We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Crabhouse and Raw Bar is a family owned restaurant that brings visitors and locals familiar Eastern Shore fare with a unique, eclectic flair! It's a great downtown location within walking distance of Ocean City's famous boardwalk, and overlooking beautiful sunsets on the bay.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveler rating
615
242
72
38
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
615
242
72
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steamer pot blue crab seafood shrimp steamers salad steak wings fries all you can eat palm trees happy hour outside seating crab feast server bay sunset
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

So we get there just in time to beat the sky opening up. Once inside we walk into a conversation with the staff about the party of 5 ahead of us. We hear “she’ll be fine with them, she can handle it” It was then...I was thinking I should leave, but I read all the good reviews and figured we’d give it a go. So the girl said to me “this section isn’t open yet (front entrance, plenty of people in the dining room) and told us to go outside and walk down to the end, they can seat you there.” Once we’re “out back” we dried off the best we could to be seated. Funny thing… once we’re seated we are right behind the podium where we first came in. You know, before it started raining and we were still dry. So anyway… I still have hopes for a nice anniversary dinner because of all the great reviews, but it only gets better. We order drinks, hers comes out but not mine. No big deal. We order our apps and entree’s. Apps come out. Really good. Entrees come out shortly after but not complete. Runner said he’ll get the balance of my plate but never returns. Waitress is MIA. Hers thankfully was complete. By the time the rest of my plate arrives what I had was cold and what arrives is barely warm. My guess is that my steak was good when it was hot, but I don’t really favor cold steak. I eat half and dice the rest up for my dogs; the love cold steak. All in all, never had a worse meal in OCMD. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I’m writing it off as poor service and probably a miss from management. I know that finding help is tough and you kind of get what you get eating out anymore but to sit down and lay out $150+ for a meal for me and my girl, I was expecting more. Additionally, there was little to no effort from staff or management to make any of this catastrophe right. Very disappointed and would not recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food, great outdoor seating. We sat in the sand by the bar. Music was great and the drinks were cold. There was no wait to get in and the service was fantastic. Our waitress even offered,and brought out, our kids food first.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed May 7, 2022 via mobile

Went for the mixed blue crab snow crab clusters pot and it was absolutely delicious. Lots of lemon and a ton of napkins later it was all gone. Worth it though it’s too much for a mere human; we shared with the fried green tomato...scallops appetizer. Great service also. One complaint: The menus are photocopied and are hard to read, come on Blu, get some real menus. And the online menu is even worse, the most user unfriendly menu ever. How about one pdf of your entire menu WITH the prices?More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2022

Second evening for serving dinner for the season. Excellent service, food came very quickly, nice sized crowd, very large dinner area, management walks around and checks on all the tables. Very good food.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Ryan, Other at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2022

Thank you for visiting BLU last month. We were very pleased to hear about your experience with us. Our staff is committed to providing excellent service and we are very excited about another great year here at BLU. Please don't forget to visit our sister...More

Reviewed October 11, 2021

they gave us a take-out menu and there was not anything really to choose from on there, my husband got flat bread it was horrible I got salad can’t mess that up no steak anything good on there, they were remodeling so you had to...go up some stairs where the bathroom was a little crazy I hurt my foot on the stairs Very expensive for what we got. Would never go back there.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2021

Misskitty444, We are sorry to read about your recent experience. We understand some of our guests prefer a regular menu however, we changed to paper menus last season at the start of Covid. We wish w had known you didn’t prefer the flatbread pizza, as...More

Reviewed September 19, 2021 via mobile

Great atmosphere and place to be! You can dress up or be casual and you fit in. We had never eaten blue crab before and our waiter was so great about showing us exactly how to open it and where to get the meat from....It is a little more expensive because of the seafood but so worth it!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

helloozoeee, We are so pleased to hear about your visit. Our team is so amazing, they go above and beyond to make sure our guests have the ultimate experience. We look forward to your next visit. Heather H

Reviewed September 17, 2021 via mobile

Service was attentive. No wait. Food was adequate. Nothing special. We split crab cake entree and large salad. Was average but side of coleslaw was inedible due to excessive salt. Considering this is a tourist town was about what we expectedMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems you enjoyed your visit but we could have done better. We will never be ok with a mediocre experience. We promise you, if you come back you won’t have this same experience...More

Reviewed September 12, 2021 via mobile

My wife and I came here because it was highly rated on trip advisor. We arrived for dinner around 6 and were seated inside within 5-8 minutes. The waitress was prompt. We ordered the crab dip, which was very good. Just a little salty, but...still very tasty. My wife order the large grilled jumbo shrimp. It came to the table looking absolutely delicious. She was very disappointed,because all the shrimp were over grilled and tough. I ordered the snow steam bucket. To be honest the only thing worth eating in it was the snow crabs. The shrimp, mussels , clams and sausage were steamed dry. No flavor what so ever. We both were very disappointed in our meal and were other guests next to us. Maybe the kitchen was just having a bad night. But that was my one and done for this place.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Lognpage1, We are sorry to read about your recent experience. Our team works very hard to make sure you enjoy the food, service, and atmosphere. It seems as if we feel a little short the day you were in, and we appreciate all of your...More

Reviewed September 10, 2021

In the past had very pleasant dining experience there. On 9/6/21 went there for dinner. To have pleasant dinning experience you need ambiance, good food and minimal background noise/music. We arrived at about 5:30. They were not taking reservations, first come first served. We requested...table for 2 hostess took us upstairs and seated at worst possible table. We notices 2 empty tables for 2 in a better location and requested to be seated at one of them. She said NO there are no servers for those table. We indicated that we will tolerate slow service until a server was available. She said NO. We were seated facing cubicle where waiters were bringing dirty dishes. A few minutes later she was seating other guests at those tables. I guess we were not young or hipped enough to be seen at a good table. Two stars one for food (was good) and second for background music. Not going back.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

lovetofish35, I wanted to reach out and apologize for your recent experience. I would personally like to opportunity to speak with you about your visit. Can you please email me your contact phone number at heather@embers.com Heather H

Reviewed September 6, 2021 via mobile

Having spent time in Ocean City years ago, we definitely made sure we would have crabs. This place was great! Even though we had a bit of a wait, they had a nice bar set up outside for enjoying while we waited. We were seated...outside in the space - which came complete with sand, palms, and non-blaring music. Our server was uMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Thank for your taking the time to leave a great review. We look forward to your next visit. Heather H

Reviewed August 26, 2021 via mobile

Fresh food, nice view and great service even though a little slow, but understood with COVID. The steamer pots was pretty good. The snow crabs were very light for the weight but our waiter replaced ours and the 2nd batch was much better. Overall nice...dinner and would definitely come back.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate having the opportunity to correct any issues you may have while dining with us. We are so thankful you mentioned that your crab legs were a little light the first time around. We...More

Reviewed August 25, 2021

Food was nothing special for the price, only good thing was bloody Mary's. Waitress had a crappy attitude start to finish. Wont be going back for sure! I gave her crappy tip to match her personality!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2021

This does not sound like a typical visit. Please reach out so we can discuss your recent visit and experience. 410-289-3322 Heather H

Reviewed August 16, 2021

The wait for indoor seating was supposed to be 1.5 hours on a Saturday night but was about half an hour only. You could get drinks at the bar while you wait but they also set up a bar in some of the parking area...with extra seating so you could wait comfortably. Nice indoor and outdoor seating, but recommend outdoors if weather permits. For drinks the craft beer selection, orange crush, and frozen marg were good. The crab dip appetizer was amazing, but there is one thing. When you're already spending $50+ for the entree, it's kind of a joke that they charge another $2 for extra bread/chips, knowing there is not enough initially with the dip. The snow crab steamer pot was not bad - I understand why some say the crab legs are less appealing without any old bay seasoning, but it was fresh. And the side items were quite good too, including the corn, sausage, and shrimp. The New York strip was okay - he asked for medium rare but it was mostly rare. The side items were good. For service, the waiter was pleasant, but rather slow. A bit unexpected considering we waited until after the rush to dine. I shouldn't have to ask for the utensils that go with crabs, but when it did not come with the food I did. Our food came first and the kids had to wait - usually it's the other way around. Then after we requested the check we had to wait for the server to finish a long conversation with another party before he went to generate our check. Not 100% sure but we'll probably return.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2021

We appreciate the very detailed review. We love to hear what our customers think, and also the areas they feel need improvement. We hope you do indeed return for another visit. Heather H

Reviewed August 11, 2021 via mobile

We really love Blu the food is always great and last night was no different. Everything we had was amazing. Jamie and Mark are a winning team behind the bar and even though it was very busy they made sure everyone was taken care of...in a friendly and professional manner. It’s a win win for the customers and for Blu.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our staff and your experience at BLU. Our team always goes above and beyond to make sure every visit is one to remember. We will be certain Mark and Jaime know how great your visit was. Thanks...More

Reviewed July 26, 2021

There are many tourist trap style restaurants in Ocean City MD with overpriced and poor tasting seafood. This is not one of them. We dined here twice and both times the food was fresh, the service kind and efficient, and the drinks were tasty -...not artificial or watered down. I like that the place does not overwhelm with loud music throughout the place. There are loud and quiet spots. The seats are comfortable. It is an age mixed crowd - not too young not too old. You can come for dinner (where you will wait for a table) or eat/drink at the well equipped counters with self-serve. Great outdoor space where sunsets are perfect. Will return for sure.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2021

We are so happy to see you will return. Your detailed review helps other people in the community decide on their next visit, and we thank you for that. Heather H

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kings Arms Motel
60 reviews
.09 miles away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ocean City
192 reviews
.10 miles away
Fish Tales Boardwalk Inn
81 reviews
.12 miles away
Howard Johnson by Wyndham Ocean City Oceanfront
922 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sahara Cafe
745 reviews
.21 miles away
Fractured Prune
738 reviews
.33 miles away
Happy Jack Pancake House
680 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Jolly Roger Amusement Park
1,148 reviews
.36 miles away
Splash Mountain Water Park
18 reviews
.44 miles away
Raggamuffin Jewelry and Clothing
11 reviews
.07 miles away
Embers Island Miniature Golf
154 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
U4206YAmichaelm
July 14, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Heather H | Property representative |
No, I’m sorry only can be purchased from our wine list, per our liquor license. You can take the bottle home that you don’t finish.
0
Votes
rachela535
July 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Heather H | Property representative |
Yes- we sell gift cards.
0
Votes
Marybeth920
June 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Heather H | Property representative |
Blu Crabhouse and Raw Bar is mostly an Outdoor Restaurant so it limits our availability to take reservations due to the changing weather. So on most nights, weather permitting, we take call a heads for parties of 10 or more. More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar

Yes, Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar offers takeout services.

Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5