We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

South Lane, Chalton PO8 0BG, England
+44 23 9259 2246
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“roast dinner” (24 reviews)
“fish pie” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
South Lane, Chalton PO8 0BG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 499 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Stopped at The Red Lion for lunch with our dog and received a very warm welcome. There are biscuits and water bowls for dogs. The food was excellent and arrived very promptly. Would thoroughly recommend. We will be returning in the near future. Could happily...More

Thank Vanessa J
Reviewed 4 days ago

Hadn’t been here for over 5yrs but knowing it had been re-furnished we were interested to see what it was like -very impressed with the service first of all - showed to our seats promptly- jug of water appeared without any asking- I had the...More

Thank GemmaWaterlooville
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went back as the manager contacted us, following our poor online satisfaction survey result after our previous visit, and offered us a voucher. I am pleased to say that we had a far better experience. Again it was Saturday, and busy, but the food did...More

Thank 526clanger
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to a family party here and although the food was nice it was poor value for money. I was astonished when told how much it cost for the amount of food available. It all ran out very quickly and some people had nothing. Shame...More

Thank 59lynne59
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lion. We are very sorry you didn't have enough food for the evening. Its always worth ordering for the amount of guests that you have. Unfortunately the £6 PP for 80 guests you ordered couldn't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on an eight mile circular walk from Buriton and came into Chalton at 11am on a Saturday morning in October. We fancied a coffee and rattled the pub door but it was locked so we were just about to walk on when the...More

Thank Tricia0763
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Always welcome, look forward to seeing you soon Kind regards Peter

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this pub for a meal with friends, arrived about 7.15 pm the place wasn’t even half full but yet we waited an hour for a really expensive mediocre meal. A large glass of red wine was £8.25 and fish pie about £14 served...More

Thank Christine W
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for rating us, We are always looking for ways to improve. Please contact us to discuss your experience further Many thanks Peter

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked very last minute for Sunday lunch and luckily managed to get a table! The food was amazing and the service was great. They were very busy but staff coped really well, especially with a lot of tables arriving at once. Thanks to Tracy...More

Thank rharrington2017
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for rating us, hope to see you again soon Many thanks Peter

Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Feeling a tad hungover all we wanted on a drizzly sunday was a yummy roast! And we were not disappointed! The food was amazing and the portions were huge, which went down well with the hubby! Staff were really friendly and accommodating and even prepared...More

Thank 16charleneb88
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Many thanks for your rating. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Peter

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Nice pub, great location but, based on several recent visits, appears to be routinely understaffed git the size of the place. Long wait to order drinks and food then advised of a 45 minute wait for the food to arrive. Wanted another drink before the...More

Thank Lionel M
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for rating us, We are always looking for ways to improve. Please contact us to discuss your experience further Many thanks Peter

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Extremely slow service. Waited over an hour for main and had to keep asking for it. People care in after in and still got food before. Spent over 2 1/2 hours here Won’t be returning!!!

Thank Paul S
red_lion_chalton, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for rating us, We are always looking for ways to improve. Please contact us to discuss your experience further Many thanks Peter

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
323 reviews
2.45 miles away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
138 reviews
3.81 miles away
Meadow View Guest House
1 review
4.08 miles away
Langrish House
395 reviews
4.78 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mirchi
114 reviews
2.16 miles away
Oh So's Coffee Shop
112 reviews
2.34 miles away
The Five Bells
175 reviews
2.65 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Butser Ancient Farm
121 reviews
.61 miles away
Queen Elizabeth Country Park
313 reviews
1.65 miles away
West Sussex Falconry
78 reviews
2.91 miles away
Uppark
453 reviews
3.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane T
July 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from red_lion_chalton | Property representative |
We do accept table bookings! And as we get quite busy it is always best to book a table if you know you plan to eat with us. You can contact us to book a table on 023 92 592246 and one of our friendly members of staff will... More
0
Votes
Gromit91
May 8, 2015|
Answer
Response from red_lion_chalton | Property representative |
Yes we do! We allow dogs in 1 of our 2 bar areas and also in our Old Lounge, a dining area. If booking a table just make sure you mention you have a dog to bring along and we will try our best to reserve you a table in a dog... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Lane, Chalton PO8 0BG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Chalton
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9259 2246
  • E-mail
Description
A reputation for excellent food and deliciously fresh ales hasn’t gone to our head. The Red Lion has centuries of history to live up to, and does so with a regularly changing menu and perfectly poured pints - ideally sampled from our gorgeous garden or by our cosy fireplace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing