We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Five Bells

Claimed
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
This traditional pub and restaurant in Leighton Buzzard is a centuries-old inn full of charm and character, we boast a great garden for summer, roaring log fires in winter, always with a warm family atmosphere – alongside great food and drink.
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $39
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
106
94
44
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
106
94
44
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak liver mash sunday roast fish and chips bread pudding the pub large garden gluten free cooked perfectly varied menu large party food was lovely leighton buzzard cabbage ale
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

I was up here in Leighton Buzzard for the day with family visiting a family friend. On what was a very cold, grey and gloomy day, we'd earned good pub grub that evening and it didn't disappoint. The fish & chips looked lovely though I...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jamestheathlete
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Exactly what you would expect a country pub/restaurant to be. The food was devine and everybody in our party enjoyed their choices. Steak was the overiding choice and all were cooked perfectly. Personally i chose the liver which was the best i have ever tasted,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 487SarahN
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much and it was entirely our pleasure, so pleased you're family enjoyed our lovely pub. thank you once again Karen and the team.

Reviewed January 15, 2019

This is a lovely country Pub with excellent food, drink and restaurant.it and a great outside pub garden and surrounding areas. Recommened

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 3weeker
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for you're lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully enjoying our great garden. Karen and the team

Reviewed January 1, 2019

Lovely evening with great music. Staff fantastic and a special thanks to Karen for her attention to detail.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LynneW859
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Thank you so much, It was a delightful evening and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

For me The 5 bells is the best Roast and best pub food in Leighton Buzzard ! I wouldn't recommend anywhere else where the quality and service is as good ! It's very obvious that there is lot of love and care into the food...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Powers30
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Thank you so much for the five star review, our chefs take great pride in providing our guests with fabulous food and our team are highly trained to provide the best possible service so this is great news, once again thank you for your lovely...More

Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to have Sunday dinner. Others in the bar area were very loud, shouting and swearing making it very unpleasant for us trying to order a drinks. We then sat in the restaurant area where we were completely ignored by the waiting stafff while...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DoTrySomethingNew
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

I must apologise on behalf of the noisy customers when you visited, we always endeavour to make our guests as comfortable as possible, and it is very annoying to other guests when this occurs, we always reiterate to guests that they must consider other people...More

Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch here is excellent- the food is consistently good. The service is very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. New Manager Karen knows her stuff and this restaurant has become our favourite place for a meal out. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Footprints736969
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Thank you so much but you know the saying "you are only as good as the people who work for you" and the team are a credit to hospitality.

Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

Very nice food again. Only downfall in my opinion was the lack of liver and bacon on the menu. We'd told friends how good it was and when we took them, it had been taken off the menu. Gutted! Best in the area I thought....More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank adams202
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Thank you, we agree the liver is delicious so unfortunately we had sold out when you arrived, don't worry its back on the menu again! Once again thank you for kind words the team are delighted.

Reviewed November 21, 2018

It seems to me that the last few not as good reviews before mine are all several people from the same group which is a bit unfair. One visit should be one review? We have been here twice now and the food has been lovely...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Wendy B
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Thank you so much for the five star review, this is great news for our team as they always endeavour to provide our guests with the best service you so rightly deserve.

Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to The Five Bells many times. We made an on line reservation for what we thought would be a table for four in the restaurant however when we arrived a birthday party was in full swing and we had to settle for a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 47peterj
General M, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you were not able to dine in the restaurant but our bar is lovely and cosy and we feel has a great atmosphere, its great to hear that you enjoyed our lovely food and hope to...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Redwings Lodge Dunstable
259 reviews
1.59 miles away
Dunstable Hockliffe
11 reviews
2.10 miles away
Swan Hotel
428 reviews
2.66 miles away
Bellows Mill
48 reviews
2.96 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Buddies USA Hockliffe
321 reviews
1.58 miles away
Martini Restaurant
358 reviews
2.59 miles away
The Anchor Pub Tilsworth
257 reviews
1.01 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Mead Open Farm
575 reviews
1.30 miles away
Grand Union Canal
100 reviews
2.03 miles away
Dunstable Downs
637 reviews
3.40 miles away
Leighton Buzzard Railway
300 reviews
2.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
scottyj10
September 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ginamckay | Reviewed this property |
What is the question?
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing