We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kitchen at the Imperial

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
208 High Street, Chestertown, MD 21620 (Formerly Imperial Hotel)
+1 410-778-5000
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wed - Sat 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Elverson, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had dinner at The Kitchen Saturday evening. Our dinners and service was excellent. The best we have experienced in a long time. Especially appreciate that Steve, the chef made a personal visit to each table to be sure everyone's dinner was perfect, and it was. We will definitely be back!! Thank you Steve

Helpful?
Thank clementsboca
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Please make sure to stop by the window and say hello next time your in town. Steve More 

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for lunch during the week. Only one other couple there. All ok to start with, got our menus and water. Ordered hamburger with fries. Fries came out in about 3 min. Then we waited. And waited. Finally asked when it would be ready, and got the "in just a few minutes" responce. Well, I walked by the open... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoodKnight2
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

I apologize for what sounds like a horrific screw up on our part. I have tried to find out how this could have happened, but am having no success. Normally, if you order a burger with fries, the fries come on the plate with the burger. They are never sent out by themselves, ever. The only exception would be if... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rarely write bad reviews but just have to warn others of our experience here. We had a late lunch here yesterday (July 7, 2016) and had a terrible experience with our server, Anthony. We ate here a few times last summer, had the same server, and had delightful experiences. We're traveling with two small dogs and asked for two... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingShoesBeck
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

OK, where to start with this incident. How about “We ate here a few times last summer, had the same server, and had delightful experiences”. Glad you had such delightful experiences before, wish you had reviewed us at that time also! As far as this past visit, yes, you were over charged by $2.00 for each chicken breast and I... More 

Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for my sister and her husband's wedding reception in March 2016. The food was pretty good and the atmosphere was very nice. Only complaint was the size of the room that was reserved. We were told it would fit more than the number of people we told them were coming, but it was a very tight fit.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had lunch one Sunday a few weeks ago. We were checking out the area. We sat out side and were never forgotten. I told my husband it was the best crab cake that I had ever eaten. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Tina N
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Tina, Thanks for reviewing us. Yes, I agree, our crab cakes are good! Jumbo and Super Lump Crab with a very little bit of bread crumbs and some spices. Glad you enjoyed. Steve More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant has gone through many stages and many chefs. The latest incarnation was a little disappointing compared to previous incarnations. The table cloths are gone. The price point is a bit lower than a few years ago. I had hoped for the rock fish, which is listed on the online menu, but not on the menu that evening. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank NJSojourner
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Yes, I am not the old Imperial, in many, many ways. I have done a complete makeover of the old establishment. Not sure when the last time you were there, but the décor was more than a little on the rough side. Yes, I have removed the white table clothes from the... More 

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner here with our son and daughter-in-law. All of our meals were delicious. I had a beef filet which I seldom order and it was perfectly prepared. I particularly appreciate portions that are not huge but prepared with care and creativity. Our waitress was helpful and attentive but not intrusive. The restaurant does have outdoor seating but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank hansenpd
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! Great to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Kitchen. I especially like that you used the term “creativity”, since we do put a lot of effort into not being just another restaurant. It is nice when someone gets it! See you soon I hope. Steve More 

washington dc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chestertown is a lovely step-back in time kind of place on the Chesapeake. The Imperial is a wonderful step-back in time kind of restaurant with an elegant feel (but not super pricey), creative and REALLY EXCELLENT food, amazingly accommodating staff and chef. We asked for fruit - not on the menu - and the chef actually came to our table... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma1913
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Emma, Thanks so much for dinning with us and for taking the time to review us. We really do enjoy catering to people. As I tell my staff when they come to me with a special request, we are in the making people happy business, let’s see what we can do. See you soon, Steve More 

Louisville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have enjoyed this restaurant since they opened and before when Steve was in Rock Hall. He really does quality, delicious food. He has blue cheese stuffed olives for your martinis too.

Helpful?
Thank Geri M
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

Geri, Thanks for the great review. When people compare us to Rock Hall, I take that as the ultimate compliment since I set a very high bar for myself there. Has been an on and off struggle to get back to that level, so when I hear that we are hitting it, it puts a smile on my face. See... More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

The Imperial Hotel used to boast a really fine restaurant. I was so looking forward to our lunch there yesterday but found it is now entirely changed. We were there for an hour before our food arrived. One of us was served her salad while the other five sat there and hoped something more would be brought to the table,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Enid M
Steve Q, Owner at The Kitchen at the Imperial, responded to this review

OK, to set the stage, this was the Saturday of Tea Party weekend, the street was closed with vendors on both sides, thousands of people wondering around, some in colonial garb. In the restaurant, not counting the 2 food/drink stands I had out front, we served 164 people for lunch. Mam, I am sorry that we are not the old... More 

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen at the Imperial also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen at the Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$4 - $32
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Spanish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 208 High Street, Chestertown, MD 21620 (Formerly Imperial Hotel)
  • Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Chestertown
  • Phone Number: +1 410-778-5000
Description
Casual fine dinning in a relaxed environment. All food made from scracth. Offering lunch and dinner 5 days a week, with a tapas menu available in the Tavern. Sunday offering a Bloody Mary Brunch with a build your own Bloody Mary Bar starting at 10am, dinner on Sunday starting at 5pm. Outdoor seating both front and back.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kitchen at the Imperial and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
earleville, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kitchen at the Imperial staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?