We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Cat Tavern

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
About
***Closed for renovations until March 13th*** Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
PRICE RANGE
$11 - $33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (2,250)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveler rating
965
696
297
102
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
965
696
297
102
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chowder lobster roll seafood baked scallops scrod fries burger chowda rice salad cakes potatoes award winning valet parking cape cod hyannis harbor new england
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Great dinner, food was excellent! The service was great and our server was very efficient. They had 2 nice our door seating areas to. Great location.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks so much for your review! We hope you'll stop in again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was excellent the service staff was very friendly and helpful I would recommend the black cat as a must visit when in Hyannis

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you'll stop in again next time you're in town.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner was purrfect at the Black Cat. The place is very busy but we were fortunate when we arrived to be offered a table inside which we took. Everything is very well-suited to dining in the era of COVID-19. The booths and or tables were...spread out. The staff wore masks.. And the food was delicious. We enjoyed lobster, steamed clams, swordfish and clam chowder. There’s plenty on the menu besides fish as well. Our dinner was totally awesome. Service was friendly and prompt. There are lots of different seating options on this property. Many outdoor areas are available as well as a takeout window. This place deserves it’s reading handily. We will definitely return the next time we are in Hyannis.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you next time you come by!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited based on our hotels recommendation and were welcomed and had a good table. Our started - clam chowder was good and came out quite quickly and that’s where it all went wrong! Two spoonfuls in our mains arrived! We sent them back, and...saw others do the same. No sooner finished our chowder and the mains appeared again. What should have been a good meal lasted all of 50 minutes! Must do betterMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Your feedback has been passed on to management. Thanks again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from the Cape. Loooved the Black Cat. The clam chowder and mussels are not to be missed! Great heaters outside kept us toasty!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review, Jill! We look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by friends and glad we went. Steamers for appetizers for me and the husband had chowder, then for supper he had lobster quesadillas and for me I had fried scallops. The staff very friendly keeping with social distance but making sure everything was ok....Highly recommend this place.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review, Lena! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lobster bisque just ok, skimpy on the lobster and too much flour or something, kind of drab. The chicken quesadilla was also ok. For chips they give you a tiny bag of cape cod chips. The saving grace was the warm lobster roll, expensive but...loaded with lobster. Awesome! Service was goodMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Your feedback has been passed on to management.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

right down the street from our hotel and hotel suggested it. It was great, sat inside in a large booth. We -3 ladies all had the scallop special. came on a bed of parmesan risotto and sauteed spinach. Had drinks before dinner. Ate here for...lunch two days later and it was good, the french fries were great. Shrimp tacos cold, would not get again. plus made on mini soft tortillas shells, too small ended up just eating like a sald. Worst meal I had while on the cape. The other ladies had clam chowder (not warm enough) and the other a burger and she said it was great. Think will stick to this place as a dinner place and pass on lunch.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Your feedback has been passed onto management. Thanks again.

Reviewed September 13, 2020

What great hamburgers we had! They were beautifully charred and moist and delicious. We had the Half Pound Angus Burger and the Cotuit Burger but there are other burgers on the menu to select from. We also appreciated their outdoor seating which had Plexiglas panels...between tables.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review, Angela! We look forward to seeing you next time you stop by.

Reviewed September 8, 2020

We stopped in for an appetizer and a drink. The calamari with banana peppers and onion rings were excellent, , and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
colomboc572, Marketing at Black Cat Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review! We hope you'll stop in again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Riviera Beach Resort
398 reviews
4.07 miles away
Knights Inn Centerville Cape Cod Area
43 reviews
3.91 miles away
Blue Water Resort
329 reviews
4.01 miles away
Town N Country Family Resort
45 reviews
2.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Black Cat Harbor Shack
215 reviews
.01 miles away
Common Ground Cafe
265 reviews
.32 miles away
Pizza Barbone
655 reviews
.32 miles away
The Naked Oyster
666 reviews
.33 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Steamship Authority
402 reviews
.24 miles away
John F Kennedy Hyannis Museum
1,153 reviews
.31 miles away
St. Francis Xavier Church
124 reviews
.33 miles away
Cape Cod Maritime Museum
65 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ParAvionEnBateau
August 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, thanks for your question. Unfortunately, I did not have that menu selection. I did find the food to be wonderful overall. Sincerely, John Emond
0
Votes
michaeljk744
August 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from michael_clarkeNYC | Reviewed this property |
I should have ordered it but didn't. The lobster on a salad I think is the best selection. The family next to us ordered one for each of them. Five plates total. Instant envy.
0
Votes
Cindy V
June 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Joan U |
I need gluten-free as I have a wheat allergy and they were able to accommodate me. Very nice people and great food.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing