We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Wood's Bar & Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$$
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
612 7th Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1454
+1 218-834-3846
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived in Two Harbors and found this spot on the highway. Simple place but good food and prompt service. The cold beer was just what we needed. Good variety of food.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank David M
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Planked salmon was very dry. Roast beef with mashed potatoes was barely warm. Prices were also a bit high.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 290maryr
Oakdale, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have dined here on many previous occasions and the food has always been very good. When we stopped inTwo Harbors on Sep 23 we were sorely disappointed. A salad had avocados with pickled flavor and the chicken pieces were extremely dry. The chicken pot pie was tasty, but too many potato chunks and very few pieces of chicken. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank dp48pete
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us from your visit on September 23rd. We are so disappointed to read that you did not have the same positive experience that you should expect when dining with us. We would love an opportunity to apologize to you directly and learn more about how we can gain back... More 

Mapewood
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I ordered the pinot grigio - there was a special on house wines. When we got our bill, I saw I had been served a specialty pino grigio instead. We asked and she said, "we don't have a house pino grigio." Yes you do. She said then that she would give us a "discount" on the bill, which was an... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank danceandshine
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your visit. We would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your visit. Please send your name, title of review, and the best phone number to reach you at to catherinec@blackwoods.com. We look forward to speaking with you. Thank you again for your honesty in review. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a stop we do every time up the north shore. It's a busy place but always great food and service. The patio is a great way to spend lunch or dinner on. Can't go wrong with their steak bites and the house meatloaf, better then my grandmas! Overall just a great experience and will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Justin V
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

"Better than my Grandma's" - WOW, thank you so much Justin for this awesome review! We are delighted to read that you have loved your visits in to dine with us on your travels up the North Shore! We look forward to the next time you will be traveling through Two Harbors :-). Thank you for your continued business, cheers! More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The steak bites appetizer were the best. I was tempted to order another order for my meal. had the pasta dish which was very tasty. But those steak bites, definitely worth the trip.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank CamperjoeMnDOT
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for this glowing review of your visit to our restaurant! We are happy to hear you found a favorite item on our menu - our Steak Bites! Mhmm! Thank you for your business, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future! More 

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
451 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our meals were decent, but I wouldn't call them excellent. Typical of Minnesota's North Shore, most things were a bit over-priced. I think most folks will find something they will enjoy here. Service was good. Before I return to Blackwood Grill, I might try someplace else.

Helpful?
Thank photoguywisconsin
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit! Safe travels home! More 

Madison Lake, Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The ribs were dried out my steak was chewy chicken was dry and the waiter we had wasn't even sure about some menu items. We weren't impressed

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Anne, we are sorry to read of the service that you received when you were in to dine with us. We expect WOW service for our guests, and it is unacceptable that you did not receive that. We would love to speak with you directly to learn how we can gain back your business - please send your name, phone... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The green beans were horrible. The green beans were under The The green beans were undercooked, hard and tasteless. Not edible. The rest average at best. Not a good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank ljenlow
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your honesty - we are so sorry that this is how our food was presented. It is not how we expect our guests' dining experience to be in our restaurant. Please send your name, title of review, and phone number to catherinec@blackwoods.com so that we can speak with you directly about your visit. We look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was excellent and the service was good. We were not seated immediately cause the hostess wasn't there, but she showed up after a couple of minutes. I can't remember what everyone had but I do know that we all loved our food. I would go again and do recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank SarahTouch
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Wood's Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Sarah, thank you for your five star review and for your kind words about your experience! We appreciate your recommendation to our viewers and look forward to when you will be back in to dine with us again. Cheers! More 

Travelers who viewed Black Wood's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Black Wood's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $35
Cuisine
American, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 612 7th Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1454
  • Location: United States  >  Minnesota (MN)  >  Two Harbors
  • Phone Number: +1 218-834-3846

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Wood's Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?