We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
151 Main St, Gloucester, MA 01930-5702
+1 978-283-3200
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted to try this restaurant for some time; however, was always put off by the drab and dirty front window...definitely does not pull you in. We did try it last evening. When we walked in there was one other couple and no hostess or waitress to be seen. When the waitress finally came we realized there was a back dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seababy6409
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your views. We are certainly proud of our food and service. We also strive to make the whole experience at Ohana top notch. We are in the midst of re-doing the front and definitely appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Paul More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made reservations but turned out we were the only guests on an off-night. Lucky for us, because the food was so exciting. Our waitress was charming and we sat in the back room by a window overlooking the harbor. Each dish was beautifully plated and delicious. Mostly fish and lots of vegetarian with pan-Asian twists. Definitely one we will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne1644
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for taking the time to write. We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything and look forward to serving you again. All the best, Paul More 

Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are ready to step out of the Italian and seafood box that you find at most restaurants in the Cape Ann area then I highly recommend you try Ohana. Every appetizer and entree at Ohana is a special creation. As the name of the restaurant implies there is a Polynesian flavor to many of the dishes. The sushi... More 

Helpful?
Thank John E
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Ohana. We are very proud of the food and rinks we offer. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to serving you in the future. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. Best regards, Paul More 

CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were seated immediately. Our first mistake was not to leave when the waitress informed us that they ran out of rice (but they were going to make more) and they ran out of salmon and lobster. Silly us we stayed. We order 3 appetizer/ sashimi rolls each. The first took approx 40 min to get to us. The waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank KGBMP
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry for your poor experience and wanted to apologize. We set very high standards for ourselves and your experience was far from the norm. We hope that when you come back to the area that you will give us another try as we are very proud of our food, drinks and service. Please let us know when... More 

Suncook, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Small and clean with a wonderful waitress. My wife had the scallops & gnocchi which was very tasty. The scallops and gnocchi were cooked perfectly. I started with the Ahi and avocado maki that was fabulous. For dinner I had the Butterfish which the waitress said was the most popular meal and for good reason. The Butterfish was as good... More 

Helpful?
Thank rcmamk
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for dining with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate the feedback and nice words. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards. More 

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

We drove up to this restaurant after a recommendation from our Innkeeper. We were definitely not disappointed. It is a cozy restaurant with a front bar area with additional seating and a back area for more diners as well. we sat at the bar where everyone was very pleasant. The chef is very creative and it shows in his menus.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vic K
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Hello Vic, Thank you for coming to Ohana and for taking the time to write. We enjoyed serving you and are thrilled that you liked our food. We look forward to serving you again. All the best, Paul More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

First time at Ohanas but won't be our last. We were on vacation at Rockport and decided to make Ohanas our final dinner to end our vacation. We went with the pre fixe 3 course meal with wine pairings. True at at 75.00 per person it is expensive. But I always say some things are expensive because they're worth it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyPhil
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you came to Ohana and took the time to write about your experience. We look forward to serving you again. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you. All the best, Paul More 

United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Nice atmosphere and decor. Creative menu with huge selection of gourmet food. Pleasant and helpful server. Good place to take friends and family. SO many great choices it was difficult to choose. Yum! Do not miss this place when in Gloucester.

Helpful?
Thank fragrantrosa
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write about your meal. We take great pride in our food and service and appreciate your kind words. Best regards, Paul More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

This was our second visit to Ohana, and the quality and exciting variety we experienced the first time was in full evidence again. My whole meal was excellent in terms of food. I chose the lobster roll tempura maki as an appetizer, and it was delicious -- like a classic lobster roll meeting Japanese cooking. The scallops main course... truly... More 

Helpful?
Thank RinfromMA
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for coming back and for taking the time to write about Ohana. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Paul More 

Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Ohana means family and how I wish I had a chef like this in my family. The restaurant specializes in 3 course Prix Fixe and my wife and I shared one Prix Fixe meal that was spectacular. If you like new taste sensations this is a place for you.

Helpful?
Thank SwampyShanty
Paul C, Owner at Ohana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your kind words. We are indeed fortunate to have Chef Enx in our family and look forward to serving you again. More 

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $29
Cuisine
Gluten Free Options, Japanese, American, Sushi, Asian, Fusion, Hawaiian
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Takeout
Good for
Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 151 Main St, Gloucester, MA 01930-5702
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Ann  >  Gloucester
  • Phone Number: +1 978-283-3200
Description
Located in historic Gloucester, MA, home to America's original seaport and the oldest art colony in North America, Ohana offers New American cuisine with a menu influenced by French techniques, Italian flavors, & Asian spices. We use only the highest quality ingredients featuring locally sourced fish, meat, produce, and artisanal foods

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ohana and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, Massachusetts
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ohana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?