We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
This traditional pub and restaurant in Leighton Buzzard is a centuries-old inn full of charm and character, we boast a great garden for summer, roaring log fires in winter, always with a warm family atmosphere – alongside great food and drink.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $41
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
128
104
49
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
128
104
49
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger pudding the pub beer garden sunday lunch lovely lunch roast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 9, 2020

The last time I crossed the portals of the Five Bells O' Stanbridge was 32 years ago. It was my local for a while. I went there recently to meet a client for lunch. The food was OK but such a disappointment overall. Dark, dingy...and miserly. The crowning glory - on paying the bill - a lecture on Covid-19 from the resident Doom & Gloom merchant.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2020

We arrived slightly earlier than expected, but was met by a warm reception by the host. Our food order arrived promptly and was mouth watering. The staff were beyond helpful and really made our first visit very likely to lead to another. We would like...to thank Kelly the manager, the older chap who done our drinks to perfection and the whole team for turning a Sunday into a fun day.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2020

Food was brilliant. We shared 4 bottles of wine could of stayed in there all night the staff was brilliant. One of the girls has been there a couple of years now she’s always pleasant etc. Always recommend to my family and friends.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 19, 2020 via mobile

We had a really enjoyable evening. If you want a traditional pub, delicious food and a friendly atmosphere, look no further!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

We have been here several times. We popped in today during a family bike ride. We sat in the garden, and had drinks and selection of starters. Food was very good and service quick. Staff member who served us was lovely, it was her first...day but she was very friendly and attentive. They are doing track and trace. Highly recommend here.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 26, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic Lunch from this little local pub back pre lockdown. The staff were attentive and kind. They also had a great selection of beers. Crisps were a little pricey though. Will visit again after lockdown. A++

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

Booked in , alone.....Shown to a seat that had a wobbly plank of wood in front of the seat. I couldn't stand on it to sit as it was too wobbly. Called a lady that had just served drinks to a table and showed her,...she said oh it's always doing that. Looked at me for my advice.... I asked if it could be pulled out and she obliged. I then sat for 20 minutes and nobody took either a drink or dinner order from me. I decided to leave and informed the staff I was leaving as I had not been attended to, remember I'm on my own so that's a long time, seemed bothered but too late £17 plus a drink 🤷‍♀️ glad they don't need the money I was on a mission for 17 midweek covers twice a month Lost out now, very disappointedMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManager1845, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Hello, I am sorry that you were not attended to on Sunday, I must emphasise that this was not intentional, the team member who seated you in the bar assumed you were looking for a seat to enjoy a drink , so I must apologise...More

Reviewed February 21, 2020 via mobile

Been to this restaurant a few times the food is always lovely but one female member of staff takes it upon herself to use one of the two disabled parking bays as her own spot! The last two times we have visited she has been...made to move her car, and that’s just when we have visited how many times does this girl do it!!! Surely I can’t be the only disabled person who has experienced this member of staff’s lack of thought - they even called her the manager?!?! Shame she did this or my review would of been a 5* review!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManager1845, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2020

Hello Shelley, I am sorry that one member of my team members was parked in the disabled space, we had indeed been unloading heavy items close to the pub as my team member explained , and as the car park was full to capacity we...More

Reviewed February 17, 2020

We use this as a "halfway house" to meet friends and/or relatives from Bucks and Herts., as we did for lunch yesterday. Another faultless and very enjoyable meal

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManager1845, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2020

Thank you for your review, we love our pub and welcome guests from near and afar , please call again soon we would love to see you.

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Great food, great service ex specially from the gentleman behind the bar. Such a great atmosphere we will be returning very soon. Recommend the steak pie and the cheese board and plum tart was delicious, Thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManager1845, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we would love to see you again. Karen and the team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Redwings Lodge Dunstable
317 reviews
1.59 miles away
Dunstable Hockliffe
11 reviews
2.10 miles away
Swan Hotel
450 reviews
2.66 miles away
Bellows Mill
50 reviews
2.96 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mcdonald's
42 reviews
1.65 miles away
Martini Restaurant
417 reviews
2.58 miles away
The Anchor Pub Tilsworth
339 reviews
1.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mead Open Farm
666 reviews
1.30 miles away
Grand Union Canal
122 reviews
2.03 miles away
Leighton Buzzard Railway
459 reviews
2.16 miles away
Parson's Close Recreation Ground
71 reviews
2.64 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carol W
December 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from 741tpa | Reviewed this property |
Next quiz is apparently scheduled for 6th January.
0
Votes
scottyj10
September 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from HIBOXY | Reviewed this property |
There is no question to answer. Or have I missed something?
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing