We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wonderful seafood (eat in or take out). Also amazing catering service!! We are closed for the season. Reopening mid March or by April 1st
Lunch, Dinner
American, Seafood
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Television, Highchairs Available
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clambake chowder lobster roll onion rings scallops baked beans food quality lines pint belly box
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ordered a clam plate and scallop plate. Two clams were too tough to eat. One clam was unappetizingly huge. Scallop plate was 95% french fries and only 5% scallops. Prices were high. Dining area has no atmosphere. Costs seem high for the amount and...quality of food. Tried the restaurant, but will not return.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is just not a fancy place. Small lot in front, larger one out back. Very good clam chowder. For me, the surprise is the "haddock bites" -- while small pieces, some of the best fried haddock you will find anywhere. Good to excellent clams...-- I prefer them to the Clam Box just down the road (yeah, I know -- heresy) and maybe a slight bit cheaper. Never had a challenge with the owner -- courteous, helpful, pleasant guy.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed February 8, 2021

If you want to observe first hand terrible customer service this is the place for you. The counter clerk (who I infer is an owner) makes the "The Soup Nazi" look good by comparison. Toss in mediocre food, exorbitant prices, lack of ambiance, and somewhat...unclean dining area, and you have all the ingredients for a very disappointing dining experience. It's no wonder the seafood establishment up the street always has lines extending out the door and this establishment is just about always empty. You would be better served, and more satisfied, buying a fish sandwich at McDonald's.More

Date of visit: February 2021
nhworldtraveler, Owner at Ipswich Clambake Co, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2021

The person that wrote this review is unbalanced and that is being charitable. He came into the restaurant an wanted an order with a cup of water. He started screaming at me because I told him I had to pour the cup of water for...More

Reviewed January 9, 2021 via mobile

Jan 9, 2021- Fantastic!!! Just ate there! Delicious fresh seafood. Excellent and friendly service. We were not eating out at all due to Covid but you could tell from the first 5 min that they were taking all precautions to make customers feel safe. Great...place if you are in the area do not miss this jewel of a place.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

I had the scallop roll and my son had the lobster roll, and he shared a bit. They were both yummy - but the scallops were superb! Would definitely recommend them served any way they are offered. Super nice people that work there too!

Date of visit: July 2020
Reviewed May 3, 2020

3 if my family members went in on Saturday at 5 to place a take out order. There were two people taking phone orders which clearly took priority over the three of us standing there waiting to order. After waiting, I placed my order and...who I believe to be the owner seemed a bit testy because he could not hear me. I spoke up, placed my order and onto the next person in my party. She asked what comes with the shrimp dinner. He punched in the register and answered $14 .99. She repeated Her question and got an eye roll! At that point, all 3 of us decided we didn’t want to give this place our business. Lousy customer service and Owner clearly can’t handle the stress of a busy evening. I realize these are trying times for everyone but in my book, customer service is always the No 1 priority. I go here often for chowder but will never go back. Plenty of other good chowder to be had in Ipswich.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Sunshine19101057366, Owner at Ipswich Clambake Co, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2020

I definitely remember this person. It's unfortunate that she felt that when she walked through the door every phone call on hold waiting to place an order needed to take second priority to her. That is not fair to them and she supposedly values customer...More

Reviewed April 23, 2020

Full disclosure - two of my children have worked at the Clambake for a few years now. That being said, I would be remiss not to leave a review for this fine establishment. First - the food quality. I have eaten here dozens of times...and have never been disappointed. The fried seafood is always fresh and cooked to perfection. The chowder is AMAZING and has won the Chowder Festival several times in recent years. The hidden gems are the Haddock Pieces (1/2 pint and pint),and the Seafood Casserole. Anytime they offer specials - get them - they are always great. Second - the cost. We feed a family of 5 for between $60-80 - and the quantity of food served is pretty healthy - so it is a GREAT value. Third - the speed of service. Hands down, the quickest from order to the bottom of your belly! Finally - the holiday deals! At Thanksgiving, Christmas and a few other holidays during the year, the Ipswich Clambake offers entire prepared meals in a box to go - and they are deals you cannot beat. Last Thanksgiving, we ordered the Thanksgiving meal to go. Wow...just wow :) Highly recommended - don't wait in line at the "other place" down the street - the Clambake is better, faster and cheaper. Enjoy!More

Date of visit: April 2020
Reviewed April 11, 2020

I was disgusted to see the cooking staff handling food with no masks or gloves. I will never step foot into this restaurant ever againMore

Date of visit: April 2020
Sunshine19101057366, Owner at Ipswich Clambake Co, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2020

I know who wrote this review and this is competely false. Our staff not only wears gloves when preparing food (at all times not just during a pandemic) but we wear masks also. This individual is trying to go out of her way to slander...More

Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

Ordered the fried clams with onion rings and baked beans, and the homemade ice tea. Everything was fresh, flavorful, and delicious! Would definitely try more menu items next time. Great place with great service, and everything was spotless!

Date of visit: February 2020
Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

I had the best fried clam platter today for lunch. No grease, crispy and huge. I am a big eater and couldn't finish it. The staff are very friendly here. What a fantastic place!

Date of visit: October 2019
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Arbor Inn Motel
45 reviews
.31 miles away
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
268 reviews
6.12 miles away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
237 reviews
7.38 miles away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
651 reviews
8.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Clam Box of Ipswich
586 reviews
.43 miles away
Hart House 1640 LLC
233 reviews
.72 miles away
Dairy Queen (Treat)
19 reviews
.26 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mill River Winery
31 reviews
3.24 miles away
Todd Farm Antiques and Flea Market
9 reviews
2.02 miles away
Wolf Hollow
110 reviews
1.29 miles away
1634 Meadery
47 reviews
1.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
July 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from janw00 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, all major credit cards.
September 5, 2016|
Response from stevenaB9813WP | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so. You can always check with the restaurant. Have fun.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing