We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Live Music, Drive Thru, BYOB
View all details
features, about
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
323
115
27
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
323
115
27
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cornbread pulled pork collard greens bbq beans ribs wedges apple cake mac and cheese chicken sandwich pit beef picnic tables drive thru order at the counter sides colts baltimore
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 25, 2021 via mobile

The service was very fast and the crew was so friendly. Mr. Nelson himself handed us our orders and it was a pleasure to see him.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2021

Hi Lee, Thanks for making the drive to come visit us- we're glad you found everything to be great! It was a pleasure serving you and we appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to making your next visit just as great.

Reviewed June 27, 2021

Great place for BBQ. Food is consistently very good and the service is very good. Order at counter and they call out your number.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2021

Hi David, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that the food is consistently good- we work hard to make sure everyone has a great experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed June 23, 2021

I ordered $17 worth of cornbread but when I got it home, it was a plastic container filled with cornbread chunks and crumbs, nothing that resembled full pieces of cornbread. To make matters worse, the cornbread was warm when they placed it in the container,...which created a build up of condensation that made the bread soggy. I called to try to get a credit and make them aware of the situation. When I called, I gave the person my name, she knew I had placed an order online and had prepaid. She placed me on hold for an extensive amount of time. Considering the fact that I had guests arriving any minute, I was forced to hang up. I had hoped they would reach out to me to make things right, but that never happened. Next time I will go to Mission BBQ, they know how to properly package carryout items for groups.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2021

Hi Cindy, We’re very sorry to hear about your experience and want to apologize for falling short on your online order. We are looking into this to see exactly what went wrong, will be using your comments for training purposes with out staff to ensure...More

Reviewed January 26, 2021

Got lunch for myself and my spouse. One turkey sandwich and one yard bird (chicken breast)sandwich. The turkey was good. A little messy but good. The chicken was horrible. It was overcooked, tough, dried out and tough. Clearly it was reheated and a day or...2 old. Whomever made the sandwich had to know the chicken was not good.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2021

Hi there, Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know we dropped the ball on your Yardbird sandwich. Please know that your situation was an exception, and we won't allow for repeats. It is thanks to feedback like yours that we can...More

Reviewed January 22, 2021

I grew up in Maryland and had many a meal by stopping through Andy Nelson's drive thru to bring dinner home to the family. It's a rare thing to find true Southern BBQ in the Mid-Atlantic. After moving to Charleston, SC and experiencing great BBQ...from Rodney Scott's and Lewis BBQ I realized just how lucky I was to have Andy Nelson's in my own backyard. Andy serves amazing high quality BBQ. I take a few trips "home" each year to see friends and family and I always make Andy Nelson's part of my trip. The brisket is amazing, the people are friendly and it's a great BBQ experience.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2021

Hi Jeff, We can't begin to tell you how nice it is to hear your words of encouragement, appreciation, and praise. We want every single customer that walks through our doors to experience the same level of service. It is thanks to customers like you,...More

Reviewed December 19, 2020 via mobile

Although it has been some time, we’ve been to Andy Nelson’s a couple of times before and finally writing a review. Visited on a Friday night and we ordered for pickup. Called earlier to confirm hours and got an answer but when I called around...5 didn’t get an answer but no worries as they were taking walk-in orders also. We ordered a full slab of the Ribs wet and a Jumbo Brisket sandwich. Ribs were excellent with a nice smoke & the sauce added a nice balance. As a Brisket lover, I had high hopes for the sandwich but was disappointed. Unfortunately, the Brisket was dry and I really didn’t get any of the smoke and seasonings flavor I was expecting. Tough for me as I’ve had some of the best in Texas. Nelson’s version is ok if you add sauce but brisket done right doesn’t need anything except sides. Speaking of sides, we ordered the potato salad which got thumbs up as well the Cole Slaw was very good. I asked about the bbq taters which ended up being large seasoned potato wedges. (Not tater tots). We weren’t sure if they were over cooked or if this is normal as although they were seasoned, the wedges were quite dry. We wouldn’t order this side again. Servers at the counter were friendly and helpful. I see they have many awards and would say they are one of the top options for bbq in the area. Go for the ribs and I remember the chicken was very good also.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2020

Hi Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to share details about your recent visit. We're thrilled to hear that the ribs were enjoyable. We value your feedback and appreciate your support. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you!

Reviewed December 8, 2020

A quick dinner while we were in the Hunt Valley area for a few days. It was good, and we appreciated the Covid-19 steps they are taking. Good pulled pork, BBQ beans, and collard greens. Not a fan of the potato salad, but the mac...n cheese was very good. And the apple cake for dessert was awesome. Because of Covid, we did carryout, but the restaurant looks pretty cool inside, and I would like to come back some day and try a meal in there.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2020

Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to share details about your recent experience. We appreciate you trying us out, and we're glad your carryout was enjoyable. Thanks for your support, and we look forward to having you back for a meal in the...More

Reviewed September 2, 2020 via mobile

Great BBQ. Fast, friendly service. Flavored iced tea was good. Mac and cheese was fresh. Other sides great as well. Beans were yum yum!!! Can't wait to go.back!!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
169andyn, General Manager at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Hi there, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed some great BBQ with us, and that your experience was a great one. We appreciate your kind words and support, and we can't wait to have you back...More

Reviewed July 5, 2020

Order at the counter and eat inside or outside. This place has BBQ down pat. And always a treat to see Andy Nelson, Sr there. Does seem like prices are higher recently.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
169andyn, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2020

Hi David, Thanks for the great review! It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoy us. Your support is much appreciated, and we look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed May 16, 2020

I continue my quest to support local food eateries during our national pandemic. So tonight, all i could think about was pulled pork. I drove down to Andy Nelson's waited 5 minutes in a drive-thru line, and ordered the regular pulled pork sandwich for $7.95...The bad news is I ordered extra Bama sauce, and she forgot to put it in. The good news is the sandwich, as usual, was amazing. Overstuffed w/ lean pulled pork, it melted in my mouth. Pound for pound one of the best sandwiches in town.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
169andyn, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2020

Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your sandwich, and we appreciate you for supporting local. We look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, an IHG hotel
170 reviews
.33 miles away
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
346 reviews
.50 miles away
Quality Suites Hunt Valley
188 reviews
.76 miles away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Hunt Valley
735 reviews
1.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Yasou Greek Bistro
100 reviews
.31 miles away
Fusion Restaurant
52 reviews
.42 miles away
Ashland Cafe
165 reviews
.36 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Valley View Farms
27 reviews
.14 miles away
System Source Computer Museum
14 reviews
.97 miles away
Pennsylvania Dutch Market
93 reviews
.31 miles away
Spa in the Valley
65 reviews
.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ

Yes, Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ offers takeout services.

Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4