We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grouse Inn

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Froggatt $$ - $$$ , British,
The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
+44 1433 630423
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Hip hip hoorah for this place says I. Tip top food & beverage. When I first nervously approached the rather intimidating bar staff I could not imagine the warm welcome and nice food that awaited.

Thank kevbutnobacon
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you! Very pleased we didn't scare you away.

Reviewed 6 days ago

We organised a 10 mile work event on Wednesday 21 June 17 and walked 5 miles to The Grouse. We rang the day before to ask if we needed to pre-order food as there were 12 of us. We were told "No, it will be...More

Thank HEIDI C
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello, I can only apologise if you were made to feel unwelcome. We did have a difficult day on Wednesday as two sets of our deliveries failed to arrive which put us under considerable stress. This is however no excuse for rudeness and we will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a lovely meal with family at the Grouse. The food was good and plentiful. The staff, as always, were friendly and attentive. Recommended!

Thank ChrisE7100
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

It's quite some time since we visited The Grouse although it's always been a favourite due to its wonderful location and good, reasonably priced food. We were, however, extremely disappointed on our most recent visit with the drastically reduced portion sizes. I had my usual...More

Thank Alison1451
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for you review. We do offer bigger portion sizes for those that are hungry and smaller portion sizes for those with a lesser appetite. Our apologies if you had soggy pastry, unfortunately sometimes the gravy can make it soggy so please always...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a 6 mile walk we had a lovely meal here. Very friendly and great atmosphere! The beef in the Sunday dinner could have been slightly less cooked up, but that's personal taste!

Thank suetinson
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!

Reviewed May 22, 2017

Hot food is taking 40 minutes we were told so we ordered sandwiches, only ten minutes, and coffee. 45 minutes later the coffee arrived, one in a chipped mug, five minutes later the sandwiches arrived. The mature cheddar in a crusty white bread turned out...More

1  Thank carlcarl2014
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Hello, I can only apologise for your bad service and disappointing food etc, it was completely unacceptable hence our apologies at the time. We were extremely busy but that is no excuse so apologies again. Thank you

Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

We'd been for a gentle evening stroll along Froggatt Edge after the crowds had left and ended up at the Grouse. We sat outside till it got cool then moved in to a table by the open fire. Starters were the baked Brie and a...More

1  Thank Gibberis
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!

Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

Serves food all day on a Sunday which suits my partner and I. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The small fish and chips was not that small with beautiful crispy batter.

Thank Maria T
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Thankyou!

Reviewed May 4, 2017

We had been walking for about 8 miles and had asked directions to this pub as we had a dog with us and wanted to make sure we could get in. What a delight! Very rustic, but homely and welcoming. The wine was delicious and...More

Thank NikkiFJ
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thankyou! Sorry we ran out of Stilton, I trust you were given an alternative. I will pass on the information about the fish pie!

Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

Perfect evening after walking White Edge and Froggat Edge.. food wholesome with large portions.. even after walking 9 miles!! The special veg curry had a real depth of flavour. We have eaten at other pubs in the area over the last month and this was...More

Thank cardyncoke
Peta F, General Manager at The Grouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thank you!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Chequers Inn
155 reviews
.28 miles away
Curry Cottage at Lovers Leap
179 reviews
1.29 miles away
Jolly's Catering Company
7 reviews
1.34 miles away
The Eating House
166 reviews
1.36 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grindleford Community Shop
16 reviews
.83 miles away
Eyam Plague Village Museum
444 reviews
1.89 miles away
The Rutland Arms
7 reviews
2.46 miles away
Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop
502 reviews
3.55 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Janet B
Not only have the portion sizes changed but also the food has. On a recent visit we were served with the worst chips ever tasted and a barely warm uncooked jacket potato. We always loved visiting the Grouse but have now been put off and will go elsewhere. Why change something that was so good?
April 2, 2017|
Answer
Response from Peta F | Property representative |
Hello Janet, We apologise if your visit wasn't as good as expected. We haven't made any changes purposely but we have had a change of chefs recently and sometimes this requires a 'bedding in period'. Despite this we would... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Grouse Inn Longshaw, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S11 7TZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Froggatt
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 630423
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing