We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Coach and Horses

Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 190: English reviews
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The range of beers and ales on offer here is not very good. It would be great to see more ales on offer.

Thank Rowan S
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Three of us met here for a lunchtime catch up . We had a very friendly welcome. The menu choice was wide and interesting. We were offered drinks without delay this was goid as it was a very hot day. Left just enough time to choose my meat platter which was very tastey . Well worth having chicken ham super... More 

1 Thank Lucy Anne B
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited last thursday for lunch with our dog. Ordered starters, mains and drinks. Not sure if barman was new but seemed a bit clueless. After waiting just under an hour the main arrived first, explained to waitress (who was the only one who seemed to be working, she didn't stop) we had starters and was served it all together.... More 

Thank joe and claire m
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi, The service was great, food was excellent. we had the pie and mash and veg - excellent, Drinks all ok - just had sparkling water. good kids bouncy castle and play frame. Price for two of us - about right as the food was very very good! The only BUT is I hated the smokers, as a non smoker... More 

1 Thank MrJ20132013
The Coach H, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. It brings a massive smile to my face taht you enjoyed your experience with us. You will be pleased to know me and the other managers have discussed putting up a sign by the marquee to make it known that, that area is a non-smoking area so that you can enjoy your experience... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't know what's happening at The Coach and Horses! We walked away feeling ripped off because food was expensive and the worst I've had anywhere for a long time. There was only one very stressed barman and one young woman serving food. Presumably the kitchen is under a lot of pressure too judging by the standard today.

Thank avid239
The Coach H, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Evening and thank you for your feedback. I apologise for your experience and the quality of food you recieved, if you could please email me at info@thecoachandhorses.co.uk, so that i can discuss this further with you. Many Thanks, Luke Rogers More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We sometimes stop for a drink at The Coach and Horses because it's a lovely pub but have been disappointed by the quality of the food in the past. This time, the front of house staff were so efficient and friendly we thought we'd try again in case it had changed. What a mistake! There is something seriously wrong with... More 

Thank emmaLeeHertfordshire
The Coach H, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good Evening Emma! Thank you so much for your feedback! Thank you for the praise that you have given to my Front of House team as far as there professioanlism goes. I have spoken to the kitchen and have, as part of my weekly management meeting, come up with actions which the head chef has passed onto his team and... More 

Croxley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

• flat soft drinks - requested replacements which were also flat • dirty garden full of wasps • baby changing out of order • no hot water in ladies • food undercooked/raw and greasy • no customer service Would never go back to this pub. Lazy and shoddy management ... Kids working there not to blame. Total waste of money.... More 

Thank pinngirl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited yesterday and as soon as we entered I told the lady behind the bar (had to interrupt her as she was busy chatting to her friend) that we had come for lunch. She said there would be approx 45 minute wait as the chef was off sick. We said we would wait. We stood at the bar and... More 

1 Thank Margarita8
The Coach H, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. To be honest from reading this review and the experience you had i feel personally embarassed and can only apologise for what happen on the day. The experience you had was not acceptable and is definitely not what we are about and those on shift have been spoken to and an experience like... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with friends on a Sunday afternoon. It took a long time to be seated as we couldn't get anyone's attention. Drinks order was taken quickly but one drink came incorrect. We waited a very long time for the food to come. After a while the waitress apologised and said it would be five minutes. Ten minutes later the... More 

Thank Emma C
The Coach H, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Good evening Emma!, Thank you very much for your feedback, apologises for the experience that you had. After your visit I have spoken to the kitchen and highlighted the issues that you had. I have also spoken to the manager who was on shift and made it imperatively clear that music volume is an important part of a customers experience.... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BOTTOM LINE... DO NOT GO HERE! We haven't visited the Coach and Horses for almost a year now and decided to go there with the family and friends that were visiting the UK on holiday. What better way to showcase what the UK has to offer than a nice meal at a 'country pub' with the kids? It is safe... More 

Thank chauhanchet

Travelers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$13 - $33
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green, Croxley Green WD3 3HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Croxley Green
  • Phone Number: 441923774457
The Coach and Horses on The Green has always been associated with travel and has been providing the families of Croxley Green with journeys since 1744. Whether enjoying lunch on the decking or a beer on the patio, dinner in the restaurant or a quiet pint in front of the fire, The Coach has something for everyone. The larger of the two pubs on the famous Green, it has been lovingly restored to former glories and enjoys an enormous outdoor seating play area for families where you can bask in the warmth of the friendly service. The food served is simple, tasty, hearty and nostalgic with an emphasis on sharing and there is a wonderful range of cask ales, continental beers and a fabulous wine list too.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?