We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cat and Fiddle Harvester

$$ - $$$, British,
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest National Park Hampshire BH23 7DS, England
+44 1425 276050
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good19%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible31%
Oct 21, 2017
“Family meal”
Oct 8, 2017
“Suddenly it was 2007...........”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest National Park Hampshire BH23 7DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 670 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

After booking the table I read the reviews and wondered if I made the right decision in going to the Harvester. On arrival we were greeted by a smiling person, drinks were delivered in a timely fashion, left to decide which meals we wanted to...More

Thank SCOOBY70
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We eat here fairly often as it's quick, wallet friendly and a varied menu to suit everyone (loving the addition of vegan options including dessert)! We have realistic expectations of what to expect from a Harvester restaurant and have never been disappointed by the Cat...More

Thank Jodie S
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were asked to wait 20 minutes in empty, cold bar area with nobody serving behind the bar. Had to go and find someone to serve us 2 coffees and 2 cold drinks. No saucers for the cups which we carried to the table when...More

Thank Sian1945
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Sian1945, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve,...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

You know what I have read some of the other petty reviews on this Harvester from small minded individuals I have returned 4 times and with friends who were a bit sceptical about Harvesters and this one totally changed there minds the food is excellent...More

Thank c0rky321
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

C0rky321, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Cat and Fiddle! Your recommendation means so much to us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the cat and fiddle recently and we were really disappointed. We wernt greeted at the door and after waiting we decided to look for a member if staff to help us.. 3 of them were at the bar. We were sat in...More

1  Thank connridge
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Connridge, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We do prefer to deal with all issues in house and we would have appreciated you bringing this to our attention!! We have radiators next to tables and would have happily moved you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a slow night with a group of 4 waiting to be seated in front of us. Once they had been seated we waited and we waited. The waitress cleared a table and still ignored us, walked past us twice and still we waited....More

1  Thank Richard P
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Richard P, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for. We try our best to make sure every guest is greeted so I am surprised to hear this. During the weekdays we have less staff...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Typical Harvesters very good service, fast and efficient, Food very good, steaks cooked correctly, salad bar was a little bare and in need of some tidying up, on the hole very enjoyable meal.

Thank bobthered
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bobthered, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Cat and Fiddle!

Reviewed October 21, 2017

Popped in without booking and after a short wait got a table. Staff were friendly and service was ok. Food was ok.

Thank wirralcouple1
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Wirralcouple1, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed October 8, 2017

Train was late coming back from London so thought it would be good to have a simple meal out - and my wife was more than pleased with the suggestion. Had not been to the Harvester for many years so off we eent to the...More

Thank cricklewood
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Cricklewood, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. im glad you enjoyed your visit, a coat of dulux is on the way

Reviewed October 7, 2017

Don't know quite what's happened, but not the same. Food wasn't up to scratch as it wasn't very hot and the service was poor. The salad bar has changed, the rolls are tiny, they've shrunk!!

Thank 721missy
General Manager A, Manager at The Cat and Fiddle Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Hi Missy thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Walkford Diner
7 reviews
.83 miles away
Arowana
17 reviews
.76 miles away
The Amberwood
212 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
394 reviews
1.77 miles away
Mudeford Quay
1,015 reviews
2.52 miles away
Highcliffe Beach
250 reviews
1.58 miles away
FONFA Museum
6 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cat and Fiddle Harvester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, New Forest National Park Hampshire BH23 7DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Hinton
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 276050
Description
At The Cat and Fiddle Harvester in Christchurch food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Christchurch, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Walkford, New Milton and Somerford, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing