We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oma's Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
19896526627
Website
Today
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 469: English reviews
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would HIGHLY Recommend the Mac n Cheese...but everything else was okay. We were a large group (12) and it took awhile for our food. The service was friendly and she kept us with drinks. I did try the Potato Cakes (recommended by another TripAdvisor reviewer). To me they seemed like 'tater tots' not a German Delicacy.

Helpful?
Thank magicmom71
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Day magicmom71 Thank you for your nice recommendations about the Mac n Cheese that was posted on Trip Advisor. I appreciate that you took the time to do so. I am happy to see the server was friendly and attentive. Please consider us in the future for your dining needs when visiting Frankenmuth in the future. Sincerely Imelda Leix... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Food was fair -- we avoided the schnitzel as I had read bad review. Service was fine -- we waited about 30 minutes for our food - we had the reuben eggroll which was good but very rich. It's a bit tacky inside the restaurant and needs updating. i wouldn't go again.

Helpful?
Thank 27Danad27
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 27Danad27 Thank you for your comments that will be taken under consideration when revising menus. I appreciate all the comments that are posted to Trip Advisor. Thank you for trying our Reuben Egg Rolls. Our family atmosphere depicts that of what you may see in family restaurants in Germany. Enjoy the rest of your summer and please reconsider another... More 

Canton, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sat outside with some live music and enjoyed appetizers and wine. The pretzel and cheddar ale dip is good and big enough to feed 4 easy. Ditto for the potato pancakes and cheese dumplings. All good and a relaxing spot.

Helpful?
Thank TomFNY
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Evening TomFNY Thank you for posting your observations about our Schnitzelbank Biergarten and Oma's Dining Room on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the kind words you offered about our outside entertainment area and the food selections you enjoyed. Please visit again and consider trying our Reuben Egg Rolls. Sincerely Imelda Leix General Manager More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice variety of menu items as well as breakfast buffet. If you want bacon with breakfast you will need to order from the menu, as the buffet has lots of variety, and it seems everything but bacon.

Helpful?
Thank autopainter
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Day autopointer Thank you for your nice comments that you shared on Trip Advisor. So sorry that the day's selection on the Breakfast Buffet did not include bacon. We have a rotational menu. If you elect to order off the menu, please try our Banana Nut Bread French Toast which is very popular. Also, the Farmers Breakfast gives you... More 

Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the supposedly Jaeger Schnitzel.was awful not fully cooked, raw inside. Server was very forgetful had to ask 3 times for the cream we requested. She blamed it on a long working day ?????? Will never ever eat there again

Helpful?
Thank loreh66
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Afternoon loreh66 Please accept my apologies for the terrible experience you had while visiting. I hope we were able to correct these problems before you departed. Thank you for your comments. Imelda Leix General Manager More 

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner at Oma's... awesome food ... service was amazing ... would definitely recommend ... Caesar salad! Fabulous!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank OTravelBug
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Morining OTravelBug Thank you for posting your comment to Trip Advisor on Oma's Dining Room at the Bavarian Inn Lodge. I appreciate how you summed up the food and the service and am happy you enjoyed the Caesar salad. We are also featuring a German Chef salad and the Harvest Steak salad has been very popular and may even... More 

Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food and service were great! One of the adults in our party was celebrating their birthday the night we ate at Oma's and our waitress left our table to find someone who could wish them a Happy Birthday in German! Great Service!

Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Morning Andrea S Thank you for your kind words that were posted on Trip Advisor about your Birthday Celebration in Oma's Dining room. I am delighted to see our staff made your get together a memorable experience. Thank you for choosing the Bavarian Inn Lodge as your destination. Sincerely Imelda Leix General Manager More 

Nappanee, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got back from town about 3:30. To early for dinner. Had a coffee and baileys and some kind of stuffed potato puffs that were great. Even though we had a limited order we were taken care of very well by the wait staff. We will eat dinner there the next time we are in town.

Helpful?
Thank kmiller2
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Day kmiller2 Thank you for choosing Oma's Dining Room for your afternoon snack. I am happy to see you were well taken care of by our staff. The potato cheese dumplings is a recipe from our parent company the Bavarian Inn Restaurant although the size is slightly different. Another popular item is our Reuben Egg Roll as a suggestion... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After being disappointed at one of the mega restaurants that seats 1500+ people, we tried this one. Had dinner one day and lunch the next. Can't be too bad, we returned. I was with my sister and our spouses. Enjoyed the potato pancakes and the Taco Ruebens were great. I had the schnitzel. Price was good but mine was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rallybob
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Morning Rallybob Thank you for your comments about Oma's Dining Room and the food you enjoyed for lunch and breakfast. I am happy to see the staff was pleasant and you found the prices to be good. I apologize the cook chose to use the end cut of the bread to make your Reuben. Please visit again on your... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here 1 night, the Reuben egg roll was delicious and same goes for the German potato pancakes, they were served with baked apples, sour cream, bacon bits. They don't serve the pancakes the same way for breakfast. The following day we went back for lunch. I wanted to try the Reuben sandwich. Everyone else's sandwich was fine, mine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Letsgomets05
Imelda L, General Manager at Oma's Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Day Letsgomets05 Thank you for your constructive comments about your meals while dining at the Bavarian Inn Lodge in Oma's Dining Room. I am happy to see you tried some of our most popular items. I apologize for the use of the heel on the Reuben sandwich. On your next visit, let me suggest you try the Banana Nut... More 

Travelers who viewed Oma's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $19
Cuisine
American, German, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
  • Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Frankenmuth
  • Phone Number: 19896526627
Description
Oma's Restaurant is a quaint Bavarian theme Restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Oma's (Meaning Grandma's) is located within the Bavarian Inn Lodge and hosts locals and day trip visitors as well as hotel guests. It is a "best kept" secret for having short or no waits at lunch time in Frankenmuth when other restaurants are lined out the door. American and German fare are served and pizza is made from scratch to your liking! Enjoy some of the most FUN servers in the region with great food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oma's Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oma's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?