We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 South St, Southbridge, MA 01550-4006
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:45 am - 2:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 1:45 pm - 7:00 pm
Tue - Sat 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wed - Fri 11:45 am - 2:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 151: English reviews
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped in on a Sunday evening to celebrate our 51 wedding anniversary. We have been here many times before to celebrate my birthdays and the quality of the food and service have never faltered, always being excellent. My wife had a large and delicious piece of salmon. It was large enough so that she ate the... More 

Thank Dino T
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner after reading the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Had a taste for Sauerbraten. I was politely greeted at the door, then was asked for my name and phone number (which I thought a bit odd); there was only one other diner, an older gentlemen, in the restaurant. I was told to sit where I'd like.... More 

Thank FamilyGuySCS
Level Contributor
460 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2016

We keep going back to the Vienna restaurant because it's such a great experience. Great German (Austrian) food, romantic atmosphere, and excellent service. There don't seem to be many German restaurants in New England, which is a pity, but the Vienna tries to make up for the shortage, in their part of central Massachusetts. I had the tafelspitz entrée, which... More 

2 Thank MassCouple2
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2016

After receiving a warm greeting at the door we were escorted to a window table overlooking the outdoor patio. Our server (I am so sorry I can not recall his name at the moment) was very pleasant and well acquainted with the menu. He provided excellent recommendations based on our dietary requirements. Our lunch order included: Wiener Schnitzel along with... More 

1 Thank Elizabeth G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Found the inn online. Liked what I saw. Had mixed reviews. Decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Had dinner and drinks with my brother and sister and their spouses. Everyone raved about the food. Even had vegetarian choices for me. Moderately priced. Service was spectacular. The inn keepers paid special attention to details. McKenzie was super friendly... More 

1 Thank davlinphilly
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We have recently returned to the US after living abroad in Germany. Our dinners brought memories of our time overseas. Our Jagerschnitzel and Tafelspitz were authentic and wonderful. Our waitress was excellent and the Hostess of the Inn greeted us like old friends. The German beer and welcoming fire pit topped off an amazing evening! Visit here and enjoy a... More 

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Soggy not hot low grade entrees not traditional, was hoping for better as it was expensive to eat this kind of foods....... disappointed

11 Thank Karen P
gardener1Sturbridge, Owner at Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen, First we would like to know when you visited us as we are puzzled by what entrees you ordered that were "Soggy"? It's quite vague to us and were hoping for more details of your experience so other trip Advisor followers can learn from your review. We offer pheasant cuisine from Austro-Hungary and they are as traditional as... More 

Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2016

We hadn't been here for at least 10 years, but were invited by some local friends to join them. We had heard some strange stories about the place but that it had been spruced up and the ownership was trying harder, so.... why not? Service was fine, however the food was late, cold, and tasteless. It looks like it has... More 

29 Thank happyeater8
gardener1Sturbridge, Owner at Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Diner, We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed our other restaurant the Metro Bistrot, as we see you gave it a great review. It's a shame that we didnt' have a chance to meet and would love to know the day you visited and the server who served your group. We see there is no description of a single... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely dinner at Vienna while traveling in the area. The restaurant encompasses the lower floor of the Inn, so it is small and intimate. Decor and ambiance are lovely, and the smaller size allows for conversation. We enjoyed our entrees and dessert. The restaurant appeared to be slightly understaffed the night we were there. While the waiter was... More 

2 Thank Brettson
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

My aunt is originally from South Tyrol. My mom and I visited her family there once for 3 weeks. It was a little piece of heaven! So, every now and then, I search for German, Austrian, Hungarian restaurants that might serve up some homemade sauerbraten, sausage, spätzle, goulash, etc. to visit. We decided to venture out to this Historic Inn... More 

15 Thank w0rldtravelerwannbe
gardener1Sturbridge, Manager at Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn, responded to this review

Hello, It was a pleasure taking care of your trio last April. It's disappointing to see your unhappy review as I was the waitress who took care of you. I'm flabbergasted by your unfortunate 2 star review. We are flexible and want out guests to go home happy but at the same time by no means are we mind readers.... More 

Travelers who viewed Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn also viewed


Been to Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$18 - $32
German, Austrian, European, Steakhouse, Swiss, International, Hungarian, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
1:45 pm - 7:00 pm
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:45 am - 2:30 pm
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:45 am - 2:30 pm
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
11:45 am - 2:30 pm
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 South St, Southbridge, MA 01550-4006
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Southbridge
  • Phone Number: 15087640700
Casual to suit & tie, Have a beer or 5-courses. Austro-Hungarian, vegan and Local Steaks to fine dining, fireside tables every day of the year inside or out. Historic settting from 1840's with a 200 year copper beech tree. From appetizers to salads and Chateaubriand for two table-side. Viennese desserts, espresso and full bar. Front porch dining with extensive beer and wine list. Easy -off 1-84 and Mass Pike 1-90.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Holden, Massachusetts
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?