We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Pheasant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
15083852133
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful historic building, very inviting. Food is extraordinary. We have had great service in the past, during our most recent visit the waitress was a little disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoy our restaurant. If you have a minute could you send me a private email by going to our web site so I may know more about your service? More 

Boston
Level Contributor
469 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an excellent meal with friends focused on the Scallops and Duck with interesting appetizers and wonderful deserts. For our group of six, there was an automatic 20% service and it was worth an additional 2% for the excellent service we received. A family favorite for the two local couples and new to us, this is a fine restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank tremm298
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

thank you so much, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Akumal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paraphrasing Billy Crystal's SNL character mocking the legendary Latin Lover Fernando Lamas, ”The Red Pheasant is Mahhvellousss. Absoloootely Mahhvellouss.” My wife, Ingrid, and I dined at the Red Pheasant on a lovely August Friday evening and were richly rewarded with an excellent dining experience with FAST (Food, Ambiance, Service, and Taste). This was not our first time here, and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheAkumalian
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review! Wow! My only question is can you tell me where you viewed our menu on line as I update our direct web site daily and I can't find where the Venison is still listed? I appreciate your help! thank you again. More 

Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll get to the food in a minute. First, the setting. This a converted 200-year-old barn, complete with typical old post-and-beam construction, old, wide-plank floors, etc. But neither the decor, the ambiance nor the menu is intended to create the "ye-olde-country-inn" experience. It's just a nice restaurant in an old building. More importantly, these people understand the importance of SPACE... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The portion sizes are extremely small. I am a slender woman and have a small appetite so coming from me this is very bad. The lamb was red, very undercooked. The dessert was fabulous. They let us try a cracker with cheese and then asked if we wanted for the table and was very expensive. We found the staff snooty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank skitraveler1
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We are disappointed you were unhappy. Our rack of lamb is a signature dish and it is very rare to have a complaint. If you had let us know we would have replaced it. We offer our sincere apologies your evening was not perfect. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was delicious. We also like that the restaurant uses the freshest ingredients in season and most of their wine was organic. We took our two kids, ages 1 1/2 and 4 1/2 with us to dinner and the stuff was more than accommodating in bringing drawing books, crayons and exploration tube for them. We all had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anguelina A
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words and love that your entire family enjoyed your evening out! Paul was your server and I love hearing how accommodating he was. More 

Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

The food in this restaurant is consistently excellent, using the freshest of ingredients, and prepared to perfection. We love that they take reservations. Have eaten here many times, and tonight brought our family, including a toddler. Everyone on the staff was kind, helpful and accommodating. We love The Red Pheasant and will continue to come here for all of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank cszczbuch
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Excellent food - outstanding at times. Service and ambiance is very good. Always has some type of "game" on the menu - venison, duck, and so forth.

Helpful?
Thank Roland B
Worthington, MA, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We were with friends that don't get to the Cape very often. We wanted someplace close to the Playhouse and we wanted someplace historic. The Red Pheasant satisfied both requirements even though we had never been there before. When we called to make reservations, the staff was very understanding and when we were a little early, they were very accommodating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norman S
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
267 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Made reservations early in the day - no problem for dinner. We had a delicious meal with a very pleasant server. Started with a shared Caesar salad made with spinach. Lightly dressed which was perfect. Salmon and the pork specials were very tasty. Plenty of fresh vegetables.

Helpful?
Thank PWDGolfers
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review

We appreciate your nice review, thank you! It means a lot to hear from happy customers. Incidentally the spinach is from the farm down the street, "Not Enough Acres Farm." More 

Travelers who viewed The Red Pheasant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Red Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $32
Cuisine
American, Gluten Free Options, International
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: 15083852133
Description
Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red Pheasant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Williamsburg, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?