We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $50
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Bar, Sushi
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
2
2
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
2
2
5
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 26, 2020

we have been 2 times to this place for lunch buffet and it was vert good. Tonight 7 of us went to Sunday dinner buffet. I have to say that we almost did not go because of someone who gave it very lousy review. So...glad we did! First about the price that one person complained about. Yes, it is 21.95 for dinner. Where else you can have dinner cheaper, maybe McDonald? The variety was great, the food is fresh and hot. Especially we liked the seafood dishes, including Ginger lobster and spicy fried scallops. there was so many choices , I could not try all dishes. everyone in our group liked it and we will be back! On the top of it, the staff is very nice!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Tried the Sunday buffet for first time, no idea of price since cannot find it anywhere online, came to realize why. Not sure which was worse, the price or the mediocre and limited array of food. The so-called hot and sour soup was unrecognizable. It...looked and tasted like a mildly spiced tomato soup with small bits of vegetables. The egg drop soup had bits of tomato and possibly celery, ruining the flavor. The food was not necessarily all bad, just odd. General Gau had an odd sauce, not really tasty at all. The fried scalloped were spoiled by making it spicy. No crab legs, by the way, which might have justified the higher than typical price, $22 !! The susui was OK, as were the crab rangoon which were larger than normal. The seemed to go out of their way to make traditional chinese items different, but failed to make them appetizing. The bill was the final blow. They even charged another $2.25 for a Coke, making it roughly $25, so $50 for the 2 of us for a buffet. We left feeling like we had been robbed. We will never make this same mistake twice!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 31, 2019

My first time visit and found the staff to be friendly and inviting. The bar area was spacious although we sat in the dining room. We were immediately greeted by our waiter. We ordered mango mai tais and was told that they didn't have the...mango on hand to make our drinks. The food was pretty good however both the fried rice and green beans seemed to be a bit salty yet the chicken chow mein didn't have much flavor. Would go again and order other choices.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Dinner on a recent Friday was good. The sushi here is pretty solid. Highlight for me was the warm service from an authentic crew. The Chinese dishes seemed super sauce-heavy. Beer and wine list is average. The clientele seems to have thinned out since opening....Overall, this is a good in-town option if you’re in the mood for Chinese.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

I have not written a review that is as poor as this one will be. We wanted to try Jade as our “go to” takeout was closed due to the gas situation. It was early on a Friday evening and we called our order on...the way home. The parking lot was full, but there were only 2 people eating in the restaurant just before 6 pm. Bad sign right there. We had ordered shrimp and vegetable tempura, hot and sour soup, Shanghai noodles and house fried rice. The tempura was different-it seemed like they used panco bread crumbs which is not true tempura. We got 2 shrimp and 2 small pieces of vegetables. It was fair, but nothing I would order again. The hot and sour soup was horrible. It was pink, not brown and tasted like sweet chili sauce mixed with water. We ordered the house fried rice thinking that it would be their best option for a rice dish. It was your typical day old refried rice with tiny canned shrimp. Not fresh and really disappointing. The absolute worst dish was the Shanghai noodles. Tasteless glob of thin noodles with a few shredded carrots and scallions. It really was served as a glob of noodles. I have never thrown food out but I threw this dish, the soup and the rice out. Not worth the calories or the risk of getting sick from old food. Sorry Jade, this was a swing and a big miss.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
KennyF398, General Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

It was shot and sadly to see your review, the parking lot full and less customers in my Restaurant before the rush hours, thank you and I will discuss this issues with my landlord. The shrimp tempura appetizer is our style and different than others,...More

Reviewed October 21, 2018

Went to the Jade Restaurant after not wanting to over eat at the China Blossom up the road. This was our second visit to the Jade after an uninspiring first visit.After a hassle to find a parking spot, we finally parked in front of the...Heart Safe entrance which is reserved for patients going into that office. I figured since I am one of their patients, they probably would not have me towed even though the sign stated that you would be towed. If I did have a heart attack from being towed then I could just go right in the doctor's office. It is probably more of an issue during the day as we went on a Friday night. One problem with the parking in front of the Jade Restaurant is that they leave too many spots for take out orders being picked up. You can't have the pick up people walking too far to get their orders, it might hurt their take out business so make the dine in customers have to hike in and worry about getting towed but I digress. The food was ordinary but edible. My tip is to double dip the restaurant. I got a paper coupon in the mail for a free appetizer when you ordered two entrees which we did. Then you can get 20% off excluding tip of your bill when you link your credit card with groupon. The good part is that you don't even have to do anything other than link your credit card up and pay with it. It costs nothing through groupon unlike some of their other deals. Before I even drove home, groupon had already credited my charge card the 20%. Now that is the American Way, a legal double dip. My only issue is the supposed free appetizer we got. When I presented the paper coupon to the server, she went and spoke to the manager. I don't know if we only got 4 pieces of steak because they were free of is that how much they usually give. I'm going to call the restaurant some time and ask how many pieces of steak they give in their steak skewers. My wife thinks I'm nuts but I have to know. If anyone else knows please send me a message.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
Kenny F, Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi, Thank for tried Jade Restaurant and the free appetizer coupon is for $10 and under. For the appetizer we serve as regular and not because it free then we will make it smaller portions. The main purpose for us, want everyone trying our meals...More

Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in unexpectedly after a disappointing experience at a neighboring restaurant. We sat at the bar having drinks and appetizers and loved it. The bartenders were so friendly. Great experience. We will be back!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
KennyF398, Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you very much for checking us in Jade, see you guys soon.

Reviewed September 19, 2018

Went here for a birthday dinner with the family, we sat in the bar area, the bartender was also our server. She was very attentive and even made suggestions. The rice was cooked perfectly! Not mushy and not chewy and not greasy. The appetizers had...great flavor and were not greasy. The place was clean and new looking. We will be back.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
KennyF398, General Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday dinner in Jade, happy to see your guys soon.

Reviewed June 27, 2018

Came here with a friend for our monthly "Sushi Dinner" night. We were both not disappointed with what we had gotten. The Jade is very clean, open and spacious. Staff is very courteous and helpful. We got the Sushi Couple, Edamame, Idaho Maki. Everything was...so super fresh and delicious! They even cut our Sushi Couple pieces so that we could share 50/50. They offer a buffet which I would like to come back and sample. Plenty of free parking also.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
Kenny F, Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We will keep the high standard and looking forward to serving you again.

Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Beautifully designed new facility. Service is satisfactory. Food is meh. The spicy tuna nigiri was tasty, but frankly, that’s the only thing we ordered that was tasty. We had the Jade’s Style Shrimp and the Shanghai Pan Fried Noodles. I had to add soy sauce...to everything just to have some flavor.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
Kenny F, Manager at Jade North Andover, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Well I definitely discuss with my head chef about the plain favor on the dishes that you mentioned and we are recently easy on Chinese dishes based on some reviews that mentioned too salty. The Jade style shrimp should not be too strong on favor...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
505 reviews
3.43 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Andover
201 reviews
3.68 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
1,466 reviews
4.14 miles away
La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boston-Andover
669 reviews
4.24 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Jaime's Restaurant
103 reviews
.06 miles away
Good Day Cafe
51 reviews
.15 miles away
Shadi's Restaurant
89 reviews
.50 miles away
Buono Bistro
145 reviews
.47 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Weir Hill
57 reviews
.57 miles away
Canal Street Antique Mall
26 reviews
1.36 miles away
Imajine That
24 reviews
1.01 miles away
The Stevens-Coolidge Place
47 reviews
1.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jade North Andover staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing