We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kirby House

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeout or delivery at this time.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $30
CUISINES
American, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
109
105
71
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
109
105
71
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mahi tacos pizza steak rice nice atmosphere great dinner menu items downtown grand haven kirby waitstaff
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 3, 2022 via mobile

Asked the bartender to make us an old fashioned, he said it was his favorite to make. Could not have been farther from the truth worst drink I’ve ever had. Especially for the cost. Over priced under delivery !

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Gilmore C, General Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2022

Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your old fashioned. If you would like to share more about how the drink was made or how we could have improved it, please email triley@gilmorec.com.

Reviewed October 12, 2021 via mobile

I love when a restaurant embraces menu items that appeal to more tastes than just traditional bar food. You can tell that the owner and chef appreciate Asian flavors. As someone who has many food intolerances, this menu had many choices for me. I chose...the Kirby House Chicken Cashew Stir-Fry. My son had the 8oz steak and my husband went with a simple chickens Cesar salad. If I had one complaint is that was too much rice in the stir fry. I’d rather have less and a choice for brown rice. This place is huge. They must do well during the busy summer months.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2021

Thank you for noticing the variety on the menu! We are glad you enjoyed the stir-fry (a local (and personal) favorite). We do hope you will and your family will visit us again soon :)

Reviewed September 6, 2021 via mobile

We decided to stop here as it seemed busy. They don’t have many choices on the menu but the atmosphere and people were nice. The food is average.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2021

I am sorry you did not enjoy the options of our menu. We do strive to offer a variety and I wish we had something to your liking. If you would like to share more please email triley@gilmorec.com.

Reviewed August 24, 2021 via mobile

Because of Covid, staff shortages not open everyday. Not much open on Mondays and Tuesdays in downtown Grand Haven. The menu is changed to a majority of bar food and the overblown choice of pizza. This town is way heavy on Mexican and pizza. The...peanut sauce on my chicken was disgusting, thick and tasted more like butterscotch topping. Ok for bar food but definitely no longer fine dining. Probably because they can’t hire staff. I’ll go to Muskegon or Saugatuck for good food.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2021

I am sorry that we disappointed you on your most recent visit and that you don't enjoy what Grand Haven has to offer in general. Please email triley@gilmorec.com if you would like to share more.

Reviewed August 15, 2021

The Kirby House is a regular stop for me when I'm in Grand Haven. This time it was for dinner. The service was outstanding and the food was good. The salads were fresh and crispy and the stir-fry was enough to bring home for a...second meal.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2021

Nicolle, thank you for the review. We are grateful for your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit. (The stir-fry is even better on day 2, if you can believe that!)

Reviewed August 4, 2021

My teenage daughter and I had dinner here on our first night in Grand Haven. We sat on the first floor out back on the open porch. Our server was super friendly, and food was ready so fast. I had a pizza, and my daughter...had some kind of Asian rice bowl that was her favorite meal of our whole trip. We would for sure go back here!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2021

Thank you, Jeannie, for the great review. We are glad your visit was memorable and we hope you'll be back soon! (The cashew chicken stir-fry has been a local favorite for years ;) )

Reviewed July 26, 2021

Judging by how popular the restaurant is, I had higher expectations. We came on Saturday, July 24th and my party of 5 (all over 21) was seated in the back area with the garage doors. The girl that helped us was working the entire back...room by herself, with two 5-tops, one group of 6, and another large family as well. Plus they all had kids! She did an EXCELLENT job, but the Kirby House needs to hire more waitstaff to cover large areas like that because that poor girl was busting her buns to make sure we were all taken care of. The food itself was fine, everything is overpriced for what it is though. Pictured in this review is what some of us got: Farmer's garden salad ($8.99), Rosemary Fries ($7.99), Crispy chicken sandwich ($12.99), and the spiced Mahi tacos ($14.99). The Mahi tacos were the big winner of the night, but the rest of the entrees were average at best. Maybe other main courses are better, though I was just a visitor the area so I don't know if I'll ever find out. Honestly, you can go other places that will give you a better option set for the same price or cheaper.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2021

I am sorry that this was your experience. I am sure you are aware there is a hiring crisis in our nation and we too, are effected by that as well as being effected by supply issues and the rising cost of ingredients. I am...More

Reviewed May 31, 2021 via mobile

Great location, but with this location they can stay in business only providing expensive "Tourist Cuisine" with a level of quality that shouts, "We don't care what you think, there are customers like you born every minute" and there is some waiting for your seat.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2021

I am sorry that this was your experience. I assure you, this is not our philosophy. We care about every guest that comes in the building. The local community is key to our success. We greatly appreciate their support and work hard to be a...More

Reviewed April 24, 2021 via mobile

Great atmosphere, everyone is so friendly. We had a great server, Hannah. Thank you Hannah for making our dining experience better! But the food is disappointing. Chicken lettuce wrap is nothing special, grilled chicken and veggies with dipping sauce (sauce is tasty). Drunken noodle is...a failure, seems like the chef can’t decide how it is supposed to taste? We complaint to the server which she took it back and she admitted that they have had many complaints regarding Drunken Noodle dish. Why have they kept it in their menu? Mahi tacos is pretty good, but the guacamole does not like appetizing as it has turned brownish green and does not taste fresh. Wet burrito is sweet and has no smell (needs more spice?). This place is packed, because the atmosphere is great. However, because we went there to eat, I would have to give 2 stars for the food. Might be the food choice we ordered are not their specialty. We are not coming back.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2021

I am sorry this was the experience you had with our menu and food. Please email triley@gilmorec.com to share more about your experience and encouragement to visit us again.

Reviewed April 7, 2021

This was our first dinner at Kirby in several years. The Kirby used to be our first choice when dining in Grand Haven but no longer. The atmosphere is excellent, the view was great but we were not happy with our dinner choice. Fish and...Chips were one of the specials on the menu for $11.99. The fries were delicious....but the fish were all exactly the same shape and the same size...looked and tasted like they were fresh from the frozen food section at the grocery store..picture Gortons frozen fish fillets. It will be a while before we try again. I must mention that every pizza we saw being delivered to a different table looked amazing -perhaps we will give that a try if we go back.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2021

I am sorry we disappointed you on your recent visit. We are known for our pizza and I encourage you to come back and try that. If you would like to share more about your experience, please email triley@gilmorec.com to share more.

Reviewed March 20, 2021 via mobile

Good menu food and drink! Great atmosphere. Covid-19 protocols where followed. Sit down dine in. Busy but not a long wait.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Gilmore C, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you noticed all the care we are taking with the ever changing COVID 19 protocols. Please join us again soon.

Reviewed October 18, 2020

Kirby needs a major overhaul. The tables were dirty & sticky and our table was right next to the swinging door into the kitchen . . .not the best ambience. The downstairs area is dark and creepy and the bathrooms filthy. But good thing we...had our masks on...smh.... Our food was medicore at best . .cold french fries and all the orders did not arrive at the same time. We had a nice server but lackluster service. We dined earlier in the summer and sat on the outside "porch". That at least had fresh air . ..More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
MattD760, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2020

I am sorry you did not enjoy enjoy your experience. Please reach out to us directly at triley@gilmorec.com to share more of your opinions on how we can improve and how we can motivate you to give us another try.

Reviewed August 25, 2020

Service was the best part of our visit, but food, drinks, and outdoor seating were also v nice. Pleasant dinner experience. Had pizza w no cheese (flexible with dietary needs) and (cow) tacos. Both dishes were good. Server (also a manager, named Jennifer??) was on...top of things despite how busy they were and pretty funny as well. (Moo, haha). Tried to eat there again second night but the wait - which is the same at all downtown GH restaurants (maybe they need more restaurants?!) - had us leaving the area for a quicker bite. Would eat here again and recommend to friends :)More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MattD760, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Thanks for the great review, Melissa! Jessica is great and we love here around here. I am glad you had an awesome experience and sorry we missed an opportunity to serve you again the following night. Thanks for understanding a wait is standard in GH...More

Reviewed August 19, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I decided to try this place as we had never at there in our previous trips to GH and they had a large outside eating area. We were quickly seated (which was surprising) and decided on the wet burrito. Food arrived fairly...quickly and was tasty although it was not remarkable. We didn’t like the fact that when we were asked if we wanted gauc, sour cream and pico de Galla that we would be charged 75 cents each for them. I mean they were the size of Jell-O shots. So for an extra $4.50 we got a “taste” of sides. Again not a deal breaker and we did find it mentioned on the menu, but it seemed a bit cheap.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
MattD760, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Dave, thanks for joining us. I am glad you enjoyed most of your experience. If you would like to share how we can improve, please email triley@gilmorec.com.

Reviewed August 5, 2020 via mobile

With covid19, we are outside on front, though they have upstairs patio and seating in back. Many people inside too wearing masks when moving around. Simple menu, we loved ourc3 dinners. Waiter gave great input on choices. Lemonade great too. Great views of town and...waterfront. And a cool historic building worth looking around. We will go back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MattD760, Agency / Consultant at The Kirby House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2020

Jay, thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for noticing all our building has to offer! We look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Serendipity Resort & Suites
38 reviews
.18 miles away
Rodeway Inn
159 reviews
1.17 miles away
Holiday Inn Grand Haven-Spring Lake, an IHG Hotel
46 reviews
1.31 miles away
Best Western Beacon Inn
656 reviews
1.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Toasted Pickle
249 reviews
.10 miles away
Pronto Pup
297 reviews
.21 miles away
Odd Side Ales
210 reviews
.06 miles away
The Baker's Wife
98 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grand Haven Musical Fountain
457 reviews
.04 miles away
Tri-Cities Historical Museum
92 reviews
.17 miles away
Lighthouse Connector Park
40 reviews
.09 miles away
Train Depot Museum
32 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
VMcKelvey
August 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SHARON C | Reviewed this property |
Casual attire is okay, just not bathing suits. :). What you would wear to a sports bar would be acceptable.
1
Vote
Erin B
July 29, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RoxyRedwing | Reviewed this property |
I think it's first come first serve, but it's worth a phone call to double check.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kirby House

Yes, The Kirby House offers takeout services.

The Kirby House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4