We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dukes Head

Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
+44 1342 712431
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“scallops” (29 reviews)
“sunday roast” (27 reviews)
“pork belly” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

While visiting friends in Purley, we visited The Dukes Head for Sunday Lunch on the 8th April 2018. We all had the Sunday Roast and it was very special. The service was excellent and the helpings were more than enough with a great assortment of...More

Thank Clare W
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We walked into the pub slightly behind another couple. The hostess checked their reservation, looked at us, and failed to even acknowledge our presence. She escorted the couple to their table, took their order, and cleared wine glasses from their table. She then looked again...More

Thank Horleylad
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Dukes Head, Crawley Down. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Back from a nice meal where we had the burger with Stilton and the creme fraiche and leek pie....both very tasty. But having eaten in London yesterday, this did seem rather expensive. Nice layout of chairs, sofas, etc to provide a comfortable environment

Thank tentgirl
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Tentgirl, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Dukes Head, Crawley Down! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have used the Dukes Head regularly over last year since moving locally. Unfortunately service has nosedived over last couple of months and it now seems like they are doing you a favour if you are lucky enough to be able to have food. Blonde woman...More

Thank Jodidown
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We made a special trip to come here because we found out that they had a vegan menu. One of the few places for miles around that has a whole menu for vegans and doesn't expect vegans to just eat salad or tomato soup! We...More

Thank JoannaTUk
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Joannatuk, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Dukes Head, Crawley Down! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up one afternoon and asked if they had any tables available for lunch. Was told by a blonde woman that unless we had made a reservation they couldn't seat us as they were fully booked. I noticed half the restaurant was empty. I went...More

2  Thank GetawayGirl1234
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Dukes Head, Crawley Down. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our family of six-4 kids. We did call ahead and make a reservation based on other reviews. It didn’t seem necessary when we arrived-a Tuesday night and not very crowded. There was a kids menu as well, so that was a nice bonus....More

Thank Jana B
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Struggling to find words to describe how bad the service was. What little staffing resource they did have proved completely inadequate for even a modest amount of diners in the restaurant. Exceptionally rude. This was a car crash of a lunch service and despite the...More

4  Thank XSussexbythesea
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Xsussexbythesea, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Teach your staff to talk properly to customers. We won't return after being made to feel very unwelcome because we hadn't booked. We weren't expecting to pass by. We wanted a break after a very distressing day. Sorry, but your rudeness made things worse. You...More

3  Thank Sharon M
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sharon M, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. Kind Regards Luca and the Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately I never got to sample the menu here as when asked if we had a table booked and we had said no we were told ‘well there is no food for you here then’. Empty bar but was a flat out no to having...More

3  Thank Bea C
General Manager A, Manager at The Dukes Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Dukes Head, Crawley Down. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Crawley Down Hotels
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1,526 reviews
.38 miles away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
1,765 reviews
1.40 miles away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
190 reviews
1.79 miles away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1,282 reviews
2.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Dal Nonno Restaurant and Pizzeria
283 reviews
.86 miles away
Olivers Coffee and Wine
139 reviews
.70 miles away
The Farmyard Kitchen
29 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tulleys Farm
1,354 reviews
2.28 miles away
British Wildlife Centre
432 reviews
3.19 miles away
Pots and Pithoi Ltd
5 reviews
2.26 miles away
Southern Pursuits
364 reviews
2.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SarahOver
January 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Claire V | Property representative |
Hi Sarah Over Sorry for the delay in responding We have an allergy guide which covers our menu dishes and identifies which allergens are in each dish Hope this helps Please ask your waiter or waitress on the evening for... More
0
Votes
Paul S
October 26, 2015|
Answer
Response from Paul S | Reviewed this property |
There are No "Treatments! Its a "Restaurant"
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$24 - $32
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Turners Hill Road, Crawley Down RH10 4HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley Down
  • Phone Number: +44 1342 712431
  • E-mail
Description
Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished to make it the perfect place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion so give us a call or pop in and speak to one of the team. We look forward to seeing you soon... near Gatwick airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing