We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Muddy Rudder Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1335 Route 1, Yarmouth, ME 04096-6970
+1 207-846-3082
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 527: English reviews
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

5pm on a Sunday afternoon. Not too busy but it was either understaffed or poorly staffed. Food was mediocre at best. Ordered baked stuffed haddock and seafood stuffed haddock. Seafood stuffing was tough and overcooked. Haddock was OK, nothing great. Expected tender, sweet fish that melts in your mouth--it didn't. Mushroom risotto was very tasty but that was a side... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gozo57
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback. We're deeply disappointed to hear that your dining experience with us was less than ideal. We strive to offer our guests quality service and delicious cuisine. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten at the Muddy Rudder in the past and always enjoyed our meals. We were pleased to see that the quality had been maintained. We went without reservations but were seated within 10 minutes after having had a pleasant chat with the host. Our server seemed a bit harried - or maybe it was some demanding customers. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank digitalcamera
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the 4/5 review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you and your husband enjoyed your meals - the blackened salmon and the seafood pasta are both excellent choices! We'd love to host you again soon to share an even more positive experience with you. More 

Hermon, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I ate here. Was going to have haddock sandwich the waitress said have the fish and chips theres more haddock. We did the haddock was okay, the coleslaw was wilted. Also had the stuffed portobello mushrooms the stuffing was terrible. When we got the bill the fish and chips was 17.99 per plate. Couldn't believe it. Have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, Kimberly. We're deeply disappointed to hear that your dining experience with us was less than ideal. We strive to offer our guests quality service and delicious cuisine. However, your experience is not on par with the service we're accustomed to providing. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. Please consider allowing... More 

Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here for a great lunch a few months ago and now it's for Easter Brunch. And what a nice time. This old guy, his spouse. and a friend. Now I'm recovering from the hip replacement just 9 days ago boy do they get you up and walking quickly. So using a cane ambled over to reception and host quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fran M
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the perfect rating, Fran! Providing great tasting meals and excellent service is always our highest priority. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed dining with us! We hope you plan on stopping in again soon. We'd love to have you back! More 

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like others writing comments we have driven by this restaurant already several times in just 6 months. They have recently been advertising on Groupon in the off season so we bought a voucher and intend to take some visiting friends from China here next week. So we had to check the place out first. HH bar menu is excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4/5 rating! It's excellent you had such a fantastic experience with us! We love sharing our passion for delicious food with our guests and your praise for our food and drinks lets us know we're doing our job! We're happy you enjoyed our ambiance and convenient outdoor seating. We strive for excellence so we... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We went with a groupon in hand and had a good meal. I tried the lobster Benedict this time and several family members had fried clams Benedict which I had the last time we went. The corn beef hash looked very good and my daughter loved the donut holes.

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the 4/5 review, Heather! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you loved your meal - the Lobster Benedict is an excellent choice! We'd love to host you again soon to share an even more positive experience with you. Have a lovely day! More 

Dover Foxcroft, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Back in Maine. Drove by the Muddy Rudder in Yarmouth , ME, dozens of times but never stopped. Thought today would be a good day. Good decision. Had the baked haddock with a light crumb coating and a lobster sherry cream sauce that totally complemented each other, Rudder rice and carrots. Best of all it was piping hot and remained... More 

Helpful?
Thank revblt
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are very pleased to hear about the wonderful experience that we were able to share with you! Providing great tasting food and excellent service is always our highest priority! We hope you plan on stopping in again soon! We'd love to have you back! Thanks again and have a great day! More 

Downeast, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Although we have driven by this restaurant for decades, we have never stopped to eat. It's always seemed to be busy, especially during Maine tourist season, and it hardly seemed like a practical stop for locals. We were so wrong! We had a wonderful breakfast that included the donut hole appetizer--warm, delicious with chocolate and raspberry sauces on the side,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Downeast1609
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review! We're delighted to hear that you had such an amazing dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you loved your meal - all of your choices are excellent! We're looking forward to hosting you again soon for more mouthwatering cuisine! Thanks for sharing and have an incredible day! More 

massachusetts
Level Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We stopped in for brunch on Sunday around 11. We got a table right away because it is low season. I can imagine this place hops during season, what with the dock on the swiftly running river into the Casco Bay and its location on Rte 1, weekends here must be very busy. They have at least 4 different eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marty S
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the 4/5 review, Marty! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you loved your meal - the Seafood Cake Benedict is an excellent choice! We'd love to host you again soon for more mouthwatering cuisine! Have an amazing day! More 

Atlantic Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Traveled through this area many times but never stopped until now! Made reservations for Feb 25th at 6pm. Ambiance was lovely and the service by Susan was excellent. She was able to make suggestions and our party of 4 felt she was well versed on the menu and made some excellent recommendations. We had two orders of fisherman's platter which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruins2011rule
Matt W, General Manager at Muddy Rudder Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy you had such a pleasant experience with us and enjoyed our decor and atmosphere so much! It's outstanding our team took such great care of you and made such great recommendations for you. Susan is a valued member of our team. That's what we like to see! We're thrilled you... More 

Travelers who viewed Muddy Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$25
Cuisine
American, Soups, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1335 Route 1, Yarmouth, ME 04096-6970
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Yarmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 207-846-3082
Description
Owner Matthew Witham are proud and excited to invite you to The Muddy Rudder Restaurant. Matt's vision of providing guests with exceptional food, coupled with impeccable service, has materialized on the picturesque coastline of Maine.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Muddy Rudder Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?