We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Charlie's Restaurant & Pub

$$$
American, Bar, Irish, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5150 (Chestnut)
+1 651-439-6000
Website
Today
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for a weeknight dinner to sit on the patio and river watch. We ordered the Irish smothered fries, thinking it would be a fun appetizer. Wow! They were amazing. French fries, covered in cheese sauce, corned beef, sauer kraut...it was so much better than we ever dreamed! We also tried the Mulligan stew and rib eye dinner.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you so much. my wife will only let me order those once a month, they are so good!!! More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Great deck for watching the bridge and the boats. It's covered, too. Drinks and food were tasty, good service.

Helpful?
Thank Reijen
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed our deck More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We had to complain three times to get them to turn it down. They finally moved us to another table. There were several tables around as well. Band was way to loud and really would have been better to not here them. They may have been better off to turn it way down. The food how ever was great. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank bradsheri
101water, General Manager at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Sorry about that, the band was using a loaner PA. They couldn't get it adjusted right. We got them to turn it down once the manager talk with them. Glad you enjoyed the food, hope you will be back. More 

Grey Eagle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
511 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

We had a wonderful waitress. She welcomed us with a big smile--very important. The pub is decorated very nicely. It felt warm and cozy to sit, have a beverage and chat. There was very laidback entertainment and no cover charge. We had a nice evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank minneapol
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, she is a great waitress. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

For great service ask for Devan and Michele. The perfect mix of professional and fun! Can't wait to visit again for steak tips, onion rings and crunch berries (lemon cake)!

Helpful?
Thank Josie E
101water, General Manager at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, come back soon. More 

Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

We love to go here especially in the Summer. Sit on the deck and enjoy watching the boats, people and lift bridge.

Helpful?
Thank lalrn6
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, nothing like sitting back and watching the river. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Not sure if we were there on a bad day but the service was very bad. Extended wait to be acknowledged by the host, extended wait for drinks, and extended wait for food. We had 7 people and their policy is parties over 8 are given 18% gratuity. We got our bill with the gratuity added. Disappointed and we won't... More 

Helpful?
Thank TeresaMDee
101water, General Manager at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

I'm sorry for the slow service when you were here. That was our first weekend having the deck open with it being 84 out. Everyone was told there would be a wait when they were sat. I check with the restaurant manager, she remember one table that started out with 8 people than went down to 7. She took the... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Didn't eat here just stopped in the bar for some drinks. Bartender was great and was very attentive. The bar could have been a bit bigger, only seated about 7.

Helpful?
Thank taydiggy
101water, General Manager at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thank you the review, we will be expanding the bar in 2017 More 

indy
Level Contributor
785 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

We went on July 4th and for expediency got the buffet they had setup. It was a picnic oriented with burgers, brats, hot dogs, potato salad, etc. It was filling but not very tasty and way over priced.

Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that. We had a lot of positive comments about it. We wanted to have a way for people to get their meal fast so they wouldn't miss the fireworks. More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We have eaten during happy hour a few times and it was very good, both the food and price. The patio is huge and cannot be beat! Our server Jessica was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Macoy
101water, Owner at Charlie's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Our Patio won Best Patio in the Twin Cities now for the last two years, vote by the Pioneer Press readers. More 

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $40
Cuisine
American, Bar, Irish, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Reservations, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Water St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5150
    (Chestnut)
  • Location: United States  >  Minnesota (MN)  >  Stillwater
  • Phone Number: +1 651-439-6000
Description
"Charlie's Restaurant & Irish Pub" at The Historic Water Street Inn is an ideal location for outdoor dining in the Scenic St. Croix Valley. Located at the foot of the historic lift bridge "Charlie's" serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with menu options as varied as its surroundings. If you're looking to enjoy the sun with some cocktails & appetizers you can try our patio bar, or for more of a formal menu offering pastas, steak and fish try our covered patio.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlie's Restaurant & Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?