We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grill Room at The Kirby House

2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
+1 616-846-3299
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good36%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (27 reviews)
“salad” (15 reviews)
“scallops” (4 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Grill Room at the Kirby House has wonderful food. The steaks were wonderful and at least when we were there not very crowded. It is a little pricey as the meals are al carte but we loved the building the service was great.

Thank jengel42
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us in The Grill Room. We're glad to see you enjoyed the food and service!

Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

This evening my husband and I and my daughter and her husband and little boy wanted to have a nice dinner at the Kirby Grill. The atmosphere there is so nice as it is in and his stork buildings. But how disappointing we’re all of...More

2  Thank Janet K
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Janet, We're sorry to see your experience at The Kirby didn't me your expectations. It is nice to see the server handled the experience as well as she could. Please email Tim our GM @ triley@gilmorec.com so he can hear more about your receipt details.

Reviewed October 9, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here last Saturday night. We shared the mussels and they were fantastic. My wife had the whitefish special and i had the prime rib. Both meals tasted great and were good sized portions. Our server Desiree, made the whole...More

Thank CShier
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thank you so much for dining with us! We're very pleased to see you enjoyed everything about your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed September 26, 2017

My husband and I visted the Kirby House for the first time on our most recent trip to Grand Haven. The building is beautiful. We sat at the bar and had drinks and burgers. The food was good and so were the drinks. They had...More

Thank Abbey B
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Abbey, Thank you for joining us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed September 25, 2017

Came in for a late dinner on a Saturday. Had the mushroom gratin appetizer, it was OK, the bread it came with was of poor quality and no taste. Dinner entrees were small, bland tasting and overpriced. But the worst part was the drinks. I...More

Thank Neil P
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Neil, We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your night out with us at The Grill Room. We hope your server was able to correct what you didn't like while you were at the restaurant. Our Manhattans are made with Maker's Mark and are served...More

Reviewed September 18, 2017

We had a great evening out here with entertaining service from our waiter! Probably a bit pricey but would not deter us. The Grill room is a bit more formal than their other restaurants and not the place for kids, which suited us!

Thank 927paulsimpson
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Paul, Thank you for writing two reviews! We're very happy to see we did a nice job for you all around!

Reviewed August 17, 2017

Went to the Kirby Grill after many years of hearing people tout it and sing its praises. In retrospect, wasn't all that impressed. Came in for lunch on a Saturday so it wasn't extremely busy as I had heard it can sometimes be on a...More

Thank Mozzie12
Gilmore C, Public Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Mozzie, Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry you were dissapointed with the service and the food in The Kirby Grill. If you would be willing to share additional visit information with our GM, Tim would could look into this further to see where...More

Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for a special occasion and it was a bit of a let down. The waiter was friendly and the service good, though for most of the time we were the only ones in the room. My husband ordered the scallops and...More

Thank patriciabA2753PW
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Patricia, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear your experience wasn't excellent. Would you email Tim our GM at triley@gilmorec.com with more information about what night you dined with us and who your server was? Thanks again!

Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

The one is for atmosphere and our waiter, The Rev. My wife and I both had the Delmonico. They were very thin. Looked like they were breakfast steaks. Her's was filled with fat and tendons. The Rev took the appetizer off the bill. Would not...More

1  Thank Rick S
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Rick, We're sorry to hear your steak situation wasn't rectified for you while you dined. We will speak with Cole, "The Rev" and would appreciate if you share more detail about your visit including time and date so we can fully review this situation. Contact...More

Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Nice place with great food. Right on the main strip of Grand Haven. Service was a little slow but good experience overall.

Thank CDHIII
Gilmore C, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill Room at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for the great review and joining us for your night out!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Grand Haven
Serendipity Resort & Suites
35 reviews
.19 miles away
Rodeway Inn
143 reviews
1.15 miles away
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
368 reviews
1.31 miles away
Baymont by Wyndham Grand Haven
766 reviews
1.40 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Toasted Pickle
152 reviews
.10 miles away
Odd Side Ales
161 reviews
.06 miles away
The Baker's Wife
73 reviews
.10 miles away
Elegance of the Seasons
43 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Haven State Park
430 reviews
.95 miles away
The Musical Fountain
377 reviews
.01 miles away
Tri-Cities Historical Museum
74 reviews
.17 miles away
Lighthouse Connector Park
34 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Grill Room at The Kirby House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $40
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special occasions, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Washington Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1353
    (Harbor Drive)
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Ottawa County  >  Grand Haven
  • Phone Number: +1 616-846-3299
Description
The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;