We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maru Sushi & Grill

927 Cherry St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506-1403
+1 616-458-1900
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“sashimi” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
927 Cherry St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506-1403
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to this restaurant for both of us. We were going to a play afterwards. I like sushi and enjoyed my dinner very much. Nice atmosphere

Thank suzannesL4093UW
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was delighted to find they had different sushi dishes than other sushi restaurants I've eaten at. The selections I chose were creative and flavorful; the presentation was exciting as well.

Thank camellad2017
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our usual go to restaurant when we go to Grand Rapids. But today was a disappointment, our usual rolls had less flavor and the sauces were skimpy if any. Our server didn't check on us. My husband waited for awhile for her to come back...More

Thank Lyn H
Richard R, Manager at Maru Sushi & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Lyn, I am truly sorry for your disappointing visit with us, I would love to have the chance to reach out to you and personally apologies for not living up to higher standards. Please feel free to reach out to me anytime today by...More

Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here the other day and it was absolutely amazing! Half off bottles of wine on Wednesdays and their vegetarian rolls were out of this world. I had to remind myself that I was eating veggies! Will definitely be back.

Thank michellemannn
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We were a party of four. Two sushi orders and two teriyaki orders.One was chicken teriyaki and the other shrimp. Both sushi orders were a mixture of everything. We all liked our choices and shared the meals as there was plenty for all. Tried many...More

Thank 1bedman1
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We tried this place when our plans to eat at the next door brewery fell through. We were the winners! The sushi was amazing. While sushi was our choice, we will go back with our children who do not eat sushi as there were plenty...More

Thank imkaced
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Disappointing! Arrived at 8:35 on Saturday evening with friends for dinner. Restaurant was busy but not packed - empty tables outside and inside. No drinks or appetizers since we had these at Vivant. Ordered dinner, which took one hour to arrive. After 45 minutes, I...More

Thank DMS1965
Richard R, Manager at Maru Sushi & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear valued customer, I am truly sorry for your visit the other evening. That level of service is not what we strive for here at Maru. We always strive to be the best when it comes to sushi and service, and that night we failed...More

Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

They have a good variety of vegetarian rolls which is nice. I can usually only eat 1/2 of one of the rolls. Today I got the green turtle. It was really good. Not as filling as some of the others I have ordered in the...More

Thank Glen_Arbor_Blues
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We wanted to take the kids out for some sushi and saw this place on the trip advisor reviews. The restaurant was packed when we showed up on a Saturday without reservations. I sent my kids and husband to wait outside while I checked in...More

2  Thank sasabella
Richard R, General Manager at Maru Sushi & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

I just came across this review and I wanted to personally apologize to you for your experience. In no way should this have happened, and it is embarrassing that you had to go through it. No matter what happened, we as a staff should be...More

Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed a glass of the moscato. It wasn't too sweet! The rio grande vegetarian roll was very good with the guacamole jalapeño sauce. I could barely eat half. $13 for the rolls and $9 for the moscato. Parking can be hard on the weekends.

Thank Glen_Arbor_Blues
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marie Catrib's of Grand Rapids
689 reviews
.08 miles away
The Green Well
586 reviews
.03 miles away
Grove
447 reviews
.04 miles away
Brewery Vivant
438 reviews
.00 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Meyer May House
350 reviews
.76 miles away
Heritage Hill Historic District
112 reviews
.75 miles away
La Grande Vitesse
50 reviews
.90 miles away
Fulton Street Farmers Market
31 reviews
.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Maru Sushi & Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 927 Cherry St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506-1403
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Kent County  >  Grand Rapids
  • Phone Number: +1 616-458-1900
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing