (5 reviews)
“marstons pub” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Whistling Wren Turner Way | Leigh , Lancashire, Leigh WN7 4GX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This is my local and normally eat here once a fortnight. I've just been for the first time since it was refurbished last week. We thought it was disappointing. It's usually quite busy with a good atmosphere but it was empty, quiet, quite dead! All...More

Thank Jackie J
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited on Sunday night - was very quiet as the rugby crowd had dissapeared. Was unaware the menu had changed but I think the changes are for the better. Had a half and half pizza - very tasty and would reccomend. The refurb and new...More

Thank Shooterkip
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your fantastic review!! We are happy to hear you love our new look as much as we do! I'll be sure to pass your great comments onto the team, they will love to hear how pleased you were with your visit. Be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit since the refurb. Really good service, food excellent and really good value. Love the refillable soft drinks, the Big Dipper sharer was great and the burgers (with extra cheese and jalapeños) superb!

Thank LeytherMatt
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for a fab review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and love the new refurb as much as we do! Be sure to like us on Facebook for all the upcoming offers and competitions. We will see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good place for young children as there is a little play area to keep them occupied while you enjoy your food. The menu is standard pub-grub and reasonably priced, nothing special but fine for a mid-week treat and keeps the kids happy....More

Thank pinkpanda409
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our visit with us. Be sure you like us on Facebook to keep update with all the upcoming offers and competitions! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit since the revamp and wasn't disappointed steak was excellent,all our food was great.wont be long till we will return.More

Thank lorraine f
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so glad to hear you love our new refurb as much as we do, make sure you spread the word! I'll be sure to pass your fantastic comments onto the team, it's great to hear their hard...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately the news about steak distribution had broken on the day we visited which must have had an adverse effect on quality of product. My partner's was reasonabe but mine was a bit of a disaster - tough and v well cooked despite order being...More

Thank W W
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear this about your steaks. I'm sure if you'd have mentioned at the time we would have been more than happy to swap your meal for you to ensure you left happy. We have now found...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with my family for a get together meal thrilled with the fantastic food ,and the staff are very pleasant nothing too much trouble will be going here again its great .

Thank Austin C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely lunch with my friends here. The 2 4 1 offer is a great deal and the food is lovely. Also you have to get a dessert, they are so good and big portions!

Thank y0ung_c0uple21
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your fantastic review! We can only agree our puddings are definetly tasty! I will pass you great comments onto the team, they love to hear them! We look toward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last month with my boyfriend. The staff were very helpful and the food was pretty good. The deserts were very nice. Although the steak was cooked wrong, but was offered free deserts and money off the bill. But would visit again.More

Thank Jj M
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad we did fix your issues you had with your steak. Although this doesn't happen very often we do try our best to ensure you leave happy. We agree our puddings are very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I have been here alot recently the food is standard pub fayre but great value for money. The place is very kid friendly and the staff have always been very accommodating. Will be back soon.

Thank Woodster554
Sophie T, Manager at The Whistling Wren, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review! I'll be sure to pass your great comments onto the team, they love to hear when their hard work is noticed! We can't wait to see you again soon.

PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Leigh Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
332 reviews
.18 miles away
The Greyhound Hotel
479 reviews
1.43 miles away
Chat Moss Hotel
27 reviews
2.24 miles away
Warrington Lowton
139 reviews
2.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Perola Do Mar
268 reviews
.55 miles away
The Robin Hood Bar & Restaurant
299 reviews
.72 miles away
Uncle Ste's Diner
25 reviews
.59 miles away
Nita's Nibbles
12 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Pennington Flash Country Park
264 reviews
.33 miles away
Cineworld, Leigh
116 reviews
.70 miles away
Leigh Sports Village
11 reviews
.10 miles away
BJ's Bingo
41 reviews
.57 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
denise321238
February 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sophie T | Property representative |
We open tomorrow, pop in and see us!
0
Votes
Kathryn K
March 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Lisa W | Reviewed this property |
Yes they were accommodating
0
Votes
Francis W
November 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sophie T | Property representative |
Yes full disabled access and toilet
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Whistling Wren Turner Way | Leigh , Lancashire, Leigh WN7 4GX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Leigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 601832
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing