We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grouse Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
101
68
20
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
101
68
20
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie chips and peas cod sandwiches jacket potato side salad prawns the pub peak district long walk car park specials board small portions walking group main bar sunday lunch large party
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with my wife and elderly ,doddery mother on a cold Saturday evening. Didn’t look too appealing as only one other person there. However staff very welcoming and great real log fire to warm us. Menu is reasonable for a pub - enough choices and...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank adie23454
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you 😊

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in here for a drink and warm up after a walk; ideal because if you dont mind being spirited away into the back room they do allow dogs in there! Not quite as attractive as the main bar area but its ok. Beer...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Paul F
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you.

Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

We did a circular walk from The Grouse Inn in late December and called in for a meal and drink afterwards. The Pub was very busy indeed with walkers and cyclists but the service was really efficient and we didn't have to wait long at...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lewis C
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Thank you.

Reviewed January 3, 2019

After hiking on Froggatt Edge, hungry, damp and muddy, I spotted the Grouse Inn and went there for a hearty lunch. It was perfect! A fire roaring in the fireplace, Christmas decorations, mulled wine and a pie....what more could I want? The menu is traditional...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Julie G
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2019

Thank you.

Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

The place it's self is warm well staffed with nice food from what I saw. Unfortunately after a pint and a visit by myself and the Mrs to the toilet there was no way on this earth I was eating there especially if the kitchen...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank upatowercranenearyou
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Hello, Thankyou for taking the time to write a review but as i’m sure you were aware we were excessively busy over the Christmas and New Year period. Because of this we would not of had as much time to go as frequently to check...More

Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

After a lovely walk, we were first in the queue when it opened. Good thing as every table filled within minutes. The kitchen and staff coped superbly with this immediate maximum load and my fish pie was better than homemade and all our party of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank TerryE107
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Thank you.

Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

Always visit the Grouse when we go walking in the Peak District. A walk isn’t the same without a Steak pie afterwards. Henderson’s realish on the table, good ale on the taps. What more do you want?

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank joncoussens
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Thank you.

Reviewed December 12, 2018

I have given 5 stars to statistically counteract an unfair review by a friend, who refused despite urging to report a cold meal. But in fairness, my very excellent meal was also lukewarm (I've never been one to care very much about the temperature), and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Falkenna
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewed December 11, 2018

I visited the Grouse Inn for lunch on the 11/12/18. It had a nice looking menu with the option of a main or a lighter version of most meals. I inquired as to the size difference of the Vegetarian Lasagna and was informed the lighter...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Byron M
PetaF704, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Hello, Sorry your experience with us today wasn’t as good as hoped. We would have gladly replaced your meal with either a hotter one or something different but we were under the impression that you didn’t want anything as a replacement. We wished you had...More

Reviewed November 15, 2018

We were a soggy party of four plus two dogs. We had just walked the Stanage Edge circular walk - which was breathtaking - but all got soaked through so possibly slightly miserable to start with. We knew from the website that we needed to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank BhunaBeagle
PetaKingwell, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Hello, I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your fish fingers, i have passed your comments on to the chef who will take them on board. I’m glad that you enjoyed the brownie and game stew. Hopefully they helped with the disappointment of the fish...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Maynard
451 reviews
.65 miles away
Little John Hotel
262 reviews
2.82 miles away
George Hotel
439 reviews
2.86 miles away
Cross Scythes Hotel
206 reviews
3.23 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Grindleford Station Cafe
242 reviews
.70 miles away
Restaurant at The Chequers Inn
196 reviews
1.33 miles away
Jolly's Catering Company
20 reviews
1.90 miles away
The Eating House
231 reviews
2.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Grindleford Community Shop
33 reviews
.77 miles away
Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence
216 reviews
2.69 miles away
Peak Walking Adventures - Day Walks
225 reviews
2.73 miles away
Eyam Plague Village Museum
601 reviews
2.74 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jet515840
April 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from PetaKingwell | Property representative |
Hello, We only take bookings for large parties i’m afraid as we work on a first come first served basis but we will also do our best to get you a table as soon as possible which generally doesn’t require a wait but if it... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing