We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Pheasant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
15083852133
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As soon as I walked in, I was reminded of a restaurant that would have been the go-to place for special occasions in the '60s and '70s. The diners all appeared to be in that age group and were quietly enjoying their beverages and meals. The atmosphere didn't shout Cape Cod or two hundred year-old barn (which the building was),... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunsetsbythesea
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we always enjoy hearing guests opinions. Actually the barn is 250 years old and was a ship's Chandlery on Corporation Beach where they built boats inside. It is old Cape Cod with wide board floors and Victorian lights, not the Cape Cod many think of with blues and a beach feel. After 38 years in... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed only three nights in the East Dennis area, and after a lovely meal on our first night we went back again on our third. This is a lovely old building with wooden beams and a cozy atmosphere. The food was imaginative and delicious. Once I chose the sole meuniere, and next the duck. Both came with gratin potatoes... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanSNJ
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Like many Cape Cod visitors, we're here for just one week each year, so we choose our dinner destinations carefully. Based on last years experience, we re-visited the Red Pheasant and found it to be as good as we remembered. The Garden room is lovely and manages to feel relaxed even when full. The duck with cranberry was still spectacular,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosetwig
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed dinner at the intimate bar before a film at a local theater. The rack of lamb with seasonal vegetables was perfectly prepared. The service by the bartender was spot on

Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the Red Pheasant on multiple occasions. It is by far my favorite restaurant in the USA. Food is consistently high quality, service is impeccable and I love the cozy historic charming interiors. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Vlatka V
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

Wonderful historic building, very inviting. Food is extraordinary. We have had great service in the past, during our most recent visit the waitress was a little disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoy our restaurant. If you have a minute could you send me a private email by going to our web site so I may know more about your service? More 

Boston
Level Contributor
474 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

We had an excellent meal with friends focused on the Scallops and Duck with interesting appetizers and wonderful deserts. For our group of six, there was an automatic 20% service and it was worth an additional 2% for the excellent service we received. A family favorite for the two local couples and new to us, this is a fine restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank tremm298
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

thank you so much, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Akumal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

Paraphrasing Billy Crystal's SNL character mocking the legendary Latin Lover Fernando Lamas, ”The Red Pheasant is Mahhvellousss. Absoloootely Mahhvellouss.” My wife, Ingrid, and I dined at the Red Pheasant on a lovely August Friday evening and were richly rewarded with an excellent dining experience with FAST (Food, Ambiance, Service, and Taste). This was not our first time here, and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheAkumalian
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review! Wow! My only question is can you tell me where you viewed our menu on line as I update our direct web site daily and I can't find where the Venison is still listed? I appreciate your help! thank you again. More 

Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

I'll get to the food in a minute. First, the setting. This a converted 200-year-old barn, complete with typical old post-and-beam construction, old, wide-plank floors, etc. But neither the decor, the ambiance nor the menu is intended to create the "ye-olde-country-inn" experience. It's just a nice restaurant in an old building. More importantly, these people understand the importance of SPACE... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

The portion sizes are extremely small. I am a slender woman and have a small appetite so coming from me this is very bad. The lamb was red, very undercooked. The dessert was fabulous. They let us try a cracker with cheese and then asked if we wanted for the table and was very expensive. We found the staff snooty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank skitraveler1
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We are disappointed you were unhappy. Our rack of lamb is a signature dish and it is very rare to have a complaint. If you had let us know we would have replaced it. We offer our sincere apologies your evening was not perfect. More 

Travelers who viewed The Red Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The Red Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $32
Cuisine
American, International
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: 15083852133
Description
Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red Pheasant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Williamsburg, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?