We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lobster Pot

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
About
"A Provincetown tradition" to those visiting the Outer Cape, our two waterfront dining rooms provide the harbor view while our full menu, served all day, offers the finest & freshest in seafood, Portuguese specialties, steaks, poultry, vegetarian and light fare. Cocktails served in the "TOP" of the Pot bar...famous for our Bloody Mary's & Signature Drinks.. Home of Tim's award winning Clam Chowder. ZAGAT Survey...Top Restaurants on Cape Cod.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups
FEATURES
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (4,011)
Filter reviews
3,746 results
Traveler rating
2,194
1,022
361
114
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
2,194
1,022
361
114
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster pumpkin bread clambake chowder portuguese fish oysters rockefeller mango salad steamers fresh seafood potatoes bouillabaisse fries cakes p town cape cod worth the wait
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

After weeding out other local restaurants we decided on The Lobster Pot for lunch. It has many very nice menu choices. Atmosphere is casual. Staff and our waiter Ron are very nice, knowledgeable and accommodating. Seafood was fresh. All four of the entrees we ordered...were great, including the Oysters Rockefeller and house salad. My favorite out the four entrees in our party was the P-Town Paella, next the Lobster Primavera, Lobster Pot Pie and the Seafood Orecchiette. The rolls were a little dry, but the pumpkin bread was very good. Cocktails were delicious and fun. Wait was not long. Price was decent. DIning has a water view (it's right on a beachy area). There is a deck for outdoor dining but it looked closed. Bathrooms are clean. No private or street parking, but parking is nearby around the corner in municipal lot, $3.50/hr. Everyone was practicing social distancing and all workers wore masks.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, Guest Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for joining us Dale and we appreciate the insights you shared in your review. As a family business operating in this location since 1979 we work very hard to ensure our guests have a quality dining experience. You touched on a lot of good...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Excited to get to taste their award winning clam chowder! First customers of the day. Food was decent, thin broth, but service was totally atrocious. Our waiter, Tony, cared little if anything about our table of five. He acted as if it was the last...meal of the day. First, he assumed we all wanted waters and never asked anyone if we cared for a drink. That oversight can be overlooked. However, his delivery service was totally rude. When you place a plate on the table, you don’t drop it then slide it to a guest, especially a bowl of clam chowder or a sandwich plate. He did! But, what was really disturbing was his “throwing” a single packet of oyster crackers across at 2 guests; It was really insulting. What happened to a basket of crackers? Talking to the manager and telling him about the service, his first comments were “Tony has been with us a long time, and, I will talk with him!“ Apparently, servers are hard to come by. He then said he would comp us desserts...! No way in this world would I allow Tony to serve me another plate of any kind. One could only speculate about the contents of those dishes. Worst service ever in my 67 years!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Sorry your experience was not up to our standards. Tony has indeed been with us for many years and the service you describe seems completely out of the norm and not an accurate representation of character as an employee or as a person. Regardless of...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Love this place every time we visit! The house salad (with their classic mixed dressing) the Portuguese soup are musts!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks David! The Portuguese Soup has been a hit for years and pays tribute to the local culture. Glad you like it!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is our first time in Provincetown and the Lobster Pot was recommended to us by various people so we thought this was just the local tourist spot but holy cow were we surprised. We decided to go for an early dinner and when we...arrived we were greeted at the door by a very friendly guy. With that our names were added to the list and we didn’t wait more than 10 minutes before we were told our table was ready. We were met by Shawn who told us he had a very special table for us and brought us to a table on the back patio which was amazing. Overlooking the bay and the pier. Shawn was amazing and friendly and offered his recommendations for the oyster rockerfeller and mango halibut. Then Matthew was introduced to us and he brought our experience to another level. He was patient, answered our questions and offered his recommendations. Not only did we have an amazing meal the service, atmosphere and feeling of being welcomed will have us recommending the Lobster Pot without hesitation. We even bought their cookbook!! Thank you Shawn for your hospitality, Matthew for your attentiveness and the entire staff who work to make the great food served.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, Guest Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It's so nice to hear that every part of your experience was up to our standards! Our goal is to make your visit memorable for all the right reasons and it sounds like it worked out well from the front door on in. Shawn is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Long line to get in but it was well worth it and we lucked out and got one of the 2 tables outside overlooking the beach. Food was great. Lobster roll is packed so high. Wicked good, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wicked Good is what we like to hear Ryan! Thanks for coming in and glad it worked out well for you with the seating. See you next time!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s my understanding they do not take reservations, so we took a chance at 6:30 for a table for 6. They took our name and no more than 10 min later we had a table. Of the drinks, a Bloody Mary was ordered and she...really enjoyed it. For meals, Oysters Rockefeller, lobster bisque in a bread boll, Lobster Reuben, clam chowder and a Tuna Poke. All meals were delicious. With the view, atmosphere, meal, and staff- Id recommend and return- next time for a 3lb lobsterMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, Guest Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review and we're happy you had a nice meal. Timing was excellent and it seems things went well from there. See you for that 3lb lobster next time!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As soon as we walked in the door to be seated we were greeted by Shawn who treated us as if we were coming home to dinner. LOL The staff was excellent and attentive with some great recommendations. It was my wife and myself who...needed this trip in this crazy new world with covid 19. At no time did we not feel that the Lobster Pot was doing everything to make our visit to their restaurant feel comfortable and safe. The food was absolutely amazing. Chowder was one of the best we have had, Oyster Rockefeller's were the best we have ever had and our meals were incredible. As much as I was in the mood for a lobster roll the lobster newberg was recommended by Shawn and I never looked back this was just what the Dr. ordered and completed my taste buds. My wife seemed to think the same of the Swordfish dinner. Would go back in a heartbeat.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for coming in with the Mrs. Rick. Shawn is one of the family that owns this business and is as dedicated as it gets. Most important, we're so glad you felt safe and comfortable here. We've all put a lot of work into making...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first (of hopefully many) meals at the Lobster Pot! The Ptown Paella did not disappoint at all - adding the 1/2 lobster made amazing! Hope to come back again soon!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We always love to hear that new guests enjoyed their visit Rafael. Thanks for joining us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We showed up without reservations so there was an hour wait. They would text when ready. They texted earlier than expected. We had delicious drinks and dinner. I personally do not eat lobster and had a salad and added the steak. It was great. We...sat on the upper floor, the staff was following all covid procedures. I highly recommend!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, General Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good to have you here Jessica! Thanks for joining us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were seated without waiting on a Monday at noon time. Upstairs, with nice view of beach/harbor. Terrific waiter—nice as can be! (Kids commented that everyone in Provincetown seem so nice ). Food was excellent. REALLY good lobster. We were sort of sorry we had...booked dinner at another restaurant in P-Town—family wanted to come back!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ptownlobsterpot, Guest Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for bringing the family in to dine with us Doc! We always like to hear when new people are experiencing our place. Provincetown really is a welcoming community and when the kids pick up on it, that makes us all happy. Hopefully we'll see...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sandy Neck Motel
49 reviews
24.87 miles away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
858 reviews
24.83 miles away
Kingfisher Lodging
45 reviews
22.76 miles away
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
113 reviews
22.71 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Post Office Cafe
753 reviews
.04 miles away
The Landing Bistro & Bar at Pilgrim House
302 reviews
.09 miles away
Provincetown Portuguese Bakery
590 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kennedy Gallery & Studios
22 reviews
.10 miles away
Julie Tremblay Gallery
11 reviews
.10 miles away
Specialty Charters
54 reviews
.12 miles away
Provincetown Waterfront Memorial Park
10 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lyn6765
August 24, 2020|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ptownlobsterpot | Property representative |
We have a few tables on the decks but they are highly sought after. When guests check in with the hosts outside they will have the latest info on availability of those tables as well as the inside dining rooms. Not that a... More
1
Vote
amy m
October 7, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ptownlobsterpot | Property representative |
Hello! It's from a bakery in Malden, MA called La Marca & Sons. The actual loaf is called "Something Sweet Without Wheat". It's made with Brown Rice Flower, Tapioca Flower, White Rice Flower, Gluten Free Oats, Eggs... More
1
Vote
DenCoak138
October 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ptownlobsterpot | Property representative |
Thank you! A New item for this season and its seems that everyone enjoys it!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing