We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boars Head

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
+44 1454 632278
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“burger” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A warm welcome awaits you in the Boars Head Aust . The food was delicious and the service great even when my friend accidentally spilled her wine they cheerfully replaced it and mopped up the mess. The inn is quaint and a real boars head...More

Thank FarroviaCarol1947
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed September 10, 2017

We ate here on a Thursday evening , we had a warm welcome , there were a few tables already taken but this pubs has lots of rooms/alcoves with different sized tables, we both had steak with chips peas tomato and peppercorn sauce, the steak...More

1  Thank YVONNE G
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Glad you had a great time. Please come and see us again soon.

Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Had lunch today at the boars head, was a bit of a wait as they were very busy but we were told the bar when we ordered. When the food arrived it was lovely- and callum helped us pick out the lemon and raspberry pudding...More

1  Thank Joe H
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you for your review. So pleased you had a great time.

Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

I wish I took the time to read the reviews before I took my family here for lunch. I don't really know where to start with this review. Everything about the boars head is rotten. Arrived early to find the pub nearly empty. No one...More

3  Thank johnweb81
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for your review. I'll look into your feedback and see what steps need to be taken to address the issues.

Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Very nice Lunch and some really nice Ale on tap. Very enjoyable and service was good. Nice garden on a sunny afternoon and covered courtyard garden.

2  Thank GlennerBristol
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

This is my first time at this pub although with a friend who has been before.I can honestly say I experienced the worst Sunday roast that I have ever had. Overcooked chicken and a huge plate of over cooked tasteless and textureless vegetables with gravy...More

Thank goldcherub
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us as a team and acted on accordingly.

Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

We have been fans of the Boars Head for a while now, going there every now and again for over 10 years including Christmas Day lunch, but tonight was a disappointment. On a fairly quiet weekday evening we didn't expect to wait well over 30...More

Thank Supersmithy
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take feedback from our customers very seriously and I must apologise that you didn't get the level of quality or service you rightly expect. I am looking into the detail of the issues you...More

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

We have been to this pub many times over the years but this year we have been 3 times in the last 2 or so months and 2 out of the 3 have been slow service. The burgers are good but chips vary but mainly...More

Thank Lisa S
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you didn't feel as well looked after as you have in the past. Polite service and ensuring our customers are happy is key to our service, and something we pride ourselves on. Now that you have...More

Reviewed June 28, 2017

I write this review with a heavy heart, as having eaten here a few times before (albeit a few years ago), it is quite clear that standards here have dropped; indeed plummeted. I booked a table here yesterday for 13:00 hours and on arrival at...More

Thank Dave2811
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Sorry you have that opinion of the pub. Sometimes weekday lunchtimes can be quiet - that's one of the challenges faced by the pub trade. As you say, our staff are great, and I'm glad you had a positive view of them. 'Specials' is a...More

Reviewed June 27, 2017

Looking in the area for somewhere to go this place really seemed to split reviewers which made it worth a visit. Unfortunately it was only for drinks due to changed plans on my part but for the record food is served in the evenings from...More

Thank Martin H
Ben V, General Manager at Boars Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad your experience was a positive one. We now have some lovely hanging baskets to brighten the place up, but it can be a struggle finding the spare cash to spend on the buildings and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
White Hart pub
175 reviews
1.44 miles away
Shirley's Cafe
17 reviews
1.85 miles away
Swan Inn
201 reviews
2.62 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Mojo Active
17 reviews
4.13 miles away
6 O'Clock Gin Distillery
22 reviews
4.02 miles away
Chepstow Castle
819 reviews
4.09 miles away
Paintpotts
16 reviews
3.93 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Boars Head staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Aust BS35 4AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Aust
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 632278
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing