We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

1 Chapel Lane, Blisworth NN7 3BU, England
44604858723
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“baguette” (3 reviews)
“poppadoms” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Chapel Lane, Blisworth NN7 3BU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here twice when staying in the village on a weekend break. Lovely pub, with a good varied menu which caters well for vegetarians and carnivores alike. Special mention for the curries which were extremely good. There is a large garden for warm evenings...More

Thank Djm5712
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and so glad you enjoyed your stay Hopefully you will return Best The Royal Oak Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had read the somewhat mixed reviews and decided, ever optimistically, to believe the better ones. The Royal Oak is a bit like a curate’s egg, some good, some very bad. The pub is great. Set in a lovely village, it has lots of interesting...More

Thank pmydon
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi I am not understanding your statement “we didn’t complain because we are British” and then proceed to complain via Trip Advisor? Almost like a “third person narrative” if this was at the weekend then you will have noticed that we were very very busy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From what was an extremely limited menu we selected what we presumed to be the best of a bad deal, we were wrong !! we actually got the worst from a bad deal. The food was appalling, cold under cooked, overcooked, poor quality. Following the...More

Thank Linda L
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Apologies for the miscommunication we actually have 3 menus and obviously you only viewed one of them, how ever we were extremely busy over the weekend assuming that was when you visited however I don’t really know as nobody bought any food back into...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Undercooked chicken - see photo. Greek salad not in any way even Greek style. Not edible. No refund on complaint. Avoid.

Thank LunchontheHouse
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Greek Salad however we don’t have Greek Salad on the menu so maybe you are confused about what you actually ordered Anyway apologies for any confusion but you ateverything anyway 🌞🌞🌞🌞

Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Arrived at this lovely little pub about 7.30 the pretty garden was busy, so decided to eat inside as we thought it would be cooler. We ordered and expected to wait a long time, however the food came quickly and was excellent. As well as...More

Thank Michellenn7
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Lovely to see you and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us 🌞🌞🌞🍺🍺🍺👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳

Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub, made to feel welcome by all staff. Dog friendly which is a bonus. Walking distance from the canal so great place to stop for a lovely meal. Really great menu choice with pub classics and a selection of Indian meals. Definitely worth a...More

Thank dmyayerr
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The food was outstanding , probably the best chicken madras ive had ! and the beer is spot on also . will definately be returning

Thank mark h
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us it means a lot We look forward to seeing you again very soon 🍻🍻🍻🍻🍺🍺🍺🍺🍝🍝🍝🍝🌶🌶🌶🌶👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳👨🏻‍🍳

Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Wow.great friendly pub.wonderfull indian menu.best dhansak ive had for ages.wonderfull food.good beers .lovely company.lovely interior.really well worth a visit.car park.great village pub.

Thank David T
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Although we have lived only 6 miles away this was our first visit in 11 years. Very pleasantly surprised. Good range of beers and wines. We only wanted a light lunch, but there was plenty to choose from. Opted for the sole gougons which were...More

Thank 492Hilary492
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Great village pud friendly staff and people. Good pub menu, Royal Oak burger is a must with cheese. Good selection of beers & ales.

Thank david f
Coolcat17, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us Look forward to seeing you again soon Best The Royal Oak Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Walnut Tree Inn
246 reviews
.70 miles away
Hilton Northampton
1,435 reviews
2.08 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
515 reviews
2.10 miles away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
480 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Five Bells
70 reviews
.12 miles away
The Walnut Tree Inn
203 reviews
.70 miles away
The Knightley Arms
9 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Canal Museum
179 reviews
2.51 miles away
The Britannia Inn
7 reviews
3.29 miles away
The Pinnacle Climbing Centre
95 reviews
3.97 miles away
Stoke Bruerne Boat Company
9 reviews
2.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Chapel Lane, Blisworth NN7 3BU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Blisworth
  • Phone Number: 44604858723
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional pub serving good quality locally sourced food prepared by our chefs, we also serve pasta and pizza, steaks and specials Open from 12.00 until 9.30pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing