We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16 Town Street, Duffield DE56 4EH, England
+44 1332 840380
Today
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tue - Sat 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been visiting regularly for over 12 months and always have had good food. Friendly service from Chris and all the girls. The review that thinks they are rude, well never experienced it and maybe you need to lighten up a bit! N.B. I have no connection other than a very satisfied customer.

Helpful?
Thank Ianmac45
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was visiting family decided to go out for breakfast Spotted Godfreys and went in was told we could sit anywhere ordered breakfast the waitress wrote down our Order then came back and asked us what we wanted obviously thick after she had wrote it down waited at least 20 mins then an arrogant man came over presumably the owner or... More 

Helpful?
Thank hardgoin
Chris G, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield, responded to this review

Rude, omg, I have never met such miserable people in all my 35 years in this industry, you sat on a table that Coulson seat 4, Sunday morning is extremely busy, so having to wait 20 minutes - freshly cooked breakfast is nothing. The waitress , bless her is new, very nervous - not thick as you put it, and... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends from Nottinghamshire came over today to visit, and as we were in the Duffield area, I had already pre-booked a table for 1pm. Although we were a little late to arrive, the owner met us with a friendly greeting, and invited us to sit at our designated table. The waitress came first to ask us for our drinks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KevMc666
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went here on Saturday 22nd October for a themed Mandarin night. It was absolutely gorgeous. Food was amazing and very very tasty. The ambience was lovely too I would say romantic. It was a huge hit with others too as it was fully booked Staff were attentive and helpful. Can't for next themed night

Helpful?
Thank Sandi B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,359 reviews
803 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

Fabulous farmhouse breakfast, huge, good ingredients, well cooked and boy was it tasty. Warm friendly greeting on entering and service from the staff was first rate.

Helpful?
Thank johnhp702
Duffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2016

Went for breakfast ,saw another person order so thought looks good.Ordered the full breakfast and genuinely thought when one arrived it was to share and was a little surprised the other one appeared .Really good quality breakfast only issue was going to have lunch later but didn't bother !

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Popped in for Coffee and wished we hadn't , the arrogance and rudeness of the owner is staggering. Overhearing him call 6 cyclists (who'd just arrived outside) to his staff as 'six beasts of them' across a room full of customers is pretty astonishing... it appears that this person has brought his own particular brash, yobbish brand of running a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BoxOfCats
Chris G, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield, responded to this review

Firstly to set you straight. I'm not from Belper never had a business there, you have mistaken me for someone else. I gather you were served well, no one was rude to you!? With reference to the beasts, they come weekly, love it at Godfreys and the banter I bring to them, they all tip well and enjoy the coffee!!!!!!!!... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

We live locally to Godfrey's and pass it on a nearly daily basis- we have always said we needed to try it and how pleasant it looks. We visited on a Sunday lunchtime. Inside is quite cosy but nicely decorated and very clean and inviting. Good range of snacks and light bites on the menu. We sat down and were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BeakyOve
Chris G, Owner at Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield, responded to this review

Clearly if the menu had been read correctly, this wouldn't have happened. It is written twice, and outside More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Went for breakfast - good choice, high quality food, decent prices, very polite & pleasant staff, quick service. Will definitely return when in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank Jack_Bosworth
Mercaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2016

Called in for breakfast on Sunday morning, both ordered the "Full Monty" and a latte, very quick service and lovely friendly staff. The latte was steaming hot and the breakfast well, you've never seen such a sizable breakfast!!, we could of shared one between us. All in all great value for money and we will return.

Helpful?
Thank karenward2015

Travelers who viewed Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield also viewed

 
Duffield, Derbyshire
Duffield, Derbyshire
 
Belper, Derbyshire
Duffield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$3 - $38
Cuisine
Cafe, European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 3:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Town Street, Duffield DE56 4EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Duffield
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 840380
Description
Established in 1999, Godfrey's Cafe Bistro is conveniently located at the old butchers shop in the heart of Duffield, just a short walk from Duffiled railway station. We are fully licenced and offer our customers access to free WiFi.Our friendly staff, freshly prepared food and relaxed atmosphere make Godfrey's Cafe Bistro the perfect place to come to for a quiet cup of coffee, a hearty full english breakfast or dinner with family and friends. (Children are always welcome).Our cafe is open daily from 8am till 3/4 tuesday to Saturday , Sunday 9 till 1 , breakfast and papers .In an effort to reduce our carbon footprint, where possible, we source all our ingredients from local suppliers. NB- it's always best to book for Bistro & Steak Nights: on occasions that we have no bookings, we close. Important information- Godfreys in Duffield, and Godfreys in Belper are un related, Owned by two different people. Godfreys Duffield was taken over in October 2014.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Godfrey's Cafe Bistro in Duffield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?