We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
+44 23 9237 7223
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“brisket” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

I think the previous reviewer may have been to a different pub to the one my daughter and I visited today. We ate delicious, home cooked food. I had twice baked cheese soufflé with fresh vegetables and as it's something I cook myself I know...More

Thank yvh
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review I am pleased you had a pleasant experience and look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks like your usual establishment but customers are treated as an inconvenience. Rude and inattentive, put out by every request. The staff act like they are out on a Saturday night and by speaking to them is interrupting their night - and private conversations. Food...More

Thank Jonathan S
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I think on reading this the person that is rude is you.You do not say when you ate at our pub as if you did I could approach the staff that were on that day however,I find it hard to believe that any of my...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I spent another cosy evening meal and drinks by the log fire at this pub. We have been visiting this pub for a number of years and are very surprised at some of the previous mixed comments of the venue. The food...More

Thank Bazza1246
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thankfully for your kind review we pride ourselves on making our customers feel welcome and it is lovely when someone like yourself takes the time to acknowledge that

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was recommended this pub by friends and have been meaning to go for sometime , and was certainly not disappointed , one off our party was vegetarian and had the Bean and Halloumi casserole with Crusty Bread and she loved it , good generous...More

1  Thank nannybeck
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We go out for a meal every month with friends and hadn't been to the Red Lion for a while so thought we'd go back as always been excellent - sadly not this time. We were the only people in the pub from arrival at...More

1  Thank Jules286903
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

yes you were the only people in on Saturday and you are quite right you were told you could sit wherever you wished however we do remember having a conversation with you saying how busy we were at lunchtime. At no point did you seem...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was surprised to read the negative reviews on here as we had a great experience. We were looking for a country pub with a varied menu instead of going to a pub in Portsmouth to take friends who were visiting us and the Red...More

2  Thank Steph H
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.I am so glad you enjoyed your meal We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed January 12, 2018

Lunchtime meal midweek. Poor selection of choices on the menu. Nothing was offered with fresh vegetables. Service slow. The pub in my opinion needs a deep clean. Window seals and frames extremely grubby, as were the floors in toilet cubicles.

1  Thank Susan N
Reviewed January 5, 2018

came here just after Christmas with our two sets of parents had to use the back access as one party is wheel chairbound round the back is a mess with a broken bottle and junk every where inside is ok a bit dark and dingy...More

1  Thank Melanie H
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

In response to your review We had just had very high winds the day before so yes there were possibly broken bottles in the back courtyard we also had our marquee blown down unfortunately I cannot do anything about the weather.Our coffee machine was playing...More

Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

A nice country village pub. The service is good and the food is okay however the plated dishes appear to be just reheated so vegetables tend to be overcooked and are all the same regardless of the menu item ordered. It seems to be a...More

Thank sailboat326
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

“If you order quickly and sit by the door we may be able to squeeze you in” was the friendly welcome.... felt unloved already. The beer was fine, hard to beat London Pride. I ordered steak and ale pie, I have been here a few...More

2  Thank texaskinger
PreviousNext
12345626
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Southwick Hotels
Premier Inn Portsmouth
29 reviews
2.15 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
559 reviews
2.17 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1,149 reviews
2.17 miles away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,290 reviews
2.20 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Golden Lion
432 reviews
.12 miles away
Southwick Village Store & Tea Rooms
22 reviews
.26 miles away
the seagull
339 reviews
2.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Southwick Brewhouse
25 reviews
.15 miles away
PlayZone Portsmouth
92 reviews
2.42 miles away
Furzeley Golf Club
14 reviews
2.45 miles away
Portchester Castle
520 reviews
2.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southwick
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9237 7223
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing