We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
141
50
10
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
141
50
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie quiche sandwiches peanut butter cup salad apple dumpling french dip ice cream chicken front street visiting traverse city cherry slice dessert abc crust panera
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 1, 2020

We live in the area and have been to 5 or 6 different locations. All have a high standard of cleanliness and excellent food. The Coconut Cream Pie is the standard by which all other Coconut Pies are judged! Unfortunately this particular location gets a...FAIL. We normally eat at the WEST Front Street location but have twice tried this location, once was earlier this summer and again this Halloween. The Coconut Cream Pie was substandard. Mealy and not as flavorful. Really a huge disappointment when compared to the normal top quality we receive at the other location. We did not post a negative review the first time but now that we have had two in a row........ Such a bummer. Still gets a two for cleanliness and friendly, knowledgable staff.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
GTPIE, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Hi Pumpkin, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass this along to our team so we can check our recipe and process. We'd love to have the...More

Reviewed October 2, 2020

We never fail to get a pie (or 2) when visiting Traverse City. They have the best crusts and fillings of any pie anywhere! We also took a muffin and apple pastry. Everything they sell is of the highest quality.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
GTPIE, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 stars, St. Nick! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy our shop and especially our handmade pies, muffins, and pastries. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed July 18, 2020

Great menus. Breakfast wraps, egg soufflés , sandwiches & salads. Wonderful pies, apple dumplings. Will not be disappointed. Food is delicious

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GTPIE, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Kathy! We love to hear that you enjoy our shop. :) We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed June 30, 2020

This place just reopened a month ago. They make a real effort with Covid. They all wear masks, are socially distant and even the soft drink machine is closed. Good was good as usual. Service was fine. They really make an effort and it shows....They made us all wear masks when we entered.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
GTPIE, Agency / Consultant at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2020

Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to leave a review, Nardiesally! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and appreciated the extra safety precautions we have in place. :) We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

Cashier had major attitude. They were out of many things so I ordered a peanut butter cup. It was hard, dry and crumbly. Didn’t like it. The muffin was just ok. Blt was ok. Blueberry applesauce was good. Just guessing but I’m sure there are...better optionsMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
GTPIE, Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2020

Hi Kelly, thank you so much for visiting us and especially for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointing visit to our Downtown Traverse City shop. I'd love to have our General Manager give...More

Reviewed January 29, 2020

Love the selection of pies - especially love the crumb topping ones. Love the peanut butter cup cookie/cupcake. They are fair priced.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
GTPIE, Agency / Consultant at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2020

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy our handmade pies and baked goods. We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed January 7, 2020

Great stop on Front Street in Traverse City. They're known for their pies which are great. If you can't make up your mind, get the ABC pie. It's 1/3 apple, 1/3 blueberry and 1/3 cherry. They have small pies and other baked goods. Their soups...and sandwiches are great. Definitely a great breakfast, lunch and casual dinner spot. I ran in and bought a pie for us this afternoon. I purchase the ABC pie for new neighbors or , if we need to take something to a dinner.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
GTPIE, Owner at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing our pies with your friends and neighbors! We love to hear that you enjoy our Michigan ABC Pie so much and our handmade pies in general. We hope to see you again soon. :)

Reviewed October 26, 2019

We have been long time customers. As all the real restaurants were busy with the Saturday night crowd we decided to try the GT Pie Company to see if we could get in. They were not at all busy. That should have been a clue....We waited quite a while to get waited on which seemed odd as there were not many customers. My wife ordered her usual French Dip and I the Chicken Pot Pie which has always been good. First problem was those two items with water was just over $18.00. While waiting I discovered I could have had the same meal with a salad and a piece of pie for just a few cents more. When I mentioned it the lady told me that was a good deal. OK so she had my money, that was my fault. I should have read the specials. To be fair she did give us two pie tickets. When the food came my wife's sandwich was warm at best. I started on the pot pie. I learned that chicken and vegetables are not required, the meal was so salty I had to stop eating it. On top of that it was nearly all gravy with very (did I say very? I meant near none.) few vegetables and not one detectable hint of chicken,,, with very salty gravy. On the upside the crust was flaky ... On the down side I developed such a case of indigestion we had to go home. We always loved this place and we were saddened to see the place think that it was a good idea to serve this kind of meal. Too many great restaurants in TC. No intention of returning and wasting my money.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Erin M, Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hi Michael, thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to leave a review. However, I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointing pot pie. :( This is definitely not typical of our pot pies and we would love to have...More

Reviewed October 21, 2019

What, out of your specialty and no more today? They did offer to call their other outlet on the other side of town to see if they had any, and I could walk in the cold and rain way over there to have some. Disappointing.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Erin M, Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Hi Milton, thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to write a review. I'm so sorry to hear that we were out of Chicken Pot Pie during your visit. We try our best to predict demand each day and sometimes,...More

Reviewed September 17, 2019

We were give a gift card to use here while visiting Traverse City. When we arrived we had a hard time choosing, but got a small cherry pie to take to our cottage. We also enjoyed muffins and coffee while there. The pie was excellent...- perfect amount of tartness. The muffins and coffee's were also very good!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Erin M, Manager at Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Thank you very much for your wonderful 5-star review, Maribeth! We absolutely love to hear that you enjoyed your cherry pie as well as your muffins and coffee during your visit. We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again next time...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Park Place Hotel & Conference Center
671 reviews
.11 miles away
West Bay Beach, a Delamar Resort
1,136 reviews
.43 miles away
Bayshore Resort
1,059 reviews
.75 miles away
Grand Traverse Motel
89 reviews
1.00 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
amical
1,153 reviews
.05 miles away
Red Ginger
882 reviews
.03 miles away
Scalawags
246 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Front Street
914 reviews
.05 miles away
Clinch Park
235 reviews
.17 miles away
Monkey Fist Brewing Co.
23 reviews
.11 miles away
Boardman River Boardwalk
9 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Grand Traverse Pie Co. Downtown staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing