We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
+44 23 9237 7223
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“brisket” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We go out for a meal every month with friends and hadn't been to the Red Lion for a while so thought we'd go back as always been excellent - sadly not this time. We were the only people in the pub from arrival at...More

Thank Jules286903
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was surprised to read the negative reviews on here as we had a great experience. We were looking for a country pub with a varied menu instead of going to a pub in Portsmouth to take friends who were visiting us and the Red...More

2  Thank Steph H
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us.I am so glad you enjoyed your meal We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lunchtime meal midweek. Poor selection of choices on the menu. Nothing was offered with fresh vegetables. Service slow. The pub in my opinion needs a deep clean. Window seals and frames extremely grubby, as were the floors in toilet cubicles.

Thank Susan N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

came here just after Christmas with our two sets of parents had to use the back access as one party is wheel chairbound round the back is a mess with a broken bottle and junk every where inside is ok a bit dark and dingy...More

Thank Melanie H
56maureen, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

In response to your review We had just had very high winds the day before so yes there were possibly broken bottles in the back courtyard we also had our marquee blown down unfortunately I cannot do anything about the weather.Our coffee machine was playing...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice country village pub. The service is good and the food is okay however the plated dishes appear to be just reheated so vegetables tend to be overcooked and are all the same regardless of the menu item ordered. It seems to be a...More

Thank sailboat326
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

“If you order quickly and sit by the door we may be able to squeeze you in” was the friendly welcome.... felt unloved already. The beer was fine, hard to beat London Pride. I ordered steak and ale pie, I have been here a few...More

1  Thank texaskinger
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We come here fairly often and are always struck with what a quintessentially English country pub this is. Service at the bar is prompt and helpful, with a bowl of water available for doggie too. Love how the decor changes for the season - on...More

Thank StevePO16
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Pub has character and quite attractive with creative christmas decorations. Service was friendly and relaxed but at times a bit too slow.

Thank Kenshare
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

A festive meal in a lovely pub, suitably decked out for the season. The menu is imaginative and keenly priced, the only problem being what to choose as everything looks mouthwatering - and mostly homemade. In the end, all four of us went for a...More

Thank 747Trev747
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Waited an hour, Were given some excellent bread and butter to keep our spirits up and eventually served over- cooked, unpleasant ,spuds and veg with a) a very poor steak pie (not sure what was in the awful pastry) and a toughest bit of brisket...More

2  Thank Jamash186298
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Southwick Hotels
Premier Inn Portsmouth
29 reviews
2.15 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
552 reviews
2.17 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1,141 reviews
2.17 miles away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,289 reviews
2.20 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Golden Lion
427 reviews
.12 miles away
Southwick Village Store & Tea Rooms
16 reviews
.26 miles away
the seagull
326 reviews
2.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Southwick Brewhouse
25 reviews
.15 miles away
PlayZone Portsmouth
90 reviews
2.42 miles away
Furzeley Golf Club
14 reviews
2.45 miles away
Portchester Castle
516 reviews
2.53 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Southwick PO17 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southwick
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9237 7223
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing